"Unable to load system" Error Message

Bug reports for the stable versions go here.
HelpMe111
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:17 pm

Thu Mar 24, 2011 12:39 am

I started playing this game a few days ago and I am loving it!
Imagine my frustration when all of a sudden it flipped out as I was gating, crashed, and apparently corrupted a very good game I was having. I have no mods and this is on v1.01.
I think all I need to attach is the debug, if there is a need for anything else, let me know.

Thank you in advance,

Save me, please...

03/20/2011 15:39:19 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
03/20/2011 15:39:19 Start logging session
03/20/2011 15:39:19 Transcendence 1.01
03/20/2011 17:15:13 End logging session
03/20/2011 18:09:18 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
03/20/2011 18:09:18 Start logging session
03/20/2011 18:09:18 Transcendence 1.01
03/20/2011 20:28:47 End logging session
03/20/2011 20:29:03 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
03/20/2011 20:29:03 Start logging session
03/20/2011 20:29:03 Transcendence 1.01
03/20/2011 20:29:20 End logging session
03/21/2011 07:23:30 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
03/21/2011 07:23:30 Start logging session
03/21/2011 07:23:30 Transcendence 1.01
03/23/2011 06:31:49 Unable to continue due to program error

program state: in LoadImages
game state: leaving stargate

Please contact [email protected] with a copy of Debug.log. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

03/23/2011 06:32:04 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
03/23/2011 06:32:04 Start logging session
03/23/2011 06:32:04 Transcendence 1.01
03/23/2011 06:32:09 Save file error: Unable to find POV object: 23f
03/23/2011 06:32:09 Save file error: Unable to find player ship
03/23/2011 06:32:09 Unable to load system: b
03/23/2011 06:32:09 Unable to load system
03/23/2011 06:32:14 Save file error: Unable to find POV object: 23f
03/23/2011 06:32:14 Save file error: Unable to find player ship
03/23/2011 06:32:14 Unable to load system: b
03/23/2011 06:32:14 Unable to load system
03/23/2011 06:32:29 End logging session

HelpMe111
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:17 pm

Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:23 am

Ok, I'm getting scared now because it just almost happened again. I started another game and it crashed again while gating, only this time the save wasn't corrupted. I attached the printscreens from the crash. The part relevant for this crash is in bold, on 3/24.

03/23/2011 06:35:27 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
03/23/2011 06:35:27 Start logging session
03/23/2011 06:35:27 Transcendence 1.01
03/23/2011 06:35:31 Save file error: Unable to find POV object: 23f
03/23/2011 06:35:31 Save file error: Unable to find player ship
03/23/2011 06:35:31 Unable to load system: b
03/23/2011 06:35:31 Unable to load system
03/23/2011 06:35:38 Save file error: Unable to find POV object: 23f
03/23/2011 06:35:38 Save file error: Unable to find player ship
03/23/2011 06:35:38 Unable to load system: b
03/23/2011 06:35:38 Unable to load system
03/23/2011 06:35:40 End logging session
03/23/2011 07:08:37 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
03/23/2011 07:08:37 Start logging session
03/23/2011 07:08:37 Transcendence 1.01
03/23/2011 17:25:48 Save file error: Unable to find POV object: 23f
03/23/2011 17:25:48 Save file error: Unable to find player ship
03/23/2011 17:25:48 Unable to load system: b
03/23/2011 17:25:48 Unable to load system
03/24/2011 03:10:19 Unable to find system ID: 34a68
03/24/2011 03:10:19 Error loading system: Dorado (34a68)
03/24/2011 03:12:22 Unable to continue due to program error

program state: enter stargate, loading destination systemgame state: entering stargate

Please contact [email protected] with a copy of Debug.log. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

03/24/2011 03:13:44 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
03/24/2011 03:13:44 Start logging session
03/24/2011 03:13:44 Transcendence 1.01
Attachments
crash2.png
crash2.png (51.5 KiB) Viewed 2466 times
crash1.png
crash1.png (54.06 KiB) Viewed 2466 times

User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:13 am

This is very strange. It also seems like you are not the only one expeciencing
such errors (although i have not seen it until the last couple of days).

If you have a savegame that is corrupt, could you please open a ticket on the
tracker, or upload it in this thread and I will create one.

Just to be sure. You are playing 1.05 with no mods?

If you are using mods, could you try and see if you also get crashes
without mods?

Also, you could try and unpack a fresh version of Transcendence. Perhaps your
tdb has become corrupted somehow? Move your old corrupt save to the new folder
and try and see if it behaves the same.

HelpMe111
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:17 pm

Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:26 am

If this were 1.05, I would understand, but this is 1.01, no mods. I went to the tracker, but it is terribly uninviting and complicated. I tried to upload the save but it is too big, is there any other way I can get it to you? About the new installation, that was the first thing I tried, to no avail.

User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:46 am

Do you have a dropbox account? If not, i could recommend you make one. And if you do make one, you might as well use a referral link and gain 250MB extra (for both of us). http://db.tt/wrSUGHE

I just went over the trac listings for 1.01 and 1.02, and I did not see this bug reported there. Very strange!

HelpMe111
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:17 pm

Thu Mar 24, 2011 12:59 pm


User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Thu Mar 24, 2011 5:47 pm

(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:31 am

HelpMe111 wrote:here is the save file link

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/24268231/Yaron.sav
Thank you for the report. I am looking at the problem to see how to prevent it from happening again.

Unfortunately, the bad news is that I can't recover your save file. The bug caused corruption in the save file which destroyed information. I'm sorry about that. But I hope that your info will prevent this from happening again.

Thanks again for reporting it.

HelpMe111
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:17 pm

Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:55 am

Can you at least tell me what to try and avoid so this doesn't happen to another save?

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:12 am

It looks like it is having problems loading images and systems. Are you playing off a usb stick? The game might be having disk problems (which it is not very good at recovering from).

HelpMe111
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:17 pm

Sat Mar 26, 2011 1:50 am

No usb, just using my laptop. It's a new Alienware, very strong, but I do have a nasty habit of having a whole bunch (15-25) of firefox tabs open at the same time, some with movies buffering. This may, at this point sound a bit understated, but could that be the problem? The constant changes to RAM while the game is also trying to get it's share of uninterrupted access? If that is the case I guess it's not so much your bug as it is me simply bringing this on myself. By the way, I have realized since the save is a tiny file, it really would just be better to back it up to avoid losing everything in case this happens to me again.

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:24 am

Yeesh, nasty lookin' error there...I never have seen that kind of issue before...ordinarily, internet tabs wouldn't cause issues with the RAM, because most web pages only refresh on intervals, or just sit in your cache so you can view it. However, if you are buffering video, that is an extremely taxing process for the computer, and taking into account you are running a laptop (even an Alienware), it would seem possible that you would have issues...but usually those would only be lag issues as the CPU struggles to cope with organizing the RAM...a tiny indie game like Transcendence isn't the prime candidate for crashes like this...

Sorry to hear you had your save game file corrupted though, that's always a shame. :(

As a test, have you tried closing Firefox and then running Transcendence?

BTW, Firefox 4 is now available, so you might also want to check that out if you use Firefox alot (I haven't upgraded mine yet though)

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:28 am

Its not the internet browser, trust me. I have had over 300 tabs open, complete with plenty of youtube tabs, maxing out at 3.5GB of ram usage by firefox & flash combined. And Transcendence worked perfectly fine. Usually its lower, at 2.0GB, and as of last month, I've been working on keeping it below 1.5, mostly be culling the plugin container that has the flash process whenever it gets too high.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:11 am

Wolfy wrote:Its not the internet browser, trust me. I have had over 300 tabs open, complete with plenty of youtube tabs, maxing out at 3.5GB of ram usage by firefox & flash combined. And Transcendence worked perfectly fine. Usually its lower, at 2.0GB, and as of last month, I've been working on keeping it below 1.5, mostly be culling the plugin container that has the flash process whenever it gets too high.
Um. Off-topic, can I just ask why you would have 300 tabs open? Seriously. 300? I have had about 15 tabs open for researching stuff, but 300 youtube and flash tabs open? :?

The other thing I just noticed in the pictures posted above is that one of them is actually generated by Visual C++, which would suggest the runtime error is some kind of glitch in the Visual C++ Redistributable...? Very weird though.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:15 pm

wikis were made for tabbed browsing... or maybe its the other way around. And I can't stand using bookmarks and all that other stuff
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

Post Reply