Version 1.2 crashes on start

Bug reports for the stable versions go here.
Post Reply
wilk
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:27 am
Contact:

Sun Apr 27, 2014 2:39 pm

Version 1.2 of the game crashes on execution (v1.1 works fine). The exception code is 0xc000001d (invalid instruction), crash address at 0x06813c0. I've disassembled this location and there is unsupported MOVSD opcode. It looks like the Windows binary was compiled with SSE2 optimizations enabled. I see no point in doing so as WinXP SP3 is still supported (at least download page says so). CPU is Athlon XP which does not support SSE2 instructions. Is there a chance for a working game?

wilk
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:27 am
Contact:

Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:35 pm

Please reactivate this bug report as version 1.3.400.0 crashes in the same way at address 0x00298ae0.

TVR
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:26 am

Mon Aug 18, 2014 9:41 pm

You may have discovered the cause of Transcendence versions above 1.2 crashing on Windows XP, as in this topic http://forums.kronosaur.com/viewtopic.p ... 72ac2285d1

Unfortunately, we do not have a bug tracker at the moment, so it is impossible to (re)open a ticket. Since we have 4 subforums for bug reports, it is very unlikely that this post will be seen at all by George.
Fiction is reality, simplified for mass consumption.
PGP: 0x940707ED, 5DB8 4CB4 1EF5 E987 18A0 CD99 3554 3C13 9407 07ED
Bitcoin: 1LLDr7pnZDjXVT5mMDrkqRKkAPByPCQiXQ

User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1028
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

Mon Aug 18, 2014 11:04 pm

 Try sending him a PM with a link to this thread. That should (hopefully) get his attention.
Image

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)

User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2614
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

Wed Aug 20, 2014 3:27 pm

This seems pretty important bug and it leaves me a bit puzzled as I thought that nearly nobody was running 11+ years old CPUs (AMD implemented SSE2 in CPUs in 2003). (my poor old Athlon XP 1800+ went to pension long time ago)

However it seems that at least 2 people incurred in this problem and posted about it here.
I can increase visibility of the post for George by adding [George] or [Important] to the thread title, even maybe stick it to have it always on top until acknowledged/fixed.

Can anybody have a look at the source code and say if SSE2 instructions are really necessary or not ?
Source is located here: https://github.com/kronosaur/Transcendence

wilk
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:27 am
Contact:

Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:30 pm

Unfortunately since WinXP has been trashed some projects also started to be released as binaries compiled with SSE2 enabled. Because this is a game using SSE2+ is somewhat justified, so if this change was made on purpose than I'll have to live with it...

Post Reply