TRansData.Exe

Here you can get help resolving Transcendence-related issues.
User avatar
Cero
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:58 pm

TRansData.Exe

Post by Cero » Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:20 pm

Okay, i have the trans Data for modding purposes but recently i can't acces it, it gives me "Access denied.", so what in the Holo-monkies am i doing wrong? or is it my computer?

Edit: when i do get it to give me access it tells me that it "can not find the path specified." or that it is not a Valid Win32 Application
Ugh is it friday yet?

*yes it is go home*

really? awsome!

is it summer yet?

*not for another 10 months...*

aww...man...

[You don't know what you have till its gone...]

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5340
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Post by Wolfy » Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:56 pm

What operating system are you using?
Let me guess: vista or 7...?

Where is the file loaded?
Are you the administrator on your computer?
Can you use command prompt?

-----------------

Or you can go to xelerus and download the sources - because thats all transdata does - extract the sources from the TDB
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Image

User avatar
Cero
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:58 pm

Transdata.exe

Post by Cero » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:33 pm

I am the administrator,
The file is loaded in C:\Program Files\Trans
I can use Command prompt.
Operating system is Windows XP not vista or 7 (I think Vista is crap just letting you know)
Ugh is it friday yet?

*yes it is go home*

really? awsome!

is it summer yet?

*not for another 10 months...*

aww...man...

[You don't know what you have till its gone...]

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5340
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Post by Wolfy » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:57 pm

Ok, this is very interesting. Are you double-clicking the transdata.exe in order to activate it? That should not work (normally it would do nothing) - to operate it you need to access it through the command prompt and give it the command /extract
Are you able to delete transdata.exe?
Are you able to delete the folder it is in? (make sure to make a backup before deleting anything, in case you can't restore it, for example, if it was located on a USB flashdrive)
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Image

User avatar
Cero
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:58 pm

Post by Cero » Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:20 pm

uh...i never really thought that much about that...
Let me try...
Ugh is it friday yet?

*yes it is go home*

really? awsome!

is it summer yet?

*not for another 10 months...*

aww...man...

[You don't know what you have till its gone...]

User avatar
Cero
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:58 pm

Post by Cero » Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:25 pm

Comes up, with yet again. System cannot find path specified.

I didn't double or single click it i used the Command Prompt so...
:x this is getting very annoying!

EDIT: I deleted the file and remade it. its now under the file name TransData21

I have been succesful how ever at opening up the TDB file with Notepad though it is very slow to load.
Ugh is it friday yet?

*yes it is go home*

really? awsome!

is it summer yet?

*not for another 10 months...*

aww...man...

[You don't know what you have till its gone...]

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5340
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Post by Wolfy » Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:03 pm

Can't find the path specified? That's very odd...
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Image

User avatar
sdw195
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Still looking for the csc Antarctica
Contact:

Post by sdw195 » Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:19 pm

is transdata.exe in the same folder as transcendence.tdb??
Image
Image
Image
Image
"Dash_Merc - George is a genius, in that he created this game engine that is infinitely extendable"
"<@sheepluva>Good night everybody, may the source be with you." <-- FOSG dev
"You only need THREE tools in life - WD-40 to make things go, Duct Tape to make things stop And C-4 to make things go away"

User avatar
sdw195
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Still looking for the csc Antarctica
Contact:

Post by sdw195 » Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:19 pm

is transdata.exe in the same folder as transcendence.tdb??
Image
Image
Image
Image
"Dash_Merc - George is a genius, in that he created this game engine that is infinitely extendable"
"<@sheepluva>Good night everybody, may the source be with you." <-- FOSG dev
"You only need THREE tools in life - WD-40 to make things go, Duct Tape to make things stop And C-4 to make things go away"

User avatar
sdw195
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Still looking for the csc Antarctica
Contact:

Post by sdw195 » Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:20 pm

is transdata.exe in the same folder as transcendence.tdb??
Image
Image
Image
Image
"Dash_Merc - George is a genius, in that he created this game engine that is infinitely extendable"
"<@sheepluva>Good night everybody, may the source be with you." <-- FOSG dev
"You only need THREE tools in life - WD-40 to make things go, Duct Tape to make things stop And C-4 to make things go away"

User avatar
Cero
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:58 pm

Post by Cero » Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:21 pm

*Cry* *Cry* :cry:

sigh...


Alright well in the mean time i think i will just give up on trying to use TransData program for a while...and think on it...
Ugh is it friday yet?

*yes it is go home*

really? awsome!

is it summer yet?

*not for another 10 months...*

aww...man...

[You don't know what you have till its gone...]

User avatar
sdw195
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Still looking for the csc Antarctica
Contact:

Post by sdw195 » Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:25 pm

wooo sorry about the repeat of the same post i can blam it on this http://www.neurohack.com/transcendence/ ... 0489#30489
Image
Image
Image
Image
"Dash_Merc - George is a genius, in that he created this game engine that is infinitely extendable"
"<@sheepluva>Good night everybody, may the source be with you." <-- FOSG dev
"You only need THREE tools in life - WD-40 to make things go, Duct Tape to make things stop And C-4 to make things go away"

User avatar
sdw195
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Still looking for the csc Antarctica
Contact:

Post by sdw195 » Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:32 pm

Cero wrote:Comes up, with yet again. System cannot find path specified.

I didn't double or single click it i used the Command Prompt so...
:x this is getting very annoying!

EDIT: I deleted the file and remade it. its now under the file name TransData21

I have been succesful how ever at opening up the TDB file with Notepad though it is very slow to load.
try useing the xp power toy "Open Command Window Here"
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/down ... rtoys.mspx it might help
Image
Image
Image
Image
"Dash_Merc - George is a genius, in that he created this game engine that is infinitely extendable"
"<@sheepluva>Good night everybody, may the source be with you." <-- FOSG dev
"You only need THREE tools in life - WD-40 to make things go, Duct Tape to make things stop And C-4 to make things go away"

User avatar
Darth Saber
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 4:53 pm
Location: Korriban

Post by Darth Saber » Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:09 pm

Cero stated:
I have been succesful how ever at opening up the TDB file with Notepad though it is very slow to load.
How long did that take? I tried for an hour, and my computer has 2.98 GHz processor, and 2 gig of dual channel ram, and still received no results!

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5340
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Post by Wolfy » Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:20 pm

what type of processor?
And...2GB of ram isn't that fast.
I can open it in well under a minute with a 2.4Ghz phenom x4, 6GB of 1066Mhz DDR2 ram.
Nowadays I use jedt though, which has a bit more of a startup time, but that's constant, as the program has libraries and stuff to load.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest