Page 1 of 1

1.8 Alpha 2

Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 5:55 pm
by george moromisato
1.8 Alpha 2 is ready: https://kronosaur.com/downloads/TranscendenceNext.zip

If you're already got 1.8 Alpha 1, it should upgrade automatically.

This release is mostly a bug fix and API release:
Bug fixes: https://ministry.kronosaur.com/program. ... sed&tag=89
API 37: https://ministry.kronosaur.com/record.hexm?id=72675

Thanks to everyone who contributed code and feedback!

p.s.: This build requires a new version of TransData: https://kronosaur.com/downloads/TransData.zip

Re: 1.8 Alpha 2

Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 5:06 am
by AdmiralZo
After downloading the upgrade, it came up with "Unable to replace existing files".

In the debug.log it says:

Upgrading Transcendence.
Unable to rename Transcendence.tdb to Delete_Transcendence.tdb.

Re: 1.8 Alpha 2

Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 2:42 am
by shanejfilomena
42.7Mbs ????
Seems somebody has been really busy ..:)

Thanx, George.

*** for those that don't already know the secret
Arkheias wrote:
Sun Jan 11, 2015 5:43 am
I don't remember where I got this from, but just open notepad and enter

Code: Select all

FOR %%A IN (*.tdb) DO TransData /decompile /dataFile:%%A
and save it as "TDDA.bat", then put it and all of your .tdb files in the same folder as transdata.exe and run the .bat file.

It will extract all the files.

Edit: It was PKodon, PKodon solved all of our problems.

Re: 1.8 Alpha 2

Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 11:24 am
by JohnBWatson
AdmiralZo wrote:
Sun Jul 02, 2017 5:06 am
After downloading the upgrade, it came up with "Unable to replace existing files".

In the debug.log it says:

Upgrading Transcendence.
Unable to rename Transcendence.tdb to Delete_Transcendence.tdb.
That sounds like it might be a permissions issue. I'm not sure if those can be fixed on George's end, but there's a simple console command that you can use to resolve it if that is the case.

Re: 1.8 Alpha 2

Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 7:23 pm
by erwgd
I tried part II on 1.8 alpha 2, and I welcome the lowered prices for Part 2 ships! Now an Eridan costs about 3000 RU instead of 5000, a Swift costs 5500 RU and an Explorer costs less than 2000 RU. I can spend less time pearl poaching, but Tor Quan ships still don't accumulate growth points at all, so the Mechanist line remains the strongest, least glitchy option for now.

Re: 1.8 Alpha 2

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 4:02 am
by shanejfilomena
not complaining,
but ..
I just ran into a Horde of outlaw Miners w/ escorts surrounding an outlaw miner base .....there must have been 20 + Hammerhead escorts && more were on the way.
While it made a nice surprise ( for me ) , it shouldn't happen.

THIS kind of Spamming of ships is exactly why I set My Miners not to come if there are already outlaws w/in 50ls

Code: Select all

			<OnOreDepositFound>
				(switch
					;	If there are no outlaw miners in the system, we send out
					;	ships on their behalf.
					
					(not (sysFindObject gSource "sAN:50; B:outlawMiners;"))
			(block (minerObj)
              (setq minerObj 
              (sysCreateShip &tbOutlawMinerProspector; 
              (sysFindObject gSource "GN") &svOutlawMiners;))
		(objSetData minerObj 'depositID (objGetID (@ gData 'depositObj)))
							)
					)
			</OnOreDepositFound>
			
Cause for this :
A) missed shots at enemy targets strikes ore bearing rocks, sets off the code

B) code doesn't differentiate betwixt outlaw Miner or other ships making the find of Ore.


** I also made a Commonwealth Miner ship, called it "&scSculptor; "
so I can have mining ships in the system for traffic / etc without messing up the calls
simply because all Borers, except the Captured Borer are OutlawMiners by Attribute.

Re: 1.8 Alpha 2

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:51 am
by NMS
I never mine anymore because it's boring, so I'm not sure how balanced these mechanics are. But this seems to make sense. I don't think you need a new ship class though. What if you change "B:outlawMiners;" to "J:&svOutlawMiners;" to check their sovereign rather than ship attributes?

Re: 1.8 Alpha 2

Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:06 am
by 0xABCDEF
There were at least two undocumented features (not mentioned in the API spec) added in the 1.8 alphas. Firstly, the "healer" points that biotech ships use are hardcoded into the engine. Secondly, interior compartments can now be made into external "sections" that move with the ship. For reference on Sections, here are eight Twitch clips.
  1. Clip 1
  2. Clip 2
  3. Clip 3
  4. Clip 4
  5. Clip 5
  6. Clip 6
  7. Clip 7
  8. Clip 8

Re: 1.8 Alpha 2

Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:08 am
by shanejfilomena
NMS wrote:
Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:51 am
I never mine anymore because it's boring, so I'm not sure how balanced these mechanics are. But this seems to make sense. I don't think you need a new ship class though. What if you change "B:outlawMiners;" to "J:&svOutlawMiners;" to check their sovereign rather than ship attributes?
yes, but where is the fun in not making another ship for the Commonwealth?

the thing was, at the time, not to rid the universe of outlaws but to slow them down from spamming the system ( which, as I posted, does not depend on the Player actually mining to set it off .. )

the outlaw miners obviously were put up to make mining more of a challenge ( as if the new Ore / mining codes don't already kill mining as it is )

Yes, it is boring..but relaxing - or at least it used to be. the new squish on ore deposits makes it frustrating
( the outlaws are really just added loot to farm, which is yet another reason to limit them )

Re: 1.8 Alpha 2

Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 5:06 am
by shanejfilomena
2 more tiny items :
===========
after donating to the CSC I got the spring water but the action text wasn't showing
the highlight for where the text should be was there, but no text.
==========
CSC Antarctica : the Patrols did not attempt to defend the ship from a Xenophobe assault.

I Don't understand why the CSC Antarctica Patrols only react to being shot at rather then defending the ship.

Because I was there ( trying to stage a trap for the Xenophobes ) the ares moved in against the fleet without my trying to attract them , resulting in protecting the CSC - intentionally or not.
=======
Taikon research left me with the Cybernetic tower, I did get a ROM to take to Kate....
However :

Code: Select all

(objRemoveItem gPlayerShip (item (objGetItems gPlayerShip "* +IocrymCyberneticTower") 0))
I thinks should be 1 , not 0 : or actually not even have a # since it calls the object by attrib.

Re: 1.8 Alpha 2

Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:51 pm
by 0xABCDEF
shanejfilomena wrote:
Mon Jul 24, 2017 5:06 am

Code: Select all

(objRemoveItem gPlayerShip (item (objGetItems gPlayerShip "* +IocrymCyberneticTower") 0))
The (item) function takes a 0-indexed list and returns the entry at the specified index. 0 is the index of the first item in the list and the player is expected to receive exactly one Iocrym Cybernetic Tower. (objGetItems) returns a list of itemstructs and (objRemoveItem) takes a single itemstruct.

Re: 1.8 Alpha 2

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:39 am
by shanejfilomena
0xABCDEF wrote:
Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:51 pm
shanejfilomena wrote:
Mon Jul 24, 2017 5:06 am

Code: Select all

(objRemoveItem gPlayerShip (item (objGetItems gPlayerShip "* +IocrymCyberneticTower") 0))
The (item) function takes a 0-indexed list and returns the entry at the specified index. 0 is the index of the first item in the list and the player is expected to receive exactly one Iocrym Cybernetic Tower. (objGetItems) returns a list of itemstructs and (objRemoveItem) takes a single itemstruct.
Perhaps you missed what I said there ..
I had the tower after getting the ROM : meaning the code did NOT take the tower as it was built.

I followed this line of .xml back to 1.3 : it is not changed, if it ever worked, it isn't doing it on a regular basis if I found it not working in the 1.8.2

However, I will confess, it is NOT the first time I ever got stuck with the tower - but the station was usually destroyed so I couldn't turn it in anyway.

something is the cause of this code not being reliable.....that is all I am saying.