1.5 Beta 1

New releases and announcements from George and the staff.
User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 947
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

Tue Nov 04, 2014 11:21 pm

 A couple of initial thoughts, now that I have the beta up and running:

» The armor screen can’t be used without the mouse for a four-segment ship with its armor at the corners instead of more traditional setup.
» Having “B” set for the “Enable/Disable” shortcut on the armor and weapon screens when it’s used for “Buy” everywhere else is hell on muscle memory.
Image

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)

User avatar
JohnBWatson
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:17 pm

Tue Nov 04, 2014 11:28 pm

Armor dealers seem to use the old armor repair dockscreen. Seems like an easy fix.

Also, do laser deflectors hold any significance in the game's engine(serving as a default, for example)? The game seems to offer to install one whenever I buy a segment of armor, and when I take the option, the original item appears in my inventory with no change to my shield. It also sets the price for that service to that of buying and installing a laser deflector.
Last edited by JohnBWatson on Wed Nov 05, 2014 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Arkheias
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:06 pm

Wed Nov 05, 2014 12:33 am

Neither the corporate metropolis nor any of the surrounding stations offer the new fancy armor, weapons or reactor upgrade screens yet, which really make me wonder why the news page for this update shows the manticore utilizing the armor screen. I was able to get the screens to appear by traveling to other systems and using different stations though, so this seems like a matter of the stations just needing to be updated.
Cabbage Corp, the only mod with cabbages!

Please feel free to submit bug reports or issues related to the Cabbage Corp mod on the GitHub page, the forum thread, in a private message or even on the Xelerus page. Suggestions are fine too.

User avatar
Xephyr
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 1:52 am
Location: Orion Arm, Milky Way
Contact:

Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:15 am

george moromisato wrote:
Xephyr wrote: Not sure why the Wolfen effects regressed for you. They seem to OK to me. Are you running extensions?
I was only running Corporate Command. The engine effects are back to normal now, so I'm not too sure what went wrong there.

EDIT:

Looks like I spoke too soon. Just started up another game and the effects regressed.
Project Renegade (Beta) : "The Poor Man's Corporate Command!"
"Cowards die many times before their deaths; The valiant never taste of death but once. " -Julius Caesar as written by William Shakespeare, a notorious permadeath player.

User avatar
Arkheias
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:06 pm

Wed Nov 05, 2014 2:35 pm

What I've noticed is that when you start a new game you will occasionally get the effects on the left, but if you reload a save then it will nearly always use the effects on the right.


Also, when I tested this last night, I got the effects on the left a few times, then it always showed the effects on the right, but this morning I seem to be getting the left effects with every new game when I first start the program, but if I exit a game and start a new game without restarting the program it will switch to the effects on the right unless it doesn't.
Attachments
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (12.66 KiB) Viewed 2940 times
Cabbage Corp, the only mod with cabbages!

Please feel free to submit bug reports or issues related to the Cabbage Corp mod on the GitHub page, the forum thread, in a private message or even on the Xelerus page. Suggestions are fine too.

User avatar
Atarlost
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2391
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:02 am

Wed Nov 05, 2014 5:03 pm

Arkheias wrote:What I've noticed is that when you start a new game you will occasionally get the effects on the left, but if you reload a save then it will nearly always use the effects on the right.


Also, when I tested this last night, I got the effects on the left a few times, then it always showed the effects on the right, but this morning I seem to be getting the left effects with every new game when I first start the program, but if I exit a game and start a new game without restarting the program it will switch to the effects on the right unless it doesn't.
Those aren't the old effects. That's the new effects sometimes being buggy and displaying at minimum. If you generate a bunch of identical ships in the intro screen and cycle between them you'll notice some have anemic thrust effects. You just got unlucky to have it happen twice in close proximity to the playership.
Literally is the new Figuratively

User avatar
Xephyr
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 1:52 am
Location: Orion Arm, Milky Way
Contact:

Wed Nov 05, 2014 6:22 pm

Has mining been rebalanced? It seems I can't get xenonite in the early systems like I used to.
Project Renegade (Beta) : "The Poor Man's Corporate Command!"
"Cowards die many times before their deaths; The valiant never taste of death but once. " -Julius Caesar as written by William Shakespeare, a notorious permadeath player.

User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 947
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

Wed Nov 05, 2014 7:03 pm

AssumedPseudonym wrote:
george moromisato wrote:
AssumedPseudonym wrote: Did you change anything about the system requirements in the new beta from 1.3? I can run 1.3 just fine via WINE, but the new 1.5 beta either crashes almost immediately on launch or hangs for a couple of minutes before crashing.
Bummer. I don't think I changed anything, but obviously something changed. If there's anything in Debug.log, I'd like to see it.
 …Okay, now I am thoroughly confused. I had tried it last night and it didn’t work. I tried it before going to class this morning and it didn’t work. I tried it when I got home from class and it didn’t work. I tried it after updating WINE and it still didn’t work. When I checked debug.log though, it showed that all of the extensions had loaded (and I admit I did copy the folder over almost immediately after unzipping the beta). That was the extent of the file, was just the list of extensions loading. So naturally I trashed the Extensions folder and… suddenly 1.5b1 worked. Furthermore, when I started copying extensions back over one subfolder at a time, the game rather stubbornly persisted in not crashing on loading.
 So I have no idea what was wrong. None whatsoever. The upshot is that I have a working beta, though. So… yay, I guess…?
 Actually, I think I found what the problem really was. It wasn’t the extensions, I’m pretty sure it was the music. The fact that the game decided to run when I took the Extensions folder out was mostly a fluke, apparently, and I turned the music off when I got to the point that I could because the soundtrack doesn’t seem to want to play via WINE, anyway. I discovered this was the most likely problem when I tried turning music back on earlier today and everything froze.
Image

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)

User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 947
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:10 pm

 Another bug on the armor screen: After repairing an armor segment, it still shows as being damaged when you select that particular segment.
Image

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)

User avatar
JohnBWatson
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:17 pm

Thu Nov 06, 2014 12:24 am

AssumedPseudonym wrote: Another bug on the armor screen: After repairing an armor segment, it still shows as being damaged when you select that particular segment.
Can confirm.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5348
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:55 pm

I was reading over the changes again and I cant say that I agree with damage always clipping to 0

I had some old shields that specifically used a negative damage adjustment to over-charge with a specific damage type

There should be some way of overriding this explicitly at least
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 947
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

Fri Nov 07, 2014 12:42 am

 The new weapon/device/armor dockscreen bypasses the need to have a military ID to shop at armory of a Commonwealth fortress. They still check it if you try to visit the armory proper, but if you try to buy an upgrade from the dock, the only thing they won’t sell you is milspec equipment.
Image

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)

User avatar
Atarlost
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2391
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:02 am

Fri Nov 07, 2014 1:24 am

Not to be pushy or anything, but all these bug reports would be less likely to get lost and more likely to be acted upon if they were in the proper forum.
Literally is the new Figuratively

User avatar
Xephyr
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 1:52 am
Location: Orion Arm, Milky Way
Contact:

Fri Nov 07, 2014 1:27 am

The masks around the suns aren't even all around.

http://www.newgrounds.com/dump/item/d24 ... 6a3990abd9
Project Renegade (Beta) : "The Poor Man's Corporate Command!"
"Cowards die many times before their deaths; The valiant never taste of death but once. " -Julius Caesar as written by William Shakespeare, a notorious permadeath player.

Post Reply