Transcendence Port to Linux and Mac

New releases and announcements from George and the staff.
Post Reply
schilcote
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:22 pm

Post by schilcote » Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:50 pm

Hey Gambit, what language is Transcendence written in? If its C or C++ I might have an idea...
[schilcote] It doesn't have to be good, it just has to not be "wow is that the only thing you could think of" bad

User avatar
GambitDash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 7:01 am

Post by GambitDash » Fri Mar 27, 2009 5:07 am

CFG -

I'd expect that assertion to fire anytime a savefile is written, either through traveling through a jumpgate, (possibly) buying insurance, or just the good ol' esc-2 save and quit option.

schilcote -

C++, mostly. I hesitate to ask, but... what is your idea? :)

schilcote
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:22 pm

Post by schilcote » Fri Mar 27, 2009 11:54 am

What's white, has a blue lit-up DVD slot, and runs homebrew?
Here's a hint: it has a PPC in it.
[schilcote] It doesn't have to be good, it just has to not be "wow is that the only thing you could think of" bad

User avatar
GambitDash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 7:01 am

Post by GambitDash » Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:47 am

schilcote wrote:What's white, has a blue lit-up DVD slot, and runs homebrew?
Here's a hint: it has a PPC in it.
Oh, huh. Interesting idea. Transcendence would be a /really/ good virtual console game. Of course George works for Microsoft, though I don't think that puts him in any position to get, say, an Xbox dev kit or anything :P

I'm not too likely to port it to the homebrew channel, though. A lot of work for not very much penetration, so to speak. But it's an excellent idea!

llama
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:51 am
Location: Starton Eridani...for now

Post by llama » Thu Apr 09, 2009 2:13 am

Hey, I have a problem with transport, running on Ubuntu 8.10. When I try to run the executable, the screen just flashes black and returns me to my desktop. When I run it in a terminal, it produces this output:

Display is 1280x800 @ 32 bpp
Created video surface [email protected] in software mode.

I've gdb'ed it, and it exits normally too! Is there some step that I'm missing?

User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1656
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Enslaved by the Iocrym

Post by alterecco » Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:41 pm

llama, you are probably not running it from the right folder. It needs to be run as ./transcendence (ie. from the Transcendence folder) or it will not be able to find the resources it needs.

.]

llama
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:51 am
Location: Starton Eridani...for now

Post by llama » Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:11 pm

I think I am. You do mean the folder with all the jpg's and xml files and wav's right? (That's how my version's files are arranged. I think its release 13)

By the way, I am running this under Ion3 WM. But I get the same error from gnome too. So its not window manager.

User avatar
GambitDash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 7:01 am

Post by GambitDash » Sat Apr 11, 2009 3:46 am

llama wrote:I think I am. You do mean the folder with all the jpg's and xml files and wav's right? (That's how my version's files are arranged. I think its release 13)

By the way, I am running this under Ion3 WM. But I get the same error from gnome too. So its not window manager.
That's not a known failure, and yeah, it does sound like you are running it in the wrong directory. Are you double-clicking on the binary, or running it from the shell?

Also, it could be that you're missing some necessary libraries. Try this command:

Code: Select all

ldd ./transcendence
If any of them show up as 'missing', then you might need to install those libraries; specifically the ones for SDL or SDL_mixer are often missing.

Hope that helps! Feel free to let me know what you find!

Cheers,
--G

llama
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:51 am
Location: Starton Eridani...for now

Post by llama » Sat Apr 11, 2009 4:40 am

Hm, what directory am I supposed to run it from? (As in what else is in it besides transcendence).

And I've tried both double-clicking and running from a shell - neither work.

ldd says I have everything too.

User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1656
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Enslaved by the Iocrym

Post by alterecco » Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:27 am

if we assume you unpacked it to ~/trans then the following should do it
(from a terminal)

Code: Select all

cd ~/trans
./transcendence
Hope it works

.]

llama
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:51 am
Location: Starton Eridani...for now

Post by llama » Sat Apr 11, 2009 1:33 pm

Unfortunately, that's exactly what I'm doing, and it's not working.

User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1656
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Enslaved by the Iocrym

Post by alterecco » Sat Apr 11, 2009 6:25 pm

Can you have a look at the contents of the Debug.log from the same directory and post them here (if any). Otherwise i'm out of ideas... Maybe Gambit- can offer some better advice.

llama
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:51 am
Location: Starton Eridani...for now

Post by llama » Sat Apr 11, 2009 6:29 pm

Ah! I never realized that there was a debug log. This is what it prints:

Code: Select all

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Start logging session
transport 1.1
Opening audio device...
Audio: 22050 Hz 16 bit stereo, 512 bytes audio buffer

Startup error 5: Unable to create loading thread.
End logging session
[/code]

User avatar
GambitDash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 7:01 am

Post by GambitDash » Sun Apr 12, 2009 12:58 am

From the output you gave me, it looks like there's not quite the right files in the right place. I'll talk more about it below, but first try redownloading the latest (see above), unpack it somewhere completely different, and try again.
llama wrote:Ah! I never realized that there was a debug log. This is what it prints:

Code: Select all

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Start logging session
transport 1.1
Opening audio device...
Audio: 22050 Hz 16 bit stereo, 512 bytes audio buffer

Startup error 5: Unable to create loading thread.
End logging session
That looks like a "not quite right directory" placement.

Your directory should look like this:

Code: Select all

./transcendence        <the executable you run>
./Resources/Title.jpg
If you have a Resources/Title.jpg in that directory relative to the transcendence binary, then I'd like you to do the following command:

Code: Select all

find .
from within the directory that the transcendence binary is. Also, include the output of "uname -a" and tell me what distribution of linux you are running. You can send that output to me in a private message, or put it up on a website if it's too big for the private message stuff (google let's you post documents and publish them for the world, which is an excellent way of sending stuff around).

Good luck!
--G

llama
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:51 am
Location: Starton Eridani...for now

Post by llama » Sun Apr 12, 2009 3:49 am

Huh.

For some reason, nautilus archive manager (or whatever that program is called) wasn't extracting the "Resources" directory. Really strange. Anyways, I made sure it did, and voila! It works now! Thanks a lot!

Speaking on the game port itself, it is very nice Gambit. There are differences with the Windows version, but no one really cares about font colors, right!

Anyways, thanks a bunch, and keep up the great work! Lack of transcendence for linux was the only thing keeping me from playing it again. I'm just too lazy to wait for Vista to boot.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest