Odd error

Bug reports for the stable versions go here.
Post Reply
User avatar
RPC
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Hmm... I'm confused. Anybody have a starmap to the Core?

Mon Oct 21, 2013 4:58 am

A new person on IRC (patel_) came today and tried to update (using 1.1 and 1.08l ) and got this error:
"The procedure entry point DecodePointer could not be located in the dynamic link library KERNEL32.dll"
The PC is XP Pro, Pentium 4 2.00GHz 512 MB RAM.
Tutorial List on the Wiki and Installing Mods
Get on Discord for mod help and general chat
Image
Image
Der Tod ist der zeitlose Frieden und das leben ist der Krieg
Wir müssen wissen — wir werden wissen!
I don't want any sort of copyright on my Transcendence mods. Feel free to take/modify whatever you want.

User avatar
RPC
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Hmm... I'm confused. Anybody have a starmap to the Core?

Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:22 am

Quick google search reveals this:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... fcfd884991

So we need SP3?
Tutorial List on the Wiki and Installing Mods
Get on Discord for mod help and general chat
Image
Image
Der Tod ist der zeitlose Frieden und das leben ist der Krieg
Wir müssen wissen — wir werden wissen!
I don't want any sort of copyright on my Transcendence mods. Feel free to take/modify whatever you want.

User avatar
Shrike
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2705
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:27 am
Location: Scouting the borders of sanity (there's a lovely view of the abyss).

Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:34 am

That's literally the second person I've seen in the last 3 years still using a P4 processor (without ridiculous overclocking, that is). I'm amazed they're still running (guess Intel did a good job on quality control back in the day).......The previous one was trying to run....I have no idea what OS in the Windows family it was, but it was about as far away from what could run on that system as it was possible to get at the time (probably Win7, but I'm not sure that's even physically possible).

But yeah, looks like a simple compatibility issue, although some more info about the OS (what SP it's using, specifically) would be handy.
Your friendly local genderqueer weapons designer & forum moderator. My pronoun is "They".

Post Reply