Ship changing after Juan Carlos mission freezes game

Bug reports for the different beta versions of transcendence.
PM
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:54 am

If the Juan Carlos mission is given, all attempts to change ships henceforth causes my computer to lock up, and I need Ctrl+Alt+Del to shut Transcendence down. I am not sure if the Playership Drones mod (v2 or v3) causes this or Transcendence itself.
Download and Play in 1.9 beta 1...
Drake Technologies (Alpha): More hardware for combat in parts 1 and 2!
Star Castle Arcade: Play a classic arcade game adventure, with or without more features (like powerups)!
Playership Drones: Buy or restore exotic ships to command!

Other playable mods from 1.8 and 1.7, waiting to be updated...
Godmode v3 (WIP): Dev/cheat tool compatible with D&O parts 1 or 2.
Cirevam
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:22 pm

I kept having the same problem too, but the game only crashed if I tried to change ships while in the system with Juan Carlos. If I went to another then there was no problem. I let the game sit for a minute once it froze and eventually the crash screen popped up, and this is what showed up in my log file afterwards:

Code: Select all

08/22/2011 21:53:12	Loaded game file version: 1000601
08/22/2011 21:53:58	ERROR
08/22/2011 21:53:58	ERROR
08/22/2011 21:53:58	ERRORERRORERROR
08/22/2011 21:53:58	Unable to continue due to program error.

program state: OnAnimate
program state: updating object behavior
obj class: CShip
obj name: Zoanthrope behemoth
obj pointer: b3750b0
CZoanthropeAI
Order: 9
m_State: 1
m_pBase: b374f28 Dwarg master (CShip)
m_pTarget: b3a9ae0 freighter Forking Paths (CShip)
game state: in game
User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

Nice catch. It is probably because the playership is registered with the JuanCarlos for events. This happens on line 967 of CommonwealthFleet.xml, and, as far as i can see, is not necessary at all.
Get your own Galactic Omni Device
Get it now. It's free!!
Image
shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1533
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska
Contact:

interesting: i believed and i THINK i am correct ( while not totally familiar with your version ) that the Juan Carlos was only a dockable ship......not a playership you change to.
so there should not be anything to set off a ship changing bug......its basically a dockscreen / extra station.

If that was the case of it player with the Zoanthrope behemoth : you will note the confusion was with the AI ;
CZoanthropeAI
Order: 9

EDIT: Order 9 = 'Escort : either i misread the something or i was totally spaced on the post at the time. but this is fact .

Code: Select all

1 = "guard"
2 = "dock"
3 = "attack"
4 = "wait"
5 = "gate"
6 = "gateOnThreat"
7 = "gateOnStationDestroyed"
8 = "patrol"
9 = "escort"
10 = "scavenge"
11 = "followPlayerThroughGate"
12 = "attackNearestEnemy"
13 = "tradeRoute"
14 = "wander"
15 = "loot"
16 = "hold"
17 = "mine"
18 = "waitForPlayer"
19 = "attackPlayerOnReturn"
20 = "follow"
21 = "navPath"
22 = "goto"
23 = "waitForTarget"
24 = "waitForEnemy"
25 = "bombard"
26 = "approach"
27 = "aim"
28 = "orbit"
29 = "holdCourse"
30 = "turnTo"
31 = "attackHold"
Last edited by shanejfilomena on Thu Dec 08, 2011 6:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..
User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

shanejfilomena wrote:interesting: i believed and i THINK i am correct ( while not totally familiar with your version ) that the Juan Carlos was only a dockable ship......not a playership you change to.
The bug mentioned does not have anything to do with changing playership TO the Juan Carlos, or playership changing being triggered BY the Juan Carlos. It just states that changing ships AFTER having received the Juan Carlos mission leads to a crash. The only slightly unusual thing going on in the Juan Carlos mission is that the freighter listens to events on the playership. While it is not the only time in game this happens, it is not that common again (20 out of 95 examples)
Get your own Galactic Omni Device
Get it now. It's free!!
Image
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Good catch. Here is what I think is going on:

1. At line 962, the player ship is ordered to dock with Juan Carlos's ship. Since this is a player ship (not an AI ship) all the order does is show the arrow indicator pointing to Juan Carlos's ship.

2. The player switches ships. The old ship still has the order to dock, but since it has been given an AI controller, the AI takes the old ship and tries to dock with Juan Carlos's ship.

3. My guess is that when an AI ship tries to dock with a ship that has player dock screens, something horrible happens.

A simple fix is to cancel all orders on a ship when switching ships. I will do that in 1.07. TBD whether we should also apply the old orders to the new ship.
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

george moromisato wrote:Good catch. Here is what I think is going on:

1. At line 962, the player ship is ordered to dock with Juan Carlos's ship. Since this is a player ship (not an AI ship) all the order does is show the arrow indicator pointing to Juan Carlos's ship.

2. The player switches ships. The old ship still has the order to dock, but since it has been given an AI controller, the AI takes the old ship and tries to dock with Juan Carlos's ship.

3. My guess is that when an AI ship tries to dock with a ship that has player dock screens, something horrible happens.

A simple fix is to cancel all orders on a ship when switching ships. I will do that in 1.07. TBD whether we should also apply the old orders to the new ship.
Spoke too soon--ignore the above. I think the orders are being properly cleared.
shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1533
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska
Contact:

so again I think the feature ( mod ) needs to be sure to clear it's orders before a ship docks with another active ship.

I highly doubted the game itself was at fault otherwise Juan would have been an issue when 1.05 and playership drones arrived in the universe.
==========
I know I can not communicate effectively because you understand these things on a deeper level, but bottom line is I think it's the mod not the game causing code conflict with your version on orders for docking with another active ship.

and ill defend the universe with every cannon i got .....so there :)LOL
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

shanejfilomena wrote:and ill defend the universe with every cannon i got .....so there :)LOL
Thanks for your support! I can always use it.

But in this case, I think the game engine is at fault (though I'm not sure what the problem is). I believe this because:

1. Juan Carlos's ship is unusual (it is a ship that has a docking screen) and could interact negatively with ship changing.
2. Mods should never be able to crash the engine [though it will be hard to fix all the cases where they currently can.]
Cirevam
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:22 pm

Speaking of ships with docking screens, how is Volkov's wife's ship handled? I've had this same ship-changing crash bug in previous versions of T and I know I had problems with Volkov's wife crashing my game at least whenever I docked with her ship.

Another thing that may help with the current topic is that I was flying a Manticore gunship at the time, not a Dwarg Behemoth, and there was a Dwarg station right along the path that Juan Carlos took when he gated, so I thought that the Dwarg were causing an error somehow. Also, once I had destroyed Juan Carlos before he was able to gate then tried to switch ships to see if he was the direct cause of the problem, and the game still crashed. My thought was that there was something with the system itself causing the problem, so I had considered cleansing it of all life before switching ships, just in case.
User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

george moromisato wrote:But in this case, I think the game engine is at fault (though I'm not sure what the problem is).
Does this mean you have ruled out objRegisterForEvents as being the cause? If not I will try and make a test case to prove/disprove it.
Get your own Galactic Omni Device
Get it now. It's free!!
Image
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

alterecco wrote:Does this mean you have ruled out objRegisterForEvents as being the cause? If not I will try and make a test case to prove/disprove it.
I haven't ruled it out, so a test case would definitely help.

Looking through the code, I don't see any obvious way in which that could cause a problem, but the only way to be sure is with a test case.
User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

george moromisato wrote:
alterecco wrote:Does this mean you have ruled out objRegisterForEvents as being the cause? If not I will try and make a test case to prove/disprove it.
I haven't ruled it out, so a test case would definitely help.

Looking through the code, I don't see any obvious way in which that could cause a problem, but the only way to be sure is with a test case.
OK, i will look at it tomorrow... unless someone else gets to it before.
Get your own Galactic Omni Device
Get it now. It's free!!
Image
shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1533
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska
Contact:

Cirevam wrote:Speaking of ships with docking screens, how is Volkov's wife's ship handled? I've had this same ship-changing crash bug in previous versions of T and I know I had problems with Volkov's wife crashing my game at least whenever I docked with her ship.

Another thing that may help with the current topic is that I was flying a Manticore gunship at the time, not a Dwarg Behemoth, and there was a Dwarg station right along the path that Juan Carlos took when he gated, so I thought that the Dwarg were causing an error somehow. Also, once I had destroyed Juan Carlos before he was able to gate then tried to switch ships to see if he was the direct cause of the problem, and the game still crashed. My thought was that there was something with the system itself causing the problem, so I had considered cleansing it of all life before switching ships, just in case.
While the chances of Hostiles in the path of a ship is to be expected and Juan would be fine on their way to the gate ( but I often send an escort with Juan to be sure they gate out )

.
Last edited by shanejfilomena on Fri Aug 26, 2011 8:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..
Bobby
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:39 pm

I am also getting this.
1. use UGW
2. find csc in system after Jiang's Star
3. take juan mission, have my fleet guard juan as he gates out
4. the mule is mysteriously flying much slower than it should with its enhanced titan 440
5. try to fly mule - crash
6. fly to previous system
7. try to fly mule - crash

The difference is when it happens my whole computer freezes and I need to pull the plug... I'm done testing it for now.
Possible issues:
1. This save was in 1.06 for the first two systems before I upgraded to 1.06a, and there's a clone of my ship at the time sitting at the inbound gate of the second system, I was flying solo at that point though.
2. Transcendence is running as administrator because my launcher is (because autohotkey is).
3. The captain's log ensures the player is always covered under objRegisterForEvents, it has never been an issue before.

I have a copy of my extensions folder and save file.
ImageImage
Thanks to digdug for the banners.
Post Reply