(RC3) Korolov freighter will keep moving in circles

These are old bug reports that have been closed.
VST
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 3:43 pm

Hey there!
Got a weird bug to report, the Korolov freighter I was escorting decided to forget going towards its destination and move in circles endlessly, in the middle of nowhere, until it gets destroyed by a random pirate or it runs out of fuel.
Don't know what the problem might be, I've run some 15 escort missions and they all went fine, and neither the destination nor the Korolov station have been destroyed
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

The freighters never run out of fuel.

However, this is most likely a bug with the enemy-station-avoidance programming, where it can't find a safe path to the desitnation.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
VST
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 3:43 pm

Wow, that was fast...

"The freighters never run out of fuel."
Sorry, I wanted to write that *my* ship ran out of fuel...

"However, this is most likely a bug with the enemy-station-avoidance programming, where it can't find a safe path to the desitnation."
I'll try blasting every enemy nearby and see what happens.
VST
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 3:43 pm

No joy, it's still circlin' around.
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Yes, your ship can run out of fuel, but AI ships do not. They don't even need reactors or fuel *Some do only for realism and allowing the player to get fuel, one does it due to mission scripting*

Killing the stations doesn't always seem to help: it still detects the dead stations as unfriendlies. I think...
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
Bobby
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:39 pm

Is it going in tiny circles constantly spinning? If so it's probably "in orbit" around it's waypoint due to thrust/maneuverability matching up just so. Try giving it a nudge with a momentum doing weapon or tractor (or the debug console).

Code: Select all

(objIncVel (objGetTarget gPlayerShip) (sysVectorPolarOffset Nil 0 50))
makes the player's target move right

speaking of bugs, I have seen ships I spawned to attack me constantly turn back and forth and drift away endlessly. They want to turn around but seem to repeatedly give up and try the other way.
VST
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 3:43 pm

Bobby wrote:Is it going in tiny circles constantly spinning? If so it's probably "in orbit" around it's waypoint due to thrust/maneuverability matching up just so. Try giving it a nudge with a momentum doing weapon or tractor (or the debug console).

Code: Select all

(objIncVel (objGetTarget gPlayerShip) (sysVectorPolarOffset Nil 0 50))
makes the player's target move right

speaking of bugs, I have seen ships I spawned to attack me constantly turn back and forth and drift away endlessly. They want to turn around but seem to repeatedly give up and try the other way.
Well, the circles it makes aren't exactly small, but I guess that is because it's a pretty damn big ship.
How do I input that code?
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

you need to run transcendence in debug mode (I forget how) and hit 'F9' to open the console.
Last edited by Aury on Wed Dec 23, 2009 7:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

Transcendence.exe /debug

Hit F9 in game to open console
VST
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 3:43 pm

That code didn't work...


(EDIT: yay! 7777th post!! 8) )
Bobby
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:39 pm

were you targeting the freighter?

if you don't have a targeting program rom installed try:

Code: Select all

(enum (sysFindObject gPlayerShip "sFN:25") ship
(objIncVel ship (sysVectorPolarOffset Nil 0 200))
)
makes every friendly ship within 25 light seconds of the player move right very fast, you may need to use it repeatedly.
VST
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 3:43 pm

That last one did the trick! Thanks man
schilcote
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:22 pm

VST wrote: (EDIT: yay! 7777th post!! 8) )
Why do strange coincidences like this happen so often on these forums?
[schilcote] It doesn't have to be good, it just has to not be "wow is that the only thing you could think of" bad
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Not a coincidence: post 7777 has got to have occured some time... XD
(like a stopped clock being right twice a day...)
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
schilcote
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:22 pm

Wolfy wrote:Not a coincidence: post 7777 has got to have occured some time... XD
(like a stopped clock being right twice a day...)
Wow, you are (ehmm...) [strikethrough]dense[/strikethrough] unobservant. Look at the post I made just before making that one.
[schilcote] It doesn't have to be good, it just has to not be "wow is that the only thing you could think of" bad
Locked