1.3 Beta 1

New releases and announcements from George and the staff.
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

AssumedPseudonym wrote: The playership is still registering hits from the wrong direction. Actually, that isn’t the problem. What’s happening is that the wrong armor segment is registering the hit. I’ve mucked about a bit to test it and I can get the right segment to register the hit, but none of the armor selection dockscreens cycle through them straight from top to bottom when I do.
Can you post the <Armor> definition and <PlayerSettings> for your ship class? The first controls the ship's armor; the second controls how they are displayed. Perhaps they are out of sync?
User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1190
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

 I made a copy the Sapphire to test with, just straight-up copypasta from the Playerships.xml and StdPlayerShips.xml files.

Code: Select all

		<Armor
			armorID=			"&itReactiveArmor;"
			count=				"4"
			/>

Code: Select all

		<PlayerSettings
			desc=				"Test ship."
			largeImage=			"&rsZubrinLarge;"
			initialClass=		"true"
			startingCredits=	"10d100+1500"
			>

			<ArmorDisplay>
				<ShipImage imageID="&rsArmorHUDShip_Sapphire;" imageWidth="136" imageHeight="136"/>
				
				<ArmorSection name="forward"
						imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
						imageX="0" imageY="0" imageWidth="52" imageHeight="29"
						destX="42" destY="15" hpX="55" hpY="14"
						nameY="8" nameBreakWidth="200" nameDestX="0" nameDestY="10" />

				<ArmorSection name="starboard"
						imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
						imageX="52" imageY="0" imageWidth="22" imageHeight="59"
						destX="92" destY="45" hpX="95" hpY="60"
						nameY="30" nameBreakWidth="360" nameDestX="12" nameDestY="0" />

				<ArmorSection name="port"
						imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
						imageX="142" imageY="0" imageWidth="22" imageHeight="59"
						destX="22" destY="45" hpX="15" hpY="60"
						nameY="52" nameBreakWidth="200" nameDestX="0" nameDestY="8" />

				<ArmorSection name="aft"
						imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
						imageX="74" imageY="0" imageWidth="68" imageHeight="14"
						destX="34" destY="103" hpX="55" hpY="105"
						nameY="74" nameBreakWidth="360" nameDestX="12" nameDestY="0" />
			</ArmorDisplay>

			<ShieldDisplay shieldLevelEffect="&efShieldHUDDefault;">
			</ShieldDisplay>

			<ReactorDisplay>
				<Image imageID="&rsZubrinReactor;" 
						imageX="0" imageY="0" imageWidth="256" imageHeight="60"/>

				<PowerLevelImage imageID="&rsZubrinReactor;"
						imageX="0" imageY="60" imageWidth="202" imageHeight="14"
						destX="54" destY="9"/>

				<FuelLevelImage imageID="&rsZubrinReactor;"
						imageX="0" imageY="74" imageWidth="194" imageHeight="14"
						destX="54" destY="37"/>

				<FuelLowLevelImage imageID="&rsZubrinReactor;"
						imageX="0" imageY="88" imageWidth="194" imageHeight="14"/>

				<ReactorText x="62" y="22" width="154" height="14"/>
				<PowerLevelText x="62" y="0" width="154" height="9"/>
				<FuelLevelText x="62" y="51" width="154" height="9"/>
			</ReactorDisplay>
		</PlayerSettings>
 Here’s a screenshot of me getting hit on the aft segment, but the shot registering on the port segment. That was with the vanilla Sapphire, not the copy, by the way.
AftEqualsPort.jpg
AftEqualsPort.jpg (77.95 KiB) Viewed 9551 times
 The coding I used to get the right segment to register the hit (but cycle out of order in armor selection dockscreens) is:

Code: Select all

			<ArmorDisplay>
				<ShipImage imageID="&rsArmorHUDShip_Sapphire;" imageWidth="136" imageHeight="136"/>
				
				<ArmorSection name="forward"
						imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
						imageX="0" imageY="0" imageWidth="52" imageHeight="29"
						destX="42" destY="15" hpX="55" hpY="14"
						nameY="8" nameBreakWidth="200" nameDestX="0" nameDestY="10" />

				<ArmorSection name="port"
						imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
						imageX="142" imageY="0" imageWidth="22" imageHeight="59"
						destX="22" destY="45" hpX="15" hpY="60"
						nameY="52" nameBreakWidth="200" nameDestX="0" nameDestY="8" />

				<ArmorSection name="aft"
						imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
						imageX="74" imageY="0" imageWidth="68" imageHeight="14"
						destX="34" destY="103" hpX="55" hpY="105"
						nameY="74" nameBreakWidth="360" nameDestX="12" nameDestY="0" />

				<ArmorSection name="starboard"
						imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
						imageX="52" imageY="0" imageWidth="22" imageHeight="59"
						destX="92" destY="45" hpX="95" hpY="60"
						nameY="30" nameBreakWidth="360" nameDestX="12" nameDestY="0" />
			</ArmorDisplay>
Last edited by AssumedPseudonym on Mon Mar 10, 2014 12:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Mod prefixes: 0xA010 (registered) and 0xDCC8 (miscellaneous)

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

AssumedPseudonym wrote: I made a copy the Sapphire to test with, just straight-up copypasta from the Playerships.xml and StdPlayerShips.xml files.
The first looks like a bug. I'll definitely check it out. Thank you!
User avatar
FAD
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 732
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:33 am
Location: Area 51

There's a serious exploit with the Conny/autons in that having all autons auto-known, the player can buy up all the defected autons cheap from auton dealers, and since the auton bay allows installing damaged devices, can easily swap out the good shield with a cheap, damaged one. Can also swap out the good armor with junk armor and have those segs as repair stock for the 300D. Same with swapping out the goods from the 300D with junk, and sell the 300D for $1,800. Fast, easy near-refunds and profit after stripping the defected autons and selling them back to the auton dealer, since the code doesn't recognize the difference with original stock auton equipment VS the lesser replaced ones. This exploit easily allows the player to buy/swap junk/sell cheap autons and their uninstalled stock equipment enough to afford the better autons right in the very starting system.

Also, there's a problem with installing weapons on autons. Seems the bay will continuously install weapons and not remove any at all. Each new weapon installed does not add extra tons to the auton items--the weight remains the same as stock auton items. It is noticable after launching the autons, with their being sluggish due to all the excessive weight from multiple weapons.

The Conny seems to be more balanced now with slightly better armor and extended weapon fire. Still remains quite challenging, however...I made it to the 3rd system before getting killed by a few of those new guys (can't remember their name but their ships look like horseshoes with a rod in the center, and they fire the new missiles.) I haven't tested to see if a cargo hold can be installed, but if not, the Conny still shows as if it can be upgraded up to 200 tons in the pre-game ship description.

The new armor for the Manticore did the trick for countering those no-shield weaknesses, although the ship itself is just plain too slow in speed as well as in the turns, and is basically a sitting duck that's easily hammered on in early game. The new armor and the repairer can't keep up fast enough to allow the ship to retreat when it's taking damage. I made it to the 2nd system with its stock armor and weapon before getting killed during a retreat from a few Borers and Hammerheads who were quite ticked off by my approach. :P

The targeting/swivel on the Freyr tends to stick at times (as was previously mentioned) although this feature is very short-lived by my game/play style anyway. It's a useless feature where omni weapons (of any manufacturer) prevails, since it's not that much better than having a straight shooter installed. I died in the starting system by a small random group of hornets because of the ship's current lay-out. Maybe having 60 degree arc instead of 30 would help this ship.

Salvagers are rampantly going on suicide missions with the Anarchist colonies. They'll dock at a wreck near a colony and remain docked while the colonies hammer away at it until destroyed, or after undocking from the wreck and getting hit by the colonies, will redock with the wreck again and take damage until destroyed. They'll do the same thing with destroyed stations within the active colony. This provides the player with easy loot from the salvagers without getting chalked up for killing 'friendlies' in the post-game reviews.

Korolov freighters are now starting to get backed up at the Korolov stations, and still doing the same for the armor dealers. They're unable to dock and complete their 'missions' due to not enough available docking ports. This creates a problem for the player to run any missions as there'll eventually be no freighters available at Korolov.

I'll continue to play test the beta along with CC and will report anything else I may find. And I am loving the direction the game's going so far. Awesomely amazing!
User avatar
Song
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2801
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:27 am

Autons and the auton bay in general probably still need future work. However I consider the "buy then sell for parts" gambit to be less broken than "you buy an auton and it kills you", which was the old issue.

The moskva is now an excellent starting weapon, and I'm enjoying the Conny.

Edit: New bug: the "device slots" icon for the manticore is shunted partly offscreen on the ship-select screen.
Mischievous local moderator. She/Her pronouns.
PM
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:54 am

Transcendence 1.3 Beta 1 wrote:•I added a maneuvering thruster effect to player ships. I'm not sure if I like it, so please give me feedback (positive or negative).
For the ships that have it, I dislike it. It is an eyesore when rotating the ship frequently, especially with the faster turning Wolfen. I will need to get used to the Wolfen's faster turning speed, as it is difficult to not skip a frame. It is easy to play the Wolfen like a 20 or 30 frame ship. At least the Wolfen can do something better than the Sapphire now - spin faster.

I plan to re-render all ships (found in TransArt) for 120 (and maybe 360) facings for PSD.

I have not fully tested AI with 120 facings ships. It does not seem to work perfectly, but did not watch it enough to know exactly what is wrong with it.
Download and Play in 1.9 beta 1...
Drake Technologies (Alpha): More hardware for combat in parts 1 and 2!
Star Castle Arcade: Play a classic arcade game adventure, with or without more features (like powerups)!
Playership Drones: Buy or restore exotic ships to command!

Other playable mods from 1.8 and 1.7, waiting to be updated...
Godmode v3 (WIP): Dev/cheat tool compatible with D&O parts 1 or 2.
RPC
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Hmm... I'm confused. Anybody have a starmap to the Core?

Added a property to set a ship's comms key.
What are the specifics of this property/how to set/get comms key?
Tutorial List on the Wiki and Installing Mods
Get on Discord for mod help and general chat
Image
Image
Der Tod ist der zeitlose Frieden und das leben ist der Krieg
Wir müssen wissen — wir werden wissen!
I don't want any sort of copyright on my Transcendence mods. Feel free to take/modify whatever you want.
EditorRUS
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 6:30 pm

shpInstallDevice works pretty strange. I entered next code in console:

(setq X (list (itmCreate 0x400D 5) (itmCreate 0x400E 7))) ;Laser 5, recoilless 7
(enum X ST (objAddItem gPlayerShip ST)) ;5 and 7 of laser and recoilless guns are added
(enum X ST (shpInstallDevice gPlayerShip ST)) ;Recoilless and laser weapon are installed by one.
#repeat 5 times.
Now, 5 and 5 recoilless and laser installed. Further repeats will not work because all the lasers were installed and it says "Unable to find specified item in object" leaving 2 recoilless uninstalled.

I suggest to make new argument with 1 default for shpInstallDevice, so
shpInstallDevice itm [count=1]
Where count will mean how many of this stuff will be installed. If count is -1 then will be installed all bunch.
Last edited by EditorRUS on Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
EditorRUS
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 6:30 pm

Of course i can make new lambda to make such a thing, but i think it should be added for whole game.
User avatar
Atarlost
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2391
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:02 am

FAD wrote:The targeting/swivel on the Freyr tends to stick at times (as was previously mentioned) although this feature is very short-lived by my game/play style anyway. It's a useless feature where omni weapons (of any manufacturer) prevails, since it's not that much better than having a straight shooter installed. I died in the starting system by a small random group of hornets because of the ship's current lay-out. Maybe having 60 degree arc instead of 30 would help this ship.
This is a problem with using a ship for a style of play that doesn't suit it. The Freyr was a perfectly playable if less than ideal ship when it had 20 degree swivel with buggy targeting. It has only been improved with faster turning, more swivelable weapon options, and reduced auto-target bugginess. I would never recommend increasing the swivel arc, which is fine for people used to firing forwards. The only real issue other than the targeting bug that has been fixed was the weapon selection and that's probably going to take time to test.

If omni weapons ever prevail for a majority of experienced players they've been allowed to become too powerful and need to be nerfed like the IM90 was.
Literally is the new Figuratively
User avatar
LordSutekh
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 9:36 pm
Location: Bedlam

Thank you, George, for the new engine effects. I had been struggling with this recently and wished for something exactly like this.
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

George, will you be releasing a hotpatch to fix API20's incompatibility with older API mods using the old maneuverability system? (Currently it ignores those values and replaces them with default stats)
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
PM
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:54 am

NPC ships still have trouble piloting ships with much more than 40 facings even with 1.3's new <Maneuver> features. Ships with 120 and 180 facings can wobble back-and-forth endlessly.

Question: How does new compressed <Armor>, where programmer inputs id and number of segments only, arrange armor segments?
Download and Play in 1.9 beta 1...
Drake Technologies (Alpha): More hardware for combat in parts 1 and 2!
Star Castle Arcade: Play a classic arcade game adventure, with or without more features (like powerups)!
Playership Drones: Buy or restore exotic ships to command!

Other playable mods from 1.8 and 1.7, waiting to be updated...
Godmode v3 (WIP): Dev/cheat tool compatible with D&O parts 1 or 2.
jakejoachim2013
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 2:39 pm

is the Corporate Command 1.1 Beta 1 supposed to say "Corporate Command 1.1 Beta 1" because mine only says "CorporateCommand.tdb" also i like the fire from out the back of the ships. i just think the fire on some ships needs to be shorter. also are there any more plains for then next beta? ( maybe being able to buy other ships or be able to build other stations? ) plus can you add a feature to take off the full screen? and a feature to view the whole system with all the stargates? like how the map is almost.
~Jake Joachim
User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1190
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

jakejoachim2013 wrote:is the Corporate Command 1.1 Beta 1 supposed to say "Corporate Command 1.1 Beta 1" because mine only says "CorporateCommand.tdb"
 Apparently that’s all it’s supposed to be, is just CorporateCommand.tdb, yes, if the thrust effects from Corporate Command ships is anything to go by.
jakejoachim2013 wrote:can you add a feature to take off the full screen?
 This already exists. Run it from the command line, with the “/windowed” switch after it. Depending on where your game directory is, it should look something like:

Code: Select all

C:\TranscendenceNext\Transcendence.exe /windowed
 …It would be kind of nice to be able to toggle back and forth between fullscreen and windowed from somewhere inside the game, though, even if it was only from intro screen…
Image

Mod prefixes: 0xA010 (registered) and 0xDCC8 (miscellaneous)

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)
Post Reply