1.8 Alpha 3

New releases and announcements from George and the staff.
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Alpha 3 is finally ready! This release is coming in hot, so there are likely to be lots of bugs (I might do a patch if there are severe bugs).

This release is mostly focused on API changes for Part II, but there is still lots of good stuff:

* Vault of the Galaxy Alpha 3 is ready. This build mostly adds content (more enemies, items, etc.). It's still missing a lot of content and it is far from balanced, but it makes good progress towards an end of the year v1.0.

* A lot of the small ships now have 120 rotation frames, courtesy of NMS and PM.

* Korolov shipping has a new user interface for picking missions (as seen on Twitch several weeks ago).

* GiantCabbage has worked a lot to implement missions using MissionTypes (so they show up in the mission list). GC has updated almost all Commonwealth Fleet missions, so there are likely to be some minor bugs.

* And there have been lots of API enhancements.

The complete list of fixes is here: https://ministry.kronosaur.com/program. ... sed&tag=91
The API changes are here: https://ministry.kronosaur.com/record.hexm?id=73457

The new version should automatically download if you have one of the Alphas. Otherwise, you can get it at the usual place: https://kronosaur.com/downloads/TranscendenceNext.zip

I've got another couple of months of work on Part II. I'll be focusing on sovereigns for the higher levels, roughly from 16 to 21. But of course, I'll also be making lots of core changes. As always, if you have comments, suggestions, or bugs, please file them with Ministry!

Thanks to everyone who submitted feedback and code for this release!
shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1533
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska
Contact:

I have TWO - yes TWO items that hit me on first run :

First Un-Cool item, Heliotrope Destroyer STILL fires from it's center of image as opposed to the Nose - it used to fire from it's nose.....but I suppose I am the only one that cares how insane that looks.


Second Un-Cool item : the option to remove an item from the collection is still not available at the Multiverse user collection sections that I can determine.

=============================================================

Since obviously the rest of the universe is going to continue to run with the renaming of the Heliotrope Destroyer as a Frigate I would like to suggest that a Boss Ship be added to the Heliotrope Fleet.

With the Charon Pirates it makes reasonable sense to have 'Frigates' when there is a Boss Ship in the fleet.
But, without a stronger version of the Heliotrope Frigate being available , simply renaming the ship is just cruel.

a 'Beefed up' version of the Destroyer that I like to use ( mostly comes after you if you blow up the bigger station ) is set up as :
** NOTE:
The weapon position for the main gun is at the Nose of the ship.
This ship was first placed into my games before the New Solar Armor was introduced into the game, I never upgraded the ship with new armor ( but will )

Code: Select all

	<!-- Heliotrope Destroyer -->

	<ShipClass UNID="&scHeliotropeDestroyer;"
			manufacturer=		"Heliotrope"
			class=				""
			type=				"Destroyer"
			defaultSovereign=	"&svHeliotropes;"

			attributes=			"genericClass, heliotropes"

			size=				"100"
			mass=				"5000"
			thrustRatio=		"2"
			maxSpeed=			"15"
			cargoSpace=			"50"
			>

		<!-- Configuration -->
		
		<Armor
			armorID=			"&itSolarArmor;"
			count=				"12"
			/>
		
		<Devices>
			<Device deviceID="&itSunflareCannon;" posAngle="0" posRadius="72" posZ="0"/>
			<Device deviceID="&itBlinderCannon;"secondaryWeapon="true" minFireArc="0" maxFireArc="170" posAngle="43" posRadius="24"/>
			<Device deviceID="&itBlinderCannon;"secondaryWeapon="true" minFireArc="185" maxFireArc="355" posAngle="238" posRadius="20"/>
			<Device deviceID="&itSolonShieldGenerator;"/>
		</Devices>

		<Maneuver
			maxRotationRate=	"9.0"
			rotationAccel=		"1.0"
			/>

		<Interior>
			<Compartment name="interior"
					hitPoints=	"100"
					/>
			
			<Compartment name="main drive"
					type=		"mainDrive"
					hitPoints=	"80"

					posX=		"-24"
					posY=		"0"
					sizeX=		"48"
					sizeY=		"48"
					/>
		</Interior>

		<Items>
			<Item				count="2d6"	item="&itHeliotropeFuel;"/>
			<Lookup				count="1"	table="&trConsumables3;"/>
		</Items>

		<!-- Image and Effects -->

		<Image imageID="&rsHeliotropeFrigate;" imageWidth="120" imageHeight="120"/>

		<Effects>
			<Effect type="thrustMain"		posAngle="180"	posRadius="48"	posZ="-25"	rotation="180"/>
			<Effect type="thrustMain"		posAngle="160"	posRadius="54"	posZ="-12"	rotation="180"/>
			<Effect type="thrustMain"		posAngle="-160"	posRadius="54"	posZ="-12"	rotation="180"/>
			<Effect type="thrustMain"		posAngle="160"	posRadius="54"	posZ="12"	rotation="180"/>
			<Effect type="thrustMain"		posAngle="-160"	posRadius="54"	posZ="12"	rotation="180"/>
			<Effect type="thrustMain"		posAngle="180"	posRadius="48"	posZ="25"	rotation="180"/>
		</Effects>
		
		<!-- AI and Behavior -->

		<AISettings
			aggressor=			"true"
			fireRateAdj=		"20"
			fireAccuracy=		"85"
			perception=			"4"
			
			noFriendlyFire=		"true"
			combatStyle=		"standOff"
			/>

	</ShipClass>
	
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..
PM
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:54 am

Just did a brief scan of API38 and noticed that item drops with components may drop components instead. Are components intended to be limited to consumables and minor items? I ask because Tinkers support components, and I have considered recipes (for Tinkers and VotG foundaries, at least) that include lower level devices or similar "majorItems" (such as two low level beam weapons to build a dual beam weapon). With drops having a chance for components, affected items with components of more lower level fully-functional devices may yield... more valuable loot than items without components, assuming all component items always drop intact.
Download and Play in 1.9 beta 1...
Drake Technologies (Alpha): More hardware for combat in parts 1 and 2!
Star Castle Arcade: Play a classic arcade game adventure, with or without more features (like powerups)!
Playership Drones: Buy or restore exotic ships to command!

Other playable mods from 1.8 and 1.7, waiting to be updated...
Godmode v3 (WIP): Dev/cheat tool compatible with D&O parts 1 or 2.
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

PM wrote:
Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:37 pm
Just did a brief scan of API38 and noticed that item drops with components may drop components instead. Are components intended to be limited to consumables and minor items? I ask because Tinkers support components, and I have considered recipes (for Tinkers and VotG foundaries, at least) that include lower level devices or similar "majorItems" (such as two low level beam weapons to build a dual beam weapon). With drops having a chance for components, affected items with components of more lower level fully-functional devices may yield... more valuable loot than items without components, assuming all component items always drop intact.
This is a good point; I think we need to add some override on the item to prevent component drops. Eventually, we might even have a separate (optional) table for component drops (i.e., one table for assembly and a different table for drops).
JohnBWatson
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1452
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:17 pm

Can someone update me on how the bioships work now? I don't appear to be getting growth points for anything, be it refueling, healing, killing or spending fuel.
erwgd
Miner
Miner
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 2:17 pm

JohnBWatson wrote:
Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:59 am
Can someone update me on how the bioships work now? I don't appear to be getting growth points for anything, be it refueling, healing, killing or spending fuel.
I haven't played alpha 3 yet, but growth points have been broken since alpha 1. My ticket for it is still open.
relanat
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 941
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:56 am

The Korolov mission selection screen is great. Now you can see what freighters you can escort. You can compare the payments. You can even undock and check how far away the destination is. Awesome.

And thanks for unvSetObjectKnown. That'll come in handy.

Anyone else getting the "circling orange rings of death"? On quite a few occasions trying to start a new game results in the loading screen getting stuck forever creating a game. The prolog disappears and the circling orange game creating stuff just goes on and on. It can happen with or without mods in the Extensions or Collection folder.

And some general VOTG info that could be part of development rather than bugs.

Remora metropolis shows credits as its currency while nearby Remora stations use RU.
-----

Repairing armor at stations on the Efreet Explorer and Eridan Patrol playership is free of charge.
-----

The scrDesc at the Remora Ripper asks "May we dismantle your broken items?" but intact weapons appear in the dockscreen list. Not sure if it should only be damaged items.
-----

Non-specific archaeotech weapons , eg "a Majellen weapon", "a Core Era weapon" all have "generic 0 hp @ 3.8 shots/sec" in itempicker lists.
-----

Also using plyChangeShip with some ships gives no actual thrust. The thrust effect shows and the ship will turn, but not move anywhere.
Examples:
V3 Temblor
Tor Quan Leviathan
Gargoyle gunship
Eridan Patrol ship (NPC)

Zhen Ma Cruiser, D7 Freighter, Grome heavy gunship and C1 Transport are fine.
-----

Tor Quan Swift and Efreet Explorer playership shows a duplicate of the ship's information in the Ship's Interior screen as well as showing the same info in the Ship Configuration screen. Not sure if that is intentional.

Sapphire and Eridan only show ship info in the Ship Configuration screen as is usual.
-----

And lastly, those Balin Dragons look fantastic!!!
Last edited by relanat on Sun Oct 08, 2017 1:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!
NMS
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 569
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:26 am

relanat wrote:
Tue Oct 03, 2017 4:02 am
Anyoen else getting the "circling orange rings of death"? On quite a few occasions trying to start a new game results in the loading screen getting stuck forever creating a game. The prolog disappears and the circling orange game creating stuff just goes on and on. It can happen with or without mods in the Extensions or Collection folder.
Just got this last night for the first time. I was able to alt-F4, but the game was still running in the background. Last debug log entry was "Starting new game."
shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1533
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska
Contact:

NMS wrote:
Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:08 am
relanat wrote:
Tue Oct 03, 2017 4:02 am
Anyoen else getting the "circling orange rings of death"? On quite a few occasions trying to start a new game results in the loading screen getting stuck forever creating a game. The prolog disappears and the circling orange game creating stuff just goes on and on. It can happen with or without mods in the Extensions or Collection folder.
Just got this last night for the first time. I was able to alt-F4, but the game was still running in the background. Last debug log entry was "Starting new game."
( for those that don't know )
When the game "hangs" in Windows operating systems, it is not a bug, it's a windows feature ( they actually have a .dll file for hanging up programs, as I learned this past weekend - the desktop is in for repairs now )
you can always bring up the task manager to be sure the game shuts down - or shut off the .exe manually using the task manager.

often, closing the game does not shut down the .exe and the game will decline to initialize until the .exe is turned off by the system or manually.
=================================
I do remember the "Orange Rings of Death",
I always assumed the game was trying to advance the system and had far too many calls for encounters that caused fighting but the math of determining wrecks (or not) left in the fight could cause a "hang".
I prefer some wrecks to be left, but I think the obvious choice for these latest versions cleans out many wrecks that we normally expect in the busy lower systems because, I assume, they create an obstacle for the engine on loading.
the game has advanced a great deal in a short time, it will get buggy on occasion.

Just don't be shy about shutting it down manually if needed.
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..
JohnBWatson
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1452
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:17 pm

Also using plyChangeShip with some ships gives no actual thrust. The thrust effect shows and the ship will turn, but not move anywhere.
This has been an issue for a while.
hairyharryz2
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:24 am

Hey, not a programmer or an expert on the finer workings behind the game, but am a long time player, although I am only a couple hours into the Alpha build for Vault of the Galaxy.

I love the sudden transition from human space into the unknowns of the galaxy, as well the organic feel of all the new alien races. The game itself have only gotten more beautiful and I can't wait for the first version of part II to be officially released...

A in-game question for anyone who has progressed further into the alpha: does anyone have any tips on how to raise funds early on to get a new ship? Only Groam Outposts seem safe to raid with the initial craft as the enemy positron weapons quickly deplete shield and armor, but it is very slow going in terms of bring in the RUs relying on that method. I really don't want to have to prey upon those lil cute blue rolypolies for quick cash...
relanat
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 941
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:56 am

hairyharryz2 wrote:
Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:49 am
I love the sudden transition from human space into the unknowns of the galaxy, as well the organic feel of all the new alien races. The game itself have only gotten more beautiful and I can't wait for the first version of part II to be officially released...
I couldn't agree more. Given it's the same game, the Vault of the Galaxy looks really good and completely different.

In answer to your question, in the latest version of VOTG you can kill hexacoral colonies with impunity and steal their loot. They complain but can't shoot back and don't have reinforcing ships to chase you. They are friendly stations but we won't talk about that :oops: .

Otherwise you can cheat. Start in debug mode and use code to give yourself extra currency. The final released version will be more balanced for players making it a bit easier to make money probably.
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!
griffen26
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:22 am

i have 1.7 my game will not update to 1.8 please help
JohnBWatson
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1452
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:17 pm

hairyharryz2 wrote:
Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:49 am

A in-game question for anyone who has progressed further into the alpha: does anyone have any tips on how to raise funds early on to get a new ship? Only Groam Outposts seem safe to raid with the initial craft as the enemy positron weapons quickly deplete shield and armor, but it is very slow going in terms of bring in the RUs relying on that method. I really don't want to have to prey upon those lil cute blue rolypolies for quick cash...
The best way to do it is to start fights between factions and loot the results. Grome are good for this - sometimes you can get them to blow up entire stations.

I think I might understand why all the alien races are so okay with humans being wiped out.
NMS
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 569
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:26 am

griffen26 wrote:
Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:38 am
i have 1.7 my game will not update to 1.8 please help
The current 1.8 release is still an alpha version. Release versions only update to other official release versions. You can download 1.8 from the link in the first post.
Post Reply