Option to scale resolution?

Here you can get help resolving Transcendence-related issues.
Post Reply
Anubis
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:58 am
Location: Where coordinates, either temporal or spacial, have no meaning.

Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:28 am

Perhaps something can be added so that the resolution can be scaled down instead of simply having the edges cut off on small resultions. I mean, it might make somethings hard to see, but... at least you can see them. Would really help us with 600 pixel high monitors out.

Jeoshua
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:48 pm

Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:59 am

I concur. There is something seriously unsatisfactory about the resolution options in this game. 1024 is the only truly working resolution. Anything wider screen, bigger, or smaller will simply not work correctly.

George, you really should try giving us the option of higher resolutions, even if it is through a hack of some sort.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5348
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:59 am

Anubis' idea is really the only workable one though. I'm surprised TBH that nobody thought of it till now. Hell, I'm surprised I didn't think of it! XD
You see, scaling the screen is the only option because expanding the playfield on large screens would be severely unbalanced, meanwhile those playing on smaller resolutions where the playfield is cropped down (like on 600px screens) are at a disadvantage.
Actually the optimal size is 1280x1024, because there the hud does not overlap with the playingfield.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
Atarlost
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2391
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:02 am

Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:59 am

The problem with scaling is you'll get lines of distortion. These will look terrible even if antaliased.

For netbooks like Anubis's this may be the best option, but for larger screens I'm not sure it won't be worse than simply having a dinky little main display. Those people should simply be running it with a switch to force the resolution.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5348
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:02 am

Personally I'd be fine (And preferring it) using it just the way it is currently, but then again, my monitor is on the larger side, not the smaller side.
I agree that the distortion would be a problem, but some people might not mind... I mean, it's an option.

However, it's the only viable choice for smaller displays, like all these small netbooks.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
Atarlost
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2391
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:02 am

Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:23 am

Possibly an option to "anti-letterbox" large displays so the screen edge hugging parts of the interface don't wind up too far from the center on widescreen monitors.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5348
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:24 am

That would be useful though; sort of like locking it to its 1280x1024 positions
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

Anubis
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:58 am
Location: Where coordinates, either temporal or spacial, have no meaning.

Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:53 am

Just wanted to point out, the scaling should preserve the aspect ratio, so as not to stretch it too much in one direction as the distortion makes playing hard.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5348
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:55 am

I think george should be able to do that, given that he fixed that same problem in the screen saver (back in the first version when it was locked at a particular resolution and simply expanded)
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

Post Reply