Armor coating enhancements don't take effect when applied.

These are old bug reports that have been closed.
Locked
Yama
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:32 am
Location: in the apprenticeship program at a Tinker station....

Mon Mar 07, 2011 3:03 pm

As the subject line says, I've recently discovered that armor coating enhancements don't take effect when applied. Check out this screen cap.

Image

This cap was taken just after applying a barrel of armor coating to each of my ship's four armor segments in a plain vanilla install of Trans 1.04 (to keep it simple, the only extension I had installed for this test was the official patch). Note that the enhancements show on the ship interior display, but not on the HUD where it counts.

I've found that in order to get an armor coating enhancement to actually take effect, you have to apply the coating to an armor segment, replace that segment, and then reinstall the segment. Once the segment is reinstalled, THEN the effect of the enhancement shows in the HUD and then you get the benefit.

The next screen cap was taken after removing and reinstalling the fore and starboard segments:

Image

Note that the enhancements now show in the HUD on the fore and starboard segments, but not on the aft and port segments.

This last screen cap was taken after removing and reinstalling the aft and port segments:

Image

Note that the HUD now shows the enhancements on all four segments.

As long as the player is aware of this bug and remembers to swap armor segments after applying coatings in order to activate the enhancements, it's just a minor hassle and expense (though the expense becomes greater when you get higher level armors which are a lot more expensive to swap). But if like me you've been playing blissfully unaware of the problem, you've probably died (at least) several times that you otherwise would not have. :(

Pardon me if this issue has already been reported. I didn't find anything about it when I searched the Forums and BugTrac, but inexperience may have prevented me from using the correct search terms.

Yama
Attachments
debug save and settings.rar
(28.05 KiB) Downloaded 85 times
"A good ship should not look like a plumber's nightmare."
- Atarlost

User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

Mon Mar 07, 2011 3:21 pm

Nice report. There has been reports of some similar problems with enhancements and armor segments, and they are most likely linked. This particular behaviour has not been reported before though. (See #590 and #571 on trac).

Have you tried exiting to the main menu after enhancing and then see if the screens have updated after you enter again?

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Mon Mar 07, 2011 3:34 pm

This has been fixed in 1.05 I believe.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

Yama
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:32 am
Location: in the apprenticeship program at a Tinker station....

Mon Mar 07, 2011 5:44 pm

alterecco wrote: Have you tried exiting to the main menu after enhancing and then see if the screens have updated after you enter again?
Thanks for the suggestion. :) I started another game just now and tried that.

Unfortunately, the HUD still didn't reflect the enhancements when I continued the game. Too bad, 'cause that would have been a much easier work-around than removing & replacing segments.

Good thought though...
Wolfy wrote:This has been fixed in 1.05 I believe.
Thanks Wolfy, that's great to news. When will we be able to tryout the new Beta? :D
"A good ship should not look like a plumber's nightmare."
- Atarlost

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:12 pm

It should be soon (probably within the week) so long as no new major bugs are found and no real-life things pop up for George.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
Star Weaver
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: . . . between the stars and the warm black sky . . .

Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:24 am

Close
Image
Image
Image

Locked