[idea] Trade Mod

A place to discuss mods in development and concepts for new mods.
User avatar
Periculi
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:48 pm
Location: Necroposting in a forum near you

- Periculi's Environmental trade mod

********************************************
If anyone has a copy of this or knows where to find
it we wold be very appreciative!
********************************************
Oh.. no! Don't revive that mod.. there are cooler ways to do the same thing now that we have some better item functions and can add attributes to systems in the topology.
User avatar
Prophet
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 826
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:09 pm

Oh.. no! Don't revive that mod.. there are cooler ways to do the same thing now that we have some better item functions and can add attributes to systems in the topology.
We found a copy, and I think you're right, we're going in a totally different direction but you do have a metric Ton of great ideas! Did you ever get your upgradeable equipment working?

I managed to get this working

Code: Select all

<ItemType UNID="&it3SlotBlock;"
		name=				"3 Slot Block"
		level=				"2"
		value=				"1"
		mass=				"500"
		frequency=			"notrandom"
		modifiers=			"upgrade"

		description=		"This will allow your ship to us up to 3 more devices."
		>

	<Image imageID="&rsItems1;" imageX="0" imageY="192" imageWidth="96" imageHeight="96"/>

	<MiscellaneousDevice
			deviceSlots=	"-3"
			/>

</ItemType>
and yes, it REALLY DOES WORK!

I had an un-modded EI100 with this loadout:
OmniLaser
Nami Launcher
3SlotBlock - *upgrader device*
Reactor
Drive
Shield
Cargo Hold
Quantum CPU
Jumpdrive
Laser Collimator
Solar Panels

An EI100 is rated at 7 device, max 2 weapons.
I still could not add more weapons but I had 8 non-Weapons for a total of 10 devices!
Coming soon: The Syrtian War adventure mod!
A Turret defense genre mod exploring the worst era in Earth's history.
Can you defend the Earth from the Syrtian invaders?
Stay tuned for updates!
User avatar
Periculi
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:48 pm
Location: Necroposting in a forum near you

you do have a metric Ton of great ideas!
Thanks! :)
Did you ever get your upgradeable equipment working?
Yup, I have multiple versions of upgradeable weapons, technology systems and a couple of entire ship framework prototypes to experiment with complete overhauls. It's amazing what can be done with items now.

Lately I have been mostly tinkering with a tricks and traps mod for looting, when I have the time.

But I am kinda stalling to see what happens with version 1.0 changes.
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Periculi wrote:
you do have a metric Ton of great ideas!
Thanks! :)
Did you ever get your upgradeable equipment working?
Yup, I have multiple versions of upgradeable weapons, technology systems and a couple of entire ship framework prototypes to experiment with complete overhauls. It's amazing what can be done with items now.

Lately I have been mostly tinkering with a tricks and traps mod for looting, when I have the time.

But I am kinda stalling to see what happens with version 1.0 changes.
I'm pretty sure that the only thing that would really affect this mod from 1.0 would be new event scripts, so we shouldn't have to worry about anything other than creating overly complex scripts once 1.0 is released. George did say he was planning on 1.0 focusing on the heretic system and rigel aurelius battle arena.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

Lets get this back on topic.

I added the latest version to the repository. It contains many base mechanisms suggested by Prophet. Let me know if it works (I have not tested it atm... it is too late, and my battery is running low...)

.]
User avatar
Prophet
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 826
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:09 pm

I had a chance to debug it last night, the required changes are:

Code: Select all

            (setq dpf_GlobalMechanism (lambda (itm price)
                (block Nil
                    (dpf_ApplyMechanisms itm price '(
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasOreProvider
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasFoodProvider
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasFuelProvider
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasArmorProvider
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasWeaponProvider
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasAutonProvider
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasOreProvider
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasRasiermesser
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasBushido
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasMakayev
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasShipping
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasMedics
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasBlackMarket
                        dpf_Mech_SystemHasFortress
                        dpf_Mech_EnemiesNearby
                    )
                )
            ))) ;; missing end bracket - line 177


line 418     (add delta (subtract p price))
should be:
(setq delta (add delta (subtract p price)))

It's working great but I'm not sure about how the random percent is generated. It will need some tweaking and balancing.

titanium ore for 1 credit / ton?! what a deal!
Coming soon: The Syrtian War adventure mod!
A Turret defense genre mod exploring the worst era in Earth's history.
Can you defend the Earth from the Syrtian invaders?
Stay tuned for updates!
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Prophet wrote:titanium ore for 1 credit / ton?! what a deal!
:shock: wow... even for titanium ore... that's rather cheap... Too cheap! (never thought I'd say that)
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
User avatar
Periculi
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:48 pm
Location: Necroposting in a forum near you

Why is there a dpf_Mech_SystemHasOreProvider twice?
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

You're missing ringers, teratons, taikons, and general merchandise (colonies/metropoli) on that list too..
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

Periculi wrote:Why is there a dpf_Mech_SystemHasOreProvider twice?
That is a late night typo! Thanks for spotting it. It has been duly exterminated....
Wolfy wrote:You're missing ringers, teratons, taikons, and general merchandise (colonies/metropoli) on that list too..
On what list? The stations we have so far are these:

Code: Select all

&stStartonEridani;              '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stDantalionSettlement;         '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stBlackMarketStation;          '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stBlackMarketShipyard;         '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stTempusLab;                   '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stCommonwealthColony;          '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stCommonwealthColonyArmed;     '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stMedicalSuburb;               '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stCommonwealthSettlement;      '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stAgriculturalStation;         '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stCommonwealthStation;         '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stCommonwealthStationArmored;  '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stCommonwealthFortress;        '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stMiningColony;                '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stAdventurerOutfitters;        '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stArmorDealer;                 '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stArmsDealer;                  '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stAutonDealer;                 '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stIceFarm;                     '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stTaikonVentures;              '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stCorporateTradingPost;        '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stWondrousDevices;             '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stRingersCollective;           '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stRingerShipyard;              '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stTeratonFactory;              '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stTeratonResearch;             '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stTeratonTradingPost;          '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stTinkerGathering;             '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stCorporateEnclave;            '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stHotel;                       '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stFuelDepot;                   '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stArmsDealerMakayev;           '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stArmsDealerBushido;           '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stRasiermesserFactory;         '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
&stArmsDealerRasiermesser;      '(dpf_GlobalMechanism)
If you spot a missing station, could you please name it's ENTITY. Thx ;)
Prophet wrote:It's working great but I'm not sure about how the random percent is generated. It will need some tweaking and balancing.
Thanks for the debugging. I must admit i did not test it before I pushed the changes. I saw yesterday that it actually crashed the game... :( Lazy me! I have applied your fixes, and pushed the changes.

As for pricing, i guess we will have to run quite a few tests. I am certain that it can be tweaked to return really nice price fluctuations. Also I am not 100% sure that the way the GlobalMechanism is created right now actually works. It was just a quick throw together of the base concept.

Taben mentioned on IRC that he thought it would have been cool if George had given script control over how much enhanced weapons cost. I realized, that this framework would allow that. I'm not sure what changes would be good to make, but I'm happy it can be done!! :D

.]
User avatar
Atarlost
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2391
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:02 am

I'd say the price of an enhanced item should not exceed the combined price of the base item and the enhancer except possibly for stacked enhancments. It'd be a lot of special cases to implement, though.
Post Reply