Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Here you can get help resolving Transcendence-related issues.
Post Reply
Siddhant
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:04 am

Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by Siddhant » Mon Jun 01, 2015 1:28 pm

Transcendence 1.5 wont run in Windows 7, 32 bit. I had no problems running Transcendence 1.0 in a lower-end laptop. The loading screen shows up, and then it quits. Is this due to the folder being read-only? If yes, is there a workaround?

Thank you in advance

User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2561
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by digdug » Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:45 pm

Hi Siddhant,
welcome to the forums. :)

create a shortcut of Transcendence.exe
right-click and do Properties.
In the "Target" box after transcendence.exe add this:
-debug -debugvideo

run the game by doubleclicking the shortcut.

can you please copy/paste here your debug.log file that has been created?


Also, a couple of things to try :
- Try to run the game from a read/write enabled folder, such as inside Documents.
- Try to disable the antivirus/firewall then run the game, some people reported problems with that.

User avatar
KaoS
Miner
Miner
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 3:25 pm
Location: Who wants to know?
Contact:

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by KaoS » Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:54 pm

Might be unrelated, but I noticed on a fresh install of vista that the beta refused to run. Apparently vista noticed that I had extracted the exe at work and then just copied it from my external, therefor it "belonged" to a different pc. Now that I think about it more, I'm pretty sure it's not related at all because you said it started to run whereas mine never executed at all. Oh well, I'm gonna post this anyway in case anyone else has the same issue and looks here. I'll have to look up the resolution and post it later since I don't know what triggered the thing that asked me if I want to allow it right now...

Siddhant
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by Siddhant » Tue Jun 02, 2015 6:14 am

This is how the debug file looks like.

06/02/2015 11:35:43 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
06/02/2015 11:35:43 Start logging session
06/02/2015 11:35:44 Transcendence 1.5
06/02/2015 11:36:48 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
06/02/2015 11:36:48 Start logging session
06/02/2015 11:36:48 Transcendence 1.5
06/02/2015 11:36:48 Small typeface: Tahoma
06/02/2015 11:36:48 Medium typeface: Tahoma
06/02/2015 11:36:48 Large typeface: Convection
06/02/2015 11:36:48 Console typeface: Lucida Console

I added the transcendence.exe to the firewall and avast exclusion list, still no luck :(

Shaman
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:03 pm

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by Shaman » Tue Jun 02, 2015 6:02 pm

KaoS wrote:Might be unrelated, but I noticed on a fresh install of vista that the beta refused to run. Apparently vista noticed that I had extracted the exe at work and then just copied it from my external, therefor it "belonged" to a different pc. Now that I think about it more, I'm pretty sure it's not related at all because you said it started to run whereas mine never executed at all. Oh well, I'm gonna post this anyway in case anyone else has the same issue and looks here. I'll have to look up the resolution and post it later since I don't know what triggered the thing that asked me if I want to allow it right now...
I checked that and it doesn't have anything to do with it. I deleted the permission for me and Transcendence still worked.
A missing permission does cause problems with modding, but normal gameplay seems to be fine.
Also read-only for the folder seems to be normal.

Siddhant, try deactivating avast, firewall, etc. Sometimes these programs interfere with games without telling you, even if the games are excluded. Didn't Avast caused problems to Transcendence? Not sure.

User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2561
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by digdug » Wed Jun 03, 2015 1:25 am

Avast was reported twice before to give some troubles to Transcendence for some unknown reason.
Try disabling file protection and web shield.

Siddhant
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by Siddhant » Wed Jun 03, 2015 5:32 am

I disabled Avast and the Firewall. Although the game didn't show any luck, I was greeted by a BSoD just after the game exited. Nottrying that in the future :P

Also, I don't think that Avast and Firewall might be the issue, coz i played Trans 1.0 with both Avast and Firewall on

StealthX051
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:26 pm

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by StealthX051 » Thu Jun 04, 2015 4:36 am

Might sound stupid, but try a fresh download.

User avatar
RPC
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2834
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Hmm... I'm confused. Anybody have a starmap to the Core?

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by RPC » Thu Jun 04, 2015 4:45 am

Read only was an issue when I had an old laptop. Can you recopy the game files somewhere else and uncheck read-only then run the game?
Tutorial List on the Wiki and Installing Mods
Image<----- click to get to #Transcendence IRC on Freenode
Image
Der Tod ist der zeitlose Frieden und das leben ist der Krieg
Wir müssen wissen — wir werden wissen!
I don't want any sort of copyright on my Transcendence mods. Feel free to take/modify whatever you want.

Siddhant
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by Siddhant » Thu Jun 04, 2015 4:51 am

Tried both methods... have downloaded more than a hundred times.
Also tried copying the game files to a new folder, but as I found from the Windows forums, the read-only attribute of a folder cannot be unchecked in NTFS partitions. Then I formatted my pen-drive to FAT32 and copied the game folder there, but still wasn't able to uncheck the read-only attribute.

Where can i find the download link for version 1.0? Might try downloading and seeing if it runs

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2833
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by george moromisato » Thu Jun 04, 2015 4:02 pm

Siddhant wrote:Tried both methods... have downloaded more than a hundred times.
Also tried copying the game files to a new folder, but as I found from the Windows forums, the read-only attribute of a folder cannot be unchecked in NTFS partitions. Then I formatted my pen-drive to FAT32 and copied the game folder there, but still wasn't able to uncheck the read-only attribute.

Where can i find the download link for version 1.0? Might try downloading and seeing if it runs
It's strange. If the logfile got written then the problem isn't that the folder is read-only. Did any folders get created in the folder?

Try disabling the music: In Settings.xml, find the option for noMusic and set its value to "true".

The only other thing I can think of is to disable the Multiverse: edit Settings.xml and at the bottom of the file, in the <Hexarc> section, make sure it reads enabled="false".

Let us know what happens!

EDIT: p.s.: You should also try the latest version (1.6 Beta 4: http://kronosaur.com/downloads/TranscendenceNext.zip)

Siddhant
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by Siddhant » Thu Jun 04, 2015 4:18 pm

Yeah, an empty folder by the name "Games" is created when I unsuccessfully try to run the game for the first time. Also, I remember that another empty folder "Collections" used to get created during my previous attempts, but for some reason, not anymore.

Also, I can't find the settings.xml file. The last time it got created was when I tried some random thing (don't remember what) during my previous attempt. How do I create it? Or can someone just mail me the file?

Shaman
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:03 pm

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by Shaman » Thu Jun 04, 2015 4:27 pm

Try looking in folder C:\User\"Your user"\AppData\Roaming\Kronosaur\Transcendence\

Note: AppData is only visible if you enable showing hidden files and folders
how to do it is explained here http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutoria ... windows-7/

Sometimes, but it seems not for everyone, files and folders of Transcendence do not create in the main folder, but instead there. I heard different things about this.

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2833
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by george moromisato » Thu Jun 04, 2015 4:42 pm

Shaman wrote:Try looking in folder C:\User\"Your user"\AppData\Roaming\Kronosaur\Transcendence\

Note: AppData is only visible if you enable showing hidden files and folders
how to do it is explained here http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutoria ... windows-7/

Sometimes, but it seems not for everyone, files and folders of Transcendence do not create in the main folder, but instead there. I heard different things about this.
That's right--the game uses AppData if for some reason it can't create files in its own folder. It's strange that some things can be created but not others.

Siddhant
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Transcendence 1.5 won't run

Post by Siddhant » Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:59 am

I finally managed to make it run. I just renamed the transcendenceintro.mp3 file. I checked the settings for the music path, and it was blank. Even after entering the correct path there's no music, but I can live without it.

Also, the cache, settings, and collections folders and files have been created in the game folder after the game managed to run.

Thanks a ton guys! :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest