Control Change?

General discussion about anything related to Transcendence.
Post Reply
Lmoy
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Canada!

Mon Jul 04, 2011 8:45 pm

I'm sure this is already on here somewhere, but I can't seem to find it.
I need to change Transcendence's controls, because I use a Dvorak keyboard. This makes the targeting program awkward to use, because the T, R and F keys are too far apart.
If someone could tell me how to change these, it would be greatly appreciated :)

User avatar
sdw195
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Still looking for the csc Antarctica
Contact:

Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:02 pm

just edit the settings.xml file in notepad, and change the key bindings :)
you will find it in the main trans folder
Image
Image
Image
Image
"Dash_Merc - George is a genius, in that he created this game engine that is infinitely extendable"
"<@sheepluva>Good night everybody, may the source be with you." <-- FOSG dev
"You only need THREE tools in life - WD-40 to make things go, Duct Tape to make things stop And C-4 to make things go away"

Lmoy
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Canada!

Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:55 pm

Ah, thanks :P

User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2749
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:13 pm

Do you by chance do some tech stuff? Because I've only ever seen people who use Dvorak who happen to also be tech enthusiasts. :)
Image
Image

*** AWAY ON SABBATICAL ***
** USE EMAIL TO CONTACT ME **

erik dela cruz
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 610
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 7:45 pm
Location: Patrolling Scarborough Shoal and the Spratlys Islands (West Philippine Sea)

Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:13 pm

sdw195 wrote:just edit the settings.xml file in notepad, and change the key bindings :)
you will find it in the main trans folder
sdw195 can this help me in my posting problem? You see I'm using an HP minilaptop that won't cooperate with a simple CTRL+C and CTRL+V command and won't even change tabs with Alt+ Tab.
.....cry without weeping......
.....talk without speaking......
.....scream without raising your voice......

User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2749
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

Thu Jul 07, 2011 5:05 pm

erik dela cruz wrote:
sdw195 wrote:just edit the settings.xml file in notepad, and change the key bindings :)
you will find it in the main trans folder
sdw195 can this help me in my posting problem? You see I'm using an HP minilaptop that won't cooperate with a simple CTRL+C and CTRL+V command and won't even change tabs with Alt+ Tab.

I suspect that is something else is going on there, you can post your configuration, but alt tab is operating system not game.
Image
Image

*** AWAY ON SABBATICAL ***
** USE EMAIL TO CONTACT ME **

User avatar
Bobby
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:39 pm

Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:22 pm

It won't work ctrl+c? my guess is:

1. you have another key, perhaps alt, windows, or shift, which windows thinks is down, press them all and see if it fixes it.
2. you have some piece of software that is preventing that combination from working (autohotkey for example is capable of blocking keys, or changing what they do).
3. you have a dead left control key, try using the right side? (I know that's my problem, I also have a dead tilde, f1, apostrophe, and up arrow, which I use autohotkey to compensate for)
ImageImage
Thanks to digdug for the banners.

Lmoy
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Canada!

Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:44 pm

Ttech wrote:Do you by chance do some tech stuff? Because I've only ever seen people who use Dvorak who happen to also be tech enthusiasts. :)
No, I just switched over to Dvorak because I like it more :D
It's just easier to type with.

User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2749
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

Fri Jul 08, 2011 12:30 am

That is a first, I've never seen someone in general take the step but awesome for you to do it. :)
Image
Image

*** AWAY ON SABBATICAL ***
** USE EMAIL TO CONTACT ME **

erik dela cruz
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 610
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 7:45 pm
Location: Patrolling Scarborough Shoal and the Spratlys Islands (West Philippine Sea)

Sat Jul 09, 2011 6:52 pm

Bobby wrote:It won't work ctrl+c? my guess is:

1. you have another key, perhaps alt, windows, or shift, which windows thinks is down, press them all and see if it fixes it.
2. you have some piece of software that is preventing that combination from working (autohotkey for example is capable of blocking keys, or changing what they do).
3. you have a dead left control key, try using the right side? (I know that's my problem, I also have a dead tilde, f1, apostrophe, and up arrow, which I use autohotkey to compensate for)
Thanks Bobby, I'll surely try them all. :D
.....cry without weeping......
.....talk without speaking......
.....scream without raising your voice......

erik dela cruz
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 610
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 7:45 pm
Location: Patrolling Scarborough Shoal and the Spratlys Islands (West Philippine Sea)

Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:05 pm

Bobby wrote:It won't work ctrl+c? my guess is:

1. you have another key, perhaps alt, windows, or shift, which windows thinks is down, press them all and see if it fixes it.
2. you have some piece of software that is preventing that combination from working (autohotkey for example is capable of blocking keys, or changing what they do).
3. you have a dead left control key, try using the right side? (I know that's my problem, I also have a dead tilde, f1, apostrophe, and up arrow, which I use autohotkey to compensate for)
Thank you very much Bobby. The right control key worked fine! Whew.
Maybe because I always use the right wing of the keyboard, the cursor keys a lot so I overlooked using it most times. Many thanks. :D
.....cry without weeping......
.....talk without speaking......
.....scream without raising your voice......

bluesaberist
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:13 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:02 am

Lmoy wrote:
Ttech wrote:Do you by chance do some tech stuff? Because I've only ever seen people who use Dvorak who happen to also be tech enthusiasts. :)
No, I just switched over to Dvorak because I like it more :D
It's just easier to type with.

At the same time, people who are moderately informed, and even many considered to be computer "geniuses" or geeks don't consider themselves that way because they also know about the real geniuses and geeks who completely outclass them. Thus they a quick to assure you that they are no techy, geek, or genius, when in fact, they are easily more so than 80% of computer users.

I also fit into this group. I have a friend who pretty much considers me a geek, and several people in the community turn to me for PC help. But I know that my dad and uncle so severely outclass me that it is difficult to consider myself anything more than a so-called power-user.
If you drop a bar of soap on the ground, is it dirty?
If a person is legally blind, and can suddenly see, is he breaking the law?
If a friend says he's going outside to get some air, what was he breathing before?
-Brad Stein

Aquilai
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:41 am

Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:55 pm

Sorry about necroing a thread practically 6 years gone but I stumbled onto the same issue.
For future reference, anyone who wants to use the dvorak keymap should be able to replace the KeyMap layout='custom' section with the below code inside the Settings.xml file.

Code: Select all

	<KeyMap layout='custom'>
		<Map key="LButton" command="FireWeapon"/>
		<Map key="RButton" command="ThrustForward"/>
		<Map key="Tab" command="NextMissile"/>
		<Map key="Return" command="FireMissile"/>
		<Map key="Shift" command="FireMissile"/>
		<Map key="Control" command="FireWeapon"/>
		<Map key="Pause" command="Pause"/>
		<Map key="Space" command="FireWeapon"/>
		<Map key="Left" command="RotateLeft"/>
		<Map key="Up" command="ThrustForward"/>
		<Map key="Right" command="RotateRight"/>
		<Map key="Down" command="ThrustForward"/>
		<Map key="A" command="Autopilot"/>
		<Map key="B" command="ShowGalacticMap"/>
		<Map key="C" command="InvokePower"/>
		<Map key="E" command="Dock"/>
		<Map key="G" command="UseItem"/>
		<Map key="I" command="EnterGate"/>
		<Map key="J" command="Communications"/>
		<Map key="K" command="ThrustForward"/>
		<Map key="L" command="Pause"/>
		<Map key="M" command="ShowMap"/>
		<Map key="O" command="ShipStatus"/>
		<Map key="P" command="ClearTarget"/>
		<Map key="U" command="TargetNextFriendly"/>
		<Map key="V" command="Stop"/>
		<Map key="X" command="EnableDevices"/>
		<Map key="Y" command="TargetNextEnemy"/>
		<Map key="F1" command="ShowHelp"/>
		<Map key="F2" command="ShowGameStats"/>
		<Map key="F7" command="VolumeDown"/>
		<Map key="F8" command="VolumeUp"/>
		<Map key="F9" command="ShowConsole"/>
		<Map key="Comma" command="NextWeapon"/>
		<Map key="Quote" command="CommandSquadron"/>
	</KeyMap>

Post Reply