virtual Ship class shows up in main menu

These are old bug reports that have been closed.
Locked
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Thu Oct 17, 2013 12:16 am

quite simply I was getting one of my modded virtual ships (used as a controller for some modded shields) showing up in the main menu
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:04 am

Wolfy wrote:quite simply I was getting one of my modded virtual ships (used as a controller for some modded shields) showing up in the main menu
Looking at the code, the intro skips any ships with virtual="true". Not sure how it could happen.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:42 am

I figured it out - they were shield event controllers getting spawned. They have code to delete themselves if the parent ship dies, but theres a small window of time that that they can be selected
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:42 am

Is there a way to simply prevent the intro screen from selecting them?
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:30 pm

Wolfy wrote:Is there a way to simply prevent the intro screen from selecting them?
Can you suspend the ship?

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:33 pm

How would that work? It just needs to be able to run timer events.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:10 pm

Wolfy wrote:How would that work? It just needs to be able to run timer events.
Try calls objSuspend when you create the object. I believe the timers will still work (but try it and see). The intro screen ignores suspended objects.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:39 pm

Yes, the timers still seem to work - thanks!
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

Locked