1.6 Beta 2

New releases and announcements from George and the staff.
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Beta 2 is now out with some good bug fixes. Thanks to all who reported bugs (and who put up with the seededRandom problems). Beta 2 should download automatically if you have Beta 1, but if not, you can get it at the usual place: http://kronosaur.com/downloads/TranscendenceNext.zip

The full list of bug fixes is here: https://ministry.kronosaur.com/program. ... osed&tag=3

There's one major addition to the API: Thanks to the work of Brian Merchant (bzm3r on the forums) TLisp now supports floating point. There is a new set of operators, which return floating point results:

Code: Select all

(+ 2.5 1.0) -> 3.5
(- 2.5 1.0) -> 1.5
(* 0.5 10) -> 5.0
(/ 5 2) -> 2.5
The old operators (divide, in particular) act in a backwards-compatible manner. E.g., (divide 5 2) -> 2

We haven't yet converted all the functions to use floats. In particular, the vector functions don't yet handle floats, but that's something we're working on.
JohnBWatson
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1452
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:17 pm

Glad to help. I'll get to testing it out, and tell you about anything I see.
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

The new rendering engine now that it supports transparency correctly is doing a great job! Even the TSB wrecks have clean edges!
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
JohnBWatson
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1452
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:17 pm

I have played through up to completion of the arena, and this is downright epic. The balance, AI new graphics, and everything else are vast improvements, and I, at several points, found myself fighting the urge to break into applause.

I have only been able to find a single small glitch thus far, which is impressive given my strategy consists of doing exactly the opposite of what I'm supposed to be doing at any given moment. That glitch is now on ministry.

Finally, I would agree with the earlier poster who mentioned adding visual depth. Re-implementing parallax stars in the background would go far.
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

JohnBWatson wrote:I have played through up to completion of the arena, and this is downright epic. The balance, AI new graphics, and everything else are vast improvements, and I, at several points, found myself fighting the urge to break into applause.

I have only been able to find a single small glitch thus far, which is impressive given my strategy consists of doing exactly the opposite of what I'm supposed to be doing at any given moment. That glitch is now on ministry.

Finally, I would agree with the earlier poster who mentioned adding visual depth. Re-implementing parallax stars in the background would go far.
I'm all for more parallax, so I like the idea. I was also thinking of adding a second layer of asteroids in a background parallax layer. Plus it would also be cool to add parallax layers above the main zone (either nebulae or asteroids or debris).
User avatar
Song
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2801
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:27 am

We....um....have a slight bug in how fragments get saved/loaded into the game.



It's quite impressive.

Image

Edit: Oh wow. It stacks.....

Also for anyone thinking of exploiting this....it really isn't worth it. I tried, but the damage is not as good as you'd think. Might be that damage isn't leaked onto the new fragments, might just be the spread. But it's almost useless against stuff like the ICS, and using it on swarms has a high risk of crashing. And the stack trick? It WILL crash your system and destroy the savegame.
Mischievous local moderator. She/Her pronouns.
Watch TV, Do Nothing
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 803
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:22 am
Contact:

Shrike wrote: Image
Benedict: "It's shrinking! It's shrinking!"
Domina: "ALL THESE WORLDS ARE YOURS EXCEPT EUROPA"
User avatar
Atarlost
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2391
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:02 am

I'm still seeing the targetless missions from beta 1 in beta 2.
Literally is the new Figuratively
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

I managed to get 6 stacks of the bug. 7th stack caused the game to just give up and its cpu use dropped to 0% and it just sat there for 20 mins till i killed it.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Atarlost wrote:I'm still seeing the targetless missions from beta 1 in beta 2.
Saved games from beta 1 will still have the bug (because the mission was generated incorrectly). But if a new game in Beta 2 is having the problem, let me know.
JohnBWatson
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1452
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:17 pm

george moromisato wrote:
Atarlost wrote:I'm still seeing the targetless missions from beta 1 in beta 2.
Saved games from beta 1 will still have the bug (because the mission was generated incorrectly). But if a new game in Beta 2 is having the problem, let me know.
I believe the cause was a savegame, as I haven't been getting the bugs anymore.

However, this occurred. Cause unknown, but Anton Nasser gated a few seconds before offscreen, and I was looking at the map at the time if that helps.

Code: Select all

04/04/2015 16:51:02	Start logging session
04/04/2015 16:51:05	Graphics quality maximum: 93 ms; 2 cores.
04/04/2015 16:51:06	Transcendence 1.6 Beta 2
04/04/2015 16:51:12	Loaded extension: Collection\CorporateCommand.tdb
04/04/2015 16:51:14	Loaded library: Collection\CorporateHierarchyVol01.tdb
04/04/2015 16:51:15	backColor not supported: Resources\Worlds1.jpg.
04/04/2015 16:51:15	Loaded library: Collection\LRL15.tdb
04/04/2015 16:51:15	Loaded extension: Collection\OPS_ExtOsaka.tdb
04/04/2015 16:51:15	Loaded library: Collection\OPS_LibResOsaka.tdb
04/04/2015 16:51:15	Loaded extension: Collection\StarsOfThePilgrimSoundtrack.tdb
04/04/2015 16:51:16	Loading user collection.
04/04/2015 16:51:17	Loading news.
04/04/2015 16:51:17	All resources downloaded.
04/04/2015 16:51:21	Loaded game file version: 106ca00
04/04/2015 17:13:47	Unable to continue due to program error.

program state: OnAnimate
program state: painting map
game state: in game
Deltax
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:58 pm

I started up a new game today with eternity port and everything was running smoothly until the game crashed while I was heading to intercept the drake from the North Atlantic Union mission.

Code: Select all

04/04/2015 16:55:51	Start logging session
04/04/2015 16:55:52	Transcendence 1.6 Beta 2
04/04/2015 16:55:55	Loaded extension: Collection\CorporateCommand.tdb
04/04/2015 16:55:56	Loaded library: Collection\CorporateHierarchyVol01.tdb
04/04/2015 16:55:56	Loaded adventure desc: Collection\EternityPort.tdb
04/04/2015 16:55:56	backColor not supported: Resources\Worlds1.jpg.
04/04/2015 16:55:56	Loaded library: Collection\LRL15.tdb
04/04/2015 16:55:57	Loaded library: Collection\NearStarsVol01.tdb
04/04/2015 16:55:57	Loaded extension: Collection\OPS_ExtOsaka.tdb
04/04/2015 16:55:58	Loaded library: Collection\OPS_LibResOsaka.tdb
04/04/2015 16:55:58	Loaded extension: Collection\StarsOfThePilgrimSoundtrack.tdb
04/04/2015 16:55:59	Loading user collection.
04/04/2015 16:56:00	Loading news.
04/04/2015 16:56:00	All resources downloaded.
04/04/2015 16:56:04	Loaded adventure: Collection\EternityPort.tdb
04/04/2015 16:56:05	Loaded game file version: 106ca00
04/04/2015 17:23:15	Unable to continue due to program error.

program state: OnAnimate
program state: painting map
game state: in game
User avatar
Song
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2801
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:27 am

I have also had this bug. I'd just started the "intercept outlaw ship" mission, and the game crashed when I tried to open the map.
Mischievous local moderator. She/Her pronouns.
josh19967
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:52 pm
Location: Vacationing at ModWorld... :D

04/04/2015 10:33:03 Start logging session
04/04/2015 10:33:03 Transcendence 1.6 Beta 2
04/04/2015 10:33:03 Graphics quality maximum: 78 ms; 4 cores.
04/04/2015 10:33:04 Loaded extension: Collection\CorporateCommand.tdb
04/04/2015 10:33:04 Loaded library: Collection\CorporateHierarchyVol01.tdb
04/04/2015 10:33:04 Loaded adventure desc: Collection\EternityPort.tdb
04/04/2015 10:33:04 backColor not supported: Resources\Worlds1.jpg.
04/04/2015 10:33:04 Loaded library: Collection\LRL15.tdb
04/04/2015 10:33:05 Loaded library: Collection\NearStarsVol01.tdb
04/04/2015 10:33:05 Loaded extension: Collection\OPS_ExtOsaka.tdb
04/04/2015 10:33:05 Loaded library: Collection\OPS_LibResOsaka.tdb
04/04/2015 10:33:05 Loaded extension: Collection\StarsOfThePilgrimSoundtrack.tdb
04/04/2015 10:33:06 Loading user collection.
04/04/2015 10:33:06 Loading news.
04/04/2015 10:33:06 All resources downloaded.
04/04/2015 10:33:08 Loaded game file version: 106ca00
04/04/2015 10:35:48 Unable to continue due to program error.

program state: OnAnimate
program state: painting map
game state: in game


Please contact [email protected] with a copy of Debug.log and your save file. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
I've had that issue as well, and it DOES seem to be connected to the map view. I've also had the game crash in Tau Ceti by opening the map after using a system map ROM.
I really don't care if I get my hair cut... *snip* NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!
User avatar
sun1404
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 527
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:32 am
Location: Heretic. (Finally!)

If possible, I would suggest the game make an alternate save when it crash, so that players do not lose progress. But don't overwrite the original save, since the new save might crash at loading. I think it should be possible, since when the game crash, the process itself doesn't terminate, but the game changes into the crash screen.
Yes, look at my avatar, I have a wyvera type ship.
Post Reply