Network

Post about your finished mods here.
Post Reply
relanat
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:56 am

Thu Jun 22, 2017 3:56 pm

An updated version of The Network. Originally by DrakoSlyith and previously updated by pixelfck as "The Network Repaired".

Updated in Version 1.8a1.
This is a separate adventure based on SOTP and you will see all the original systems in this game and many more as well.
Lots of fighting in some systems, sabotaged stargates and prison breaks are a few teasers.

Will work in 1.7 but 1.8a1 is better.
Not tested for compatibility with any other mod.

http://xelerus.de/index.php?s=mod&id=1589&d=1
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!

User avatar
DigaRW
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:10 pm
Location: Deep dark space/Indonesia

Sat Jun 24, 2017 10:57 am

One thing that I don't want to play this mods, Semesta IGC can't work with this mods. This caused by Semesta topology as Nusantara system and others location is fixed.
Download Transcendence mods from Reinvented Workbench Project!
Semesta I.G.C v1.37
Great corporate that feature a new items and challenges!
YourCORP v1.16
Build your very own corporation!
Trade Item Extension v1.15
New misc items, foods and resources!
StrongBox v1.4
Open it up to get a random equipments!
Flare Weapons v1.6
New weapons that have very unique abilities!
Click this link!

User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2615
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:31 am

nice. can you tell us what did you fix ? :D

User avatar
DigaRW
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:10 pm
Location: Deep dark space/Indonesia

Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:18 pm

Not really fixed. They exist, but not spawn in galactic map topology as Elysium. I need find the way to connect Nusantara to StKatharine.

Semesta IGC uses Human Space map (SOTP) that make Network mods can't be played. It also uses fixed location, which not compatible with Network mods.

I might use function code to make it spawn in Network, but Idk. I need code something like this:
"If galactic map equal Human Space (SOTP) then it spawn near Eridani, otherwise spawn around xx offset."
Download Transcendence mods from Reinvented Workbench Project!
Semesta I.G.C v1.37
Great corporate that feature a new items and challenges!
YourCORP v1.16
Build your very own corporation!
Trade Item Extension v1.15
New misc items, foods and resources!
StrongBox v1.4
Open it up to get a random equipments!
Flare Weapons v1.6
New weapons that have very unique abilities!
Click this link!

relanat
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:56 am

Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:02 am

DigaRW wrote: I need code something like this:
"If galactic map equal Human Space (SOTP) then it spawn near Eridani, otherwise spawn around xx offset."
That's really clever. You could use the XML functions to find out which map image is used and then have two different sets of coordinates to place the systems on the Galactic map. Great stuff.

Although the Network has all the SOTP systems it is a separate adventure so unfortunately any SOTP mod using different systems/topology won't work without changes in the code. Although the Network could be added to SOTP as an extension that would take a lot of work and there isn't really enough room IMO on HumanSpace.jpg. Adding CC, TBR and Renegade makes it cluttered as it is. Squeezing in another 50 or more systems would be difficult, although the challenge interests me so it is on the future TODO list.
--------------------------

As to what got fixed... it felt like everything at the time! :lol:
A few minor changes let the games actually start and after that it was start with the bleeding intro fix (https://forums.kronosaur.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=6910) then cut and paste (and edit) until done.

There were a couple if image bugs. One where a star had no image which crashed the game (now fixed by George) and another with image variants where an image size of 0,0 returned the whole image (image size 1,1 works).

A few of the stars were deprecated so a more recent type was substituted. The SOTP systems code was updated to the 1.8a1 layout. Some of the stations (stargates and startons in particular) are much larger now so spacings for those had to be increased.

It was possible to get two systems with the same name (this used to be a real problem in the Captains Log/shiplog mod) but this is fixed (I hope). And the Galactic map was a bit messy with system names running over the top of each other and stargate lines merging into one another making it difficult to tell what went where. This is better now but not perfect.

Otherwise it was just updating code (CSC code, dockscreen action/language code, etc) until it would run without any noticeable errors.

It still needs mission code work (thanks to Xephyr for his template and function explanation work which I still have to get to)
but missions are changing a bit ATM so this can't be finalized until that is sorted. eg you can get Fleet missions from the CSC-IIs in 1.8a1 but not in 1.7 and Benedict doesn't work in either.
And I expect there will be a heap of bugs show up (I didn't test any of the Huari systems and a heap of others as well), but a GodMod "travel entire galaxy" run didn't crash so hopefully it will work at least adequately.

I didn't do a changelog because I honestly didn't know if I could make it work. There were probably a heap of other things that got changed but I can't remember. The code isn't very polished, it was a case of get something working then move on.

I had so much fun playing The Network back in V1.1 times that I wanted to bring it up to date so everyone else could play it but I've only just now gained the coding skills to do this.
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!

User avatar
DigaRW
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:10 pm
Location: Deep dark space/Indonesia

Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:51 pm

I just deleting:

Code: Select all

<Uses UNID="&UnidSystemPartI"/>
And it works, but when player arrive to Nusantara, the map change to Human Space.
Download Transcendence mods from Reinvented Workbench Project!
Semesta I.G.C v1.37
Great corporate that feature a new items and challenges!
YourCORP v1.16
Build your very own corporation!
Trade Item Extension v1.15
New misc items, foods and resources!
StrongBox v1.4
Open it up to get a random equipments!
Flare Weapons v1.6
New weapons that have very unique abilities!
Click this link!

User avatar
Amteloletom
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:35 pm
Location: 6°10.5′S 106°49.7′E / 6.1750°S 106.8283°E

Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:32 pm

Excuse me. When I played this mod with DigaRW mod, it appears that many star systems only filled by Semesta Gudang (or anything similar to that) and hostile weapon caches (that guarded with Hostile Ronin ship), except Eridani and other star systems that are not randomly generated. Any help or suggestion? :?

I already re-extracted both this mod and DigaRW mod, nothing changed.
I also disabled the Semesta IGC mod, and what i found is only space filled with stars, asteroids and lonelines. No friendly or hostile station appear.

relanat
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:56 am

Sat Dec 22, 2018 11:33 am

Unfortunately the mod doesn't work in game version1.8b4. This is because of changes to the game which will make it much better. But for now all you get is one or two stations in every randomly generated system. The code needs to be updated.

The mod does work in 1.7 if you have a copy of that game version. Press 'V' in the intro screen or 'F2' when playing to see which version of the game you have.

I have been updating this for each new version but not releasing it because it is a big mod and needs a fair bit of work. The good news is the next release will have the Benedict, Huari and Heretic missions. As well as a couple of Network only missions.

Thanks for letting me know.
Last edited by relanat on Tue May 28, 2019 4:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!

relanat
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:56 am

Tue May 28, 2019 4:55 am

I have a new version for use in 1.8 which I think is stable enough to release. But given the size of the mod I can't be sure!
Is anyone interested in beta testing the new version? I will upload it to the Multiverse and if you want to have a look let me know your Multiverse username and I can add you to the beta-tester list (this means you will be able to download the mod from the Multiverse).

The new version has a lot of code changes but is still the same game.
Improvements include:
Updated the code so the empty systems don't occur (Thanks, Amteloletom).
Benedict, Huari and Heretic missions now available.
Semesta IGC compatibility (version 1.37). If you select Semesta at game start the systems will appear on the Network galactic map automatically.
Fleet missions are now available from CSCs and CSC-IIs.
The "Request Escort " feature is now available at CSC-IIs. This can give you 2 Fleet ships as escorts in that system. This is reduced from the original 6 ships because the Fleet ships are a lot more powerful now.
Terek now flies a custom ship, a Rusalka gunship. The ship image is by Xephyr and looks great.

Additionally, on closer examination a lot of the system code could be removed and replaced with a smaller amount of code. This means the game loads faster than the previous version. But it does still take a while, just not as long as before.

I am also doing a final check for Corporate Command compatibility.
This will add the CC systems and playerships to the Network but not the Anton Nasser missions. I think it would need changes to the game to add these missions. This needs a separate mod ATM which will, hopefully, also be uploaded to the Multiverse. More info on this soon.
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!

User avatar
Amteloletom
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:35 pm
Location: 6°10.5′S 106°49.7′E / 6.1750°S 106.8283°E

Mon Jun 10, 2019 2:44 pm

Well, I don't know anything about coding and etc but maybe I could help to test it if needed.

relanat
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:56 am

Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:45 am

I have just uploaded the mod to the Multiverse. It will be available to beta-testers after George approves it. This may take a couple of days.

This version has Corporate Command and Semesta compatibility built in. If those mods are in the game folder they will automatically appear in the game. There are, however, no Anton Nasser missions for CC.

@Amteloletum, I can add you to the list. I will need your Multiverse username. I tried Amteloletum but it was unknown. And all feedback is appreciated. The mod is so large that even though I have been playing and modding it for years I don't think I have been in every system yet!
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!

User avatar
Amteloletom
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:35 pm
Location: 6°10.5′S 106°49.7′E / 6.1750°S 106.8283°E

Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:46 pm

relanat wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:45 am

@Amteloletum, I can add you to the list. I will need your Multiverse username. I tried Amteloletum but it was unknown. And all feedback is appreciated. The mod is so large that even though I have been playing and modding it for years I don't think I have been in every system yet!
My Username Multiverse is AmmarFarisAhmad and also, Is there any differences between The Network mod on Multiverse with the one in xelerus?

relanat
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:56 am

Fri Jun 28, 2019 3:55 am

I will add your username to the list later tonight, Amteloletum. The mod isn't available yet, George hasn't approved it yet. I messed up the upload details so I needed to fix that.

The Multiverse version will work in 1.8 and won't work in 1.7. The xelerus version only works in 1.7 and some of the 1.8 development game versions. Some code was changed in one of the 1.8 beta game versions which made it necessary to alter the mod code. It is the same game but with some things slightly altered or added.
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!

Post Reply