1.5 Beta 1

New releases and announcements from George and the staff.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Tue Nov 04, 2014 7:21 am

After reading through those notes, the new Orb effect caught my eyes. I think Im going to have to play with that!
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
Xephyr
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 1:52 am
Location: Orion Arm, Milky Way
Contact:

Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:59 am

Here's my thoughts:

-engine effects on Wolfen are back to the old version. Was this intentional?
-I really like the new stars, but they're very bright and hard on the eyes.
-Red damage indicator is back! It's been a while.
-A good addition to the armour screen would be showing how heavy a segment a ship can support. That tripped me up a bit way back when I started playing.

And then I got trapped in the arena fighting an Earthzone with a laser deflector and ran out of fuel.
Project Renegade (Beta) : "The Poor Man's Corporate Command!"
"Cowards die many times before their deaths; The valiant never taste of death but once. " -Julius Caesar as written by William Shakespeare, a notorious permadeath player.

Deltax
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:58 pm

Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:38 pm

Some really interesting additions in there! I'll be sure to try them out.
Have you ever destroyed a phobos badass style? I.E flying towards it?

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:27 pm

Xephyr wrote:Here's my thoughts:

-engine effects on Wolfen are back to the old version. Was this intentional?
-I really like the new stars, but they're very bright and hard on the eyes.
-Red damage indicator is back! It's been a while.
-A good addition to the armour screen would be showing how heavy a segment a ship can support. That tripped me up a bit way back when I started playing.

And then I got trapped in the arena fighting an Earthzone with a laser deflector and ran out of fuel.
Not sure why the Wolfen effects regressed for you. They seem to OK to me. Are you running extensions?

I also like your idea about maximum armor size. Thanks for the feedback--I appreciate it!

PM
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2241
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:54 am

Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:37 pm

I tried the new armor upgrade screens to see if Playership Drones can break it. It seems eight segments is the most it can show without (or with minimal) overlap. There is display overlap with twelve segments, but it is still usable. At sixteen segments, the new interface is unusable. Some segments are impossible to select. With that many segments, some segments toggle back-and-forth when pressing the same arrow key repeatedly.
Download and Play in 1.7 Beta...
Playership Drones v7 (Beta): Acquire and command almost any ship in Stars of the Pilgrim or Eternity Port.
Drake Technologies (Alpha): More hardware for combat in parts 1 and 2!
Star Castle Arcade: Relive classic arcade gaming in a new Transcendence adventure!
Godmode v3 (WIP): Dev/cheat tool compatible with D&O parts 1 or 2.

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:49 pm

PM wrote:I tried the new armor upgrade screens to see if Playership Drones can break it. It seems eight segments is the most it can show without (or with minimal) overlap. There is display overlap with twelve segments, but it is still usable. At sixteen segments, the new interface is unusable. Some segments are impossible to select. With that many segments, some segments toggle back-and-forth when pressing the same arrow key repeatedly.
My plan for that is to shrink the icons after 8 or 12 segments. But even that will probably only scale to 16 or 20. I think for more than 20 we'll still need a list interface.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Tue Nov 04, 2014 4:09 pm

Is there a way to control the placement of the slot icons on a linked-fire-slot ship in script (ie, i read my slot data and tell it to put a slot icon in such and such position)? Or is the game natively supporting this now in a standardized format and we dont need internal screens to swap weapons around?
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Tue Nov 04, 2014 4:59 pm

Wolfy wrote:Is there a way to control the placement of the slot icons on a linked-fire-slot ship in script (ie, i read my slot data and tell it to put a slot icon in such and such position)? Or is the game natively supporting this now in a standardized format and we dont need internal screens to swap weapons around?
Right now, the game looks at the slot position (posAngle= and posRadius=) to figure out where to draw the slot. For example, you'll notice the Manticore weapons/launcher draw in the proper places.

I think if you set the position (using objSetItemProperty) then it will work (but I haven't tried it yet).

User avatar
RPC
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Hmm... I'm confused. Anybody have a starmap to the Core?

Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:03 pm

Did we skip 1.4 beta or did I just miss it :?
Tutorial List on the Wiki and Installing Mods
Get on Discord for mod help and general chat
Image
Image
Der Tod ist der zeitlose Frieden und das leben ist der Krieg
Wir müssen wissen — wir werden wissen!
I don't want any sort of copyright on my Transcendence mods. Feel free to take/modify whatever you want.

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:08 pm

RPC wrote:Did we skip 1.4 beta or did I just miss it :?
:) Skipped! After Microsoft skipped Windows 9 I figured it was safe for us to do the same.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:27 pm

Cool, this just might mean hard-coded slot positions might work from the outset! I'll have to give this a try
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:29 pm

 Did you change anything about the system requirements in the new beta from 1.3? I can run 1.3 just fine via WINE, but the new 1.5 beta either crashes almost immediately on launch or hangs for a couple of minutes before crashing.
Image

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:54 pm

AssumedPseudonym wrote: Did you change anything about the system requirements in the new beta from 1.3? I can run 1.3 just fine via WINE, but the new 1.5 beta either crashes almost immediately on launch or hangs for a couple of minutes before crashing.
Bummer. I don't think I changed anything, but obviously something changed. If there's anything in Debug.log, I'd like to see it.

User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

Tue Nov 04, 2014 7:57 pm

george moromisato wrote:
AssumedPseudonym wrote: Did you change anything about the system requirements in the new beta from 1.3? I can run 1.3 just fine via WINE, but the new 1.5 beta either crashes almost immediately on launch or hangs for a couple of minutes before crashing.
Bummer. I don't think I changed anything, but obviously something changed. If there's anything in Debug.log, I'd like to see it.
 …Okay, now I am thoroughly confused. I had tried it last night and it didn’t work. I tried it before going to class this morning and it didn’t work. I tried it when I got home from class and it didn’t work. I tried it after updating WINE and it still didn’t work. When I checked debug.log though, it showed that all of the extensions had loaded (and I admit I did copy the folder over almost immediately after unzipping the beta). That was the extent of the file, was just the list of extensions loading. So naturally I trashed the Extensions folder and… suddenly 1.5b1 worked. Furthermore, when I started copying extensions back over one subfolder at a time, the game rather stubbornly persisted in not crashing on loading.
 So I have no idea what was wrong. None whatsoever. The upshot is that I have a working beta, though. So… yay, I guess…?
Image

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)

Post Reply