[Mod]Hell's Trinity

Post about your finished mods here.
User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Tue Nov 02, 2010 5:04 am

For more information on Hell's Trinity and up-to-date news, go to the last page on the thread.



Ok guys, I need some help.....
I'm working on a new mod called Hell's Trinity -- right now, it's one XML file that is broken though -- and the basic principle is this:

Hell's Trinity is set in three adjacent systems, a closed adventure you can say.
Basically, it's focused around an initial system much like Eridani called "Lincoln", and the following two systems of "Bismuth" and "Orion". All the systems have been occupied and oppressed by the Ares Orthodoxy. As the player, you join a rebel movement and assist in taking down the Ares, eventually fighting one big boss and winning the adventure. Along the way, in Transcendence style, you will upgrade weapons and shields, get new companions etc.

Big project. Considering the most I've done is a very simple God Mod. But I'm persistant and I want to do it.

All I need is a little help for System Topology -- everything else I can get from the raw XMLs and modify to my liking.

At the moment, I'm trying to create a simple system with one sun and nothing else. I think I can do that, but I can't work out how to get the player ship to appear in that system on game start.

Can anyone help me fix this?

(BTW : Once I've got a single system up and running, I'll put it on Xelerus as it gets more versions)

Thanks alot to anyone who can help me......
I'm on version 1.03.
Last edited by ThePrivateer on Sun Jan 09, 2011 4:06 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Prophet
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 826
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:09 pm

Tue Nov 02, 2010 12:33 pm

Here ya go

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<!DOCTYPE TranscendenceExtension
	[
	<!ENTITY unidExtension						"0xD512ABCD">
	<!ENTITY ssSuperSimple						"0xD512ABCE">
]>
<TranscendenceExtension UNID="&unidExtension;" version="1.0">
    <SystemType UNID="&ssSuperSimple;">
        <SystemGroup>
            <Station type="&stG-TypeStar;" name="Super Simple System"/>
                <Orbitals angle="random" distance="10">
                    <Marker objName="Start"/>
                </Orbitals>
        </SystemGroup>
    </SystemType>
</TranscendenceExtension>
That is a valid mod that will produce a single system with one star and the player will start 10 ls away from it.
Coming soon: The Syrtian War adventure mod!
A Turret defense genre mod exploring the worst era in Earth's history.
Can you defend the Earth from the Syrtian invaders?
Stay tuned for updates!

User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:07 pm

Do you want it to be a independent mod, like for example BattleZone, or some adventure that the player can freely play inside vanilla?

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:28 am

Prophet wrote:Here ya go

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<!DOCTYPE TranscendenceExtension
	[
	<!ENTITY unidExtension						"0xD512ABCD">
	<!ENTITY ssSuperSimple						"0xD512ABCE">
]>
<TranscendenceExtension UNID="&unidExtension;" version="1.0">
    <SystemType UNID="&ssSuperSimple;">
        <SystemGroup>
            <Station type="&stG-TypeStar;" name="Super Simple System"/>
                <Orbitals angle="random" distance="10">
                    <Marker objName="Start"/>
                </Orbitals>
        </SystemGroup>
    </SystemType>
</TranscendenceExtension>
That is a valid mod that will produce a single system with one star and the player will start 10 ls away from it.
Prohpet, I tried that mod, (got rid of all my stuff first) and the player ship started in Eridani!! :( I'm running 1.03 -- are you?

I think it has to do with the Node ID -- the player ship settings tell it to start in Starton Eridani..... Can you give me code to fix that?

@altereccco : I think it will be independent yes.

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:32 am

digdug made me take the mod off Xelerus, so here is the code:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" ?>

<!DOCTYPE TranscendenceExtension
[
<!ENTITY ssLincoln		"0xDAFC0302">
]>

<TranscendenceExtension UNID="0xDAFC0300" version="0.99c">
	<SystemType UNID="&ssLincoln;">
		<SystemGroup>

			<!-- Gamma Lincoln - a red giant star -->

			<Station type="&stRedGiantStar;" name="Gamma Lincoln"/>
			<Orbitals count="1" distance="30" scale="light-second" angle="random">
				<Marker objName="StartLincoln"/>
			</Orbitals> 

			
		</SystemGroup>
	</SystemType>
	
	<SystemTopology>
      <Node ID="Lincoln">
           <System name="Lincoln" level="1" rootNode="true">
               <System UNID="&ssLincoln;"/>
            </System>
          
       </Node>
	</SystemTopology>
		
	
	<ShipClass UNID="&scSapphirePlayer;"
			manufacturer=		"Zubrin Systems"
			class=				"Sapphire"
			type=				"yacht"
			score=				"95"

			mass=				"30"
			reactorPower=		"150"
			fuelCapacity=		"37500"
			cargoSpace=			"50"
			thrust=				"150"
			rotationCount=		"40"
			maneuver=			"2"
			maxSpeed=			"20"

			maxArmor=			"6000"
			maxCargoSpace=		"150"
			maxDevices=			"8"

			leavesWreck=		"30"
			
			attributes=			""
			>

		<Armor>
			<ArmorSection start="315" span="90" armorID="&itReactiveArmor;" areaSet="0,2" />
			<ArmorSection start="225" span="90" armorID="&itReactiveArmor;" areaSet="3,4" />
			<ArmorSection start="45"  span="90" armorID="&itReactiveArmor;" areaSet="7,13" />
			<ArmorSection start="135" span="90" armorID="&itReactiveArmor;" areaSet="1,6" />
		</Armor>

		<Devices>
			<Device deviceID="&itRecoillessCannon;"/>
			<Device deviceID="&itClass1Deflector;"/>
		</Devices>

		<Items>
			<Item count="4d6" item="&itHelium3FuelRod;"/>
		</Items>

		<AISettings
			fireRateAdj=		"30"
			fireAccuracy=		"90"
			perception=			"4"
			/>

		<Image imageID="&rsSapphireYacht;" imageX="0" imageY="0" imageWidth="48" imageHeight="48"/>

		<DriveImages>
			<NozzleImage imageID="&rsDriveExhaust2;" imageX="0" imageY="0" imageWidth="48" imageHeight="48"/>
			<NozzlePos x="-28" y="-4"/>
			<NozzlePos x="-28" y="5"/>
		</DriveImages>

		<PlayerSettings
			desc=				"The versatile Sapphire yacht strikes a good balance between a gunship and a freighter."
			largeImage=			"&rsZubrinLarge;"
			initialClass=		"true"
			startingCredits=	"10d100+1000"

			startingSystem=		"Lincoln"
			startingPos=		"StartLincoln"
			>

			<ArmorDisplay>
				<ArmorSection name="forward"
						imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
						imageX="0" imageY="0" imageWidth="52" imageHeight="29"
						destX="42" destY="15" hpX="55" hpY="14"
						nameY="8" nameBreakWidth="200" nameDestX="0" nameDestY="10" />

				<ArmorSection name="starboard"
						imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
						imageX="52" imageY="0" imageWidth="22" imageHeight="59"
						destX="92" destY="45" hpX="95" hpY="60"
						nameY="30" nameBreakWidth="360" nameDestX="12" nameDestY="0" />

				<ArmorSection name="port"
						imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
						imageX="142" imageY="0" imageWidth="22" imageHeight="59"
						destX="22" destY="45" hpX="15" hpY="60"
						nameY="52" nameBreakWidth="200" nameDestX="0" nameDestY="8" />

				<ArmorSection name="aft"
						imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
						imageX="74" imageY="0" imageWidth="68" imageHeight="14"
						destX="34" destY="103" hpX="55" hpY="105"
						nameY="74" nameBreakWidth="360" nameDestX="12" nameDestY="0" />
			</ArmorDisplay>

			<ShieldDisplay>
				<Image imageID="&rsZubrinShields;" imageX="0" imageY="0" imageWidth="136" imageHeight="136"/>
			</ShieldDisplay>

			<ReactorDisplay>
				<Image imageID="&rsZubrinReactor;" 
						imageX="0" imageY="0" imageWidth="256" imageHeight="60"/>

				<PowerLevelImage imageID="&rsZubrinReactor;"
						imageX="0" imageY="60" imageWidth="202" imageHeight="14"
						destX="54" destY="9"/>

				<FuelLevelImage imageID="&rsZubrinReactor;"
						imageX="0" imageY="74" imageWidth="194" imageHeight="14"
						destX="54" destY="37"/>

				<FuelLowLevelImage imageID="&rsZubrinReactor;"
						imageX="0" imageY="88" imageWidth="194" imageHeight="14"/>

				<ReactorText x="62" y="22" width="154" height="14"/>
				<PowerLevelText x="62" y="0" width="154" height="9"/>
				<FuelLevelText x="62" y="51" width="154" height="9"/>
			</ReactorDisplay>

		</PlayerSettings>

	</ShipClass>
</TranscendenceExtension>

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5383
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:41 am

I presume because the mod was broken? (just random guess - havn't really looked into what this thread is about)
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | x5 8350, 4GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 2x 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 1800X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:54 am

Wolfy wrote:I presume because the mod was broken? (just random guess - havn't really looked into what this thread is about)
Yes digdug got annoyed.
As soon as it is even remotely playable though (one system with a few ares stations), I'm putting it back up.

Prophet, I even tried that code snippet on 1.01 and it didn't work..did you forget to tell me about changing the NodeID?

User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

Wed Nov 03, 2010 2:16 am

If you want to make the mod independent you should use TranscendenceAdventure as your top level element... have a look at how the other adventure mods on xelerus set it up for some inspiration

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5383
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Wed Nov 03, 2010 2:48 am

ThePrivateer wrote:
Wolfy wrote:I presume because the mod was broken? (just random guess - havn't really looked into what this thread is about)
Yes digdug got annoyed.
As soon as it is even remotely playable though (one system with a few ares stations), I'm putting it back up.

Prophet, I even tried that code snippet on 1.01 and it didn't work..did you forget to tell me about changing the NodeID?
There are minimum required standards for mods put on xelerus, ever since it was determined to be overloaded with bad and broken mods. I actually made the first draft of that list... so I can sympathise with D1gdug. Not working mods can be put (the xml anyways) on pastebin and get help on IRC.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | x5 8350, 4GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 2x 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 1800X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:40 am

alterecco wrote:If you want to make the mod independent you should use TranscendenceAdventure as your top level element... have a look at how the other adventure mods on xelerus set it up for some inspiration
OHHHH YEAH! SWEET SUCCESS!!!

:) :D :) :D :) :D

Thanks alterecco!!! Use an Adventure extension instead and we are officially in business!

Sit tight everyone, and watch this page! ;)

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:15 am

OK initial Alpha of Hell's Trinity up and running:

http://xelerus.de/index.php?s=mod&id=806

admins can't complain, it comes with new graphics, a system with one enemy, new station, new intro speech, new ship and new dockscreen.

I know it doesn't look like much, but I can work quickly. I'll let you know when Lincoln system is fully fleshed out ;)

All advice/tips/tricks here please!

Edit:
An emergency Addition 1 has been added ,but as no one had downloaded in the twenty mins it was up, no harm done. Ad1 adds more Ares, more friendlies, changes the weapon to be omni and more!

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5383
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:55 am

Only real big issue is if it works on not; mods that don't load are the ones that get deleted. :wink:
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | x5 8350, 4GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 2x 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 1800X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops

User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2614
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

Wed Nov 03, 2010 7:33 pm

Yes digdug got annoyed.
nah, I'm not annoyed, i was just enforcing the rules that we wrote for Xelerus:
http://wiki.neurohack.com/transcendence ... _standards

:D

BTW, I just added the "Development" tag to the mod, so that the mod is sorted as a work in progress.

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:11 am

Wow, I just got over 15 downloads in a single day!
Now I need some advice.....
[BTW this refers to Alpha+2, the most recent addition]

I have created maybe half of Lincoln system now, and a single star in Bismuth (second system).
Before I surge ahead with the second system, I want to perfect the first and in doing so, I want a basic mission structure, similar to the mining missions.

I want to create a basic "rescue a captured ship" mission. should I just copy most of the Commonwealth Mining code for missions? Or is there a thread about that somewhere here?

Thanks all!
(And keep downloading the new editions!)

User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

Fri Nov 05, 2010 12:27 pm

Creating missions is pretty much a custom job, but no doubt you can learn a lot from studying the other mission providers in the game. Look at Korolov as well as the military missions later in game. I don't think there has been a thread specifically on how to make missions, so you will probably have to surge ahead yourself.

Post Reply