1.2 Beta 2

New releases and announcements from George and the staff.
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2980
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:24 am

http://kronosaur.com/downloads/TranscendenceNext.zip

Thanks for all your bug reports. I've made the following fixes:

BUGS

* Fixed this crash: http://multiverse.kronosaur.com/crashRe ... %3a23.0883

* Fixed this crash: http://multiverse.kronosaur.com/crashRe ... %3a31.0478

* Fixed a savefile corruption bug.
* Fixed a crash when installing an external device.
* Fixed a bug in which stations would install devices of any level.
* Fixed Mule autons so they behave as they did in earlier versions.
* Autons no longer lose all their cargo if recalled.
* Autons cannot be recalled if they do not fit in cargo hold.
* Fixed bug with speed enhancements

API VERSION 15

* objGetProperty and itmGetProperty also accept data fields as properties (just for consistency).
* Added concept of "character classes" to begin distinguishing Pilgrim class from other potential classes: NOTE that this is just setting up for later. There is still only one character class, but I'm setting things up to add more. Right now there is a single type (unidPilgrimClass) which you may use to test. For example, a station may give different text depending on the character class. Use (objGetProperty gPlayerShip 'characterClass) to figure out the character class of the player.
* Added "plain" style to <Flare> effect to have a constant flare (used in some missile graphics).
* Added animateOpacity="fade" parameter to <Ray> to fade the effect.
* Added lifetime= parameter to <Ray>
* Added xformRotation= parameter to <Ray> to rotate the effect by a given number of degrees.

MULTIVERSE

* Added checks/timeouts for invalid passwords. If you fail to enter the correct password 5 times in a row, you will need to wait 1 hour before trying again. This is to help prevent dictionary attacks on the server.
* Added debug output for Multiverse connection problems.
* Added autoIncludeForCompatibility= parameter on extensions. This will allow us to create a compatibility library for old images.
* Added Settings.xml option to disable downloading extensions from Multiverse (noCollectionDownload)

VISUAL EFFECTS

* Changed some blast weapon graphics (e.g., slam cannon, etc.)

Thanks for all your bug reports! Keep them coming!

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2980
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:26 am

p.s.: Also added latest TransData:

http://kronosaur.com/downloads/TransData.zip


User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5393
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:33 am

Thanks! ^.^ Will be testing this out now
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 2x 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops

Jay2Jay
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:57 am

Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:35 am

Yay, I love it when you release things, IT GIVES MY LIFE PURPOSE. :mrgreen:

\(O-O\ ) ( /O-O)/ \(O-O\ ) ( /O-O)/

NEW RELEASE

User avatar
RPC
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Hmm... I'm confused. Anybody have a starmap to the Core?

Mon Sep 09, 2013 2:11 am

Thanks George! :D
Tutorial List on the Wiki and Installing Mods
Get on Discord for mod help and general chat
Image
Image
Der Tod ist der zeitlose Frieden und das leben ist der Krieg
Wir müssen wissen — wir werden wissen!
I don't want any sort of copyright on my Transcendence mods. Feel free to take/modify whatever you want.

User avatar
Androgeos
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 11:11 am
Location: Salvager Nomad
Contact:

Mon Sep 09, 2013 2:44 am

Oh, we can submit bug reports now? I miss looking through the old bugtrac.
[10:42] <Katami> TTECH: IT SEYS "ONCE YOU ENTAR A EYSTEM HAHAHAHAAHH~~~!~~~!<3<3<3
[10:42] <Katami> ~ROLLL 1D100 L0LL0LL0LL0LHAHHAHHAH!~!!~~:-):-):-)

CFG
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:05 pm
Location: Germany, NW

Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:18 pm

I obviously missed beta 1 and need to get used to the new sound track. Sounds a bit Elite 2'ish to me ... otherwise testing in progress.

So far I noticed a bunch of changes in this version - compared to alpha1:

- new ship models (Zulu II?), others like the borer have been resized
- messages like "watch your target" are now displayed below the ship that sends them
- one I personally like pretty much is autons now have a number below them so I finally know which one is which - that makes large mule squadrons a bit easier to manage.

erik dela cruz
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 610
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 7:45 pm
Location: Patrolling Scarborough Shoal and the Spratlys Islands (West Philippine Sea)

Tue Sep 10, 2013 8:41 pm

Oh another one. :D
Hope the mysterious Pharos System is no longer present(why did it get there Trans 1.2 Beta 1) in the first place?).
Hope you didn't change the super optimizer ROMs.....and also hope to super enhance level 8 & up shields again, (the Phobos was so tough it destroyed (reduced to dust so to speak)the CSC Terra, seriously?).
Thanks again George. :D
.....cry without weeping......
.....talk without speaking......
.....scream without raising your voice......

CFG
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:05 pm
Location: Germany, NW

Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:37 am

Hmm, Trans crashed one time when trying to load a save game, but that happened only once. That save did load when trying again:

Code: Select all

Uncaught Exception at 0x63206563 in Transcendence.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation.
This build doesnt have any debugging symbols.

EDIT: Could this be a side effect of ASLR and the MS EMET 3.0 toolkit Im using on my Windows 7?
EDIT: Just ran into this a second time - other address though. This seems to be rare but to happen repeatedly.

I someone else here having a similar issue or is it either my a bit special Windows 7 installation or the save game Im currently using?
Last edited by CFG on Mon Sep 16, 2013 6:50 pm, edited 3 times in total.

kay.py
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:33 am

Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:24 pm

I had a crash while starting a new game:

09/11/2013 21:44:26 Start logging session
09/11/2013 21:44:27 Transcendence 1.2 Beta 2
09/11/2013 21:47:12 Created new game
09/11/2013 21:48:41 Surface restore failed: 8876024c
09/11/2013 21:48:41 Surface restore failed: 8876024c
09/11/2013 21:48:42 Surface restore failed: 8876024c
09/11/2013 21:48:42 Surface restore failed: 8876024c
09/11/2013 21:48:43 Surface restore failed: 8876024c
09/11/2013 21:48:43 Surface restore failed: 8876024c
09/11/2013 21:48:44 Surface restore failed: 8876024c

Also, was the auton AI rewritten by Leeroy Jenkins recently or something? I have one that wont follow any form up or wait instructions. Currently its attacking an inanimate object halfway across the system because it seemed like a good way to keep it out of the way and now I can't get it to stop...

It also seemed to randomly pick a fight with a salvager nomad, but I can't *really* say I disapprove too much there...

erik dela cruz
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 610
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 7:45 pm
Location: Patrolling Scarborough Shoal and the Spratlys Islands (West Philippine Sea)

Fri Sep 13, 2013 3:58 am

weapon optimization ROM's reverted back to it's lame capacity. :cry:
George please bring back the Beta 1 weapon ROM or at least give it a level 3 tag? PLEASE????? :(
.....cry without weeping......
.....talk without speaking......
.....scream without raising your voice......

Jay2Jay
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:57 am

Fri Sep 13, 2013 11:24 am

Some things that would make all us modder's lives easier would be for T to track things that weigh less than 1 kilogram and for that bug to be fixed about the ai not being able to handle more than 40 facings.

CFG
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:05 pm
Location: Germany, NW

Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:37 pm

Is it intentional that it can happen you get a volcanic asteroid field early in the game? I got one in the second system together with a corporate enclave and have 20k cash on hand - not fully mined yet :D

EDIT: 50k just from that asteroid belt. And there seems to be at least 4 types of asteroids now - there is a new light brown one, but I dont know what can be mined there...

Vachtra
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:03 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:32 am

I found this in beta 1 but haven't had time to look in beta 2.
An armor station offers to install an armor segment after buying only one. When I select to go ahead and install it from the buy screen it gives me an error but the install screen stays up. If you keep hitting install they transfer their entire stock over to your ship for the cost of only the first item.
"Have you guys ever watched the show?" ~ Guy

Post Reply