[1.2b3] Spacetime is borken

Bug reports for the different beta versions of transcendence.
Post Reply
kay.py
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:33 am

Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:55 pm

While looking for a Charon primary stronghold, I noticed that there is something very weird going on with the distance measurements.

One grid square on the map seems to be about 100ls horizontally, but something like 130ls vertically. If you are going for a perpective effect, shouldn't the grid be perspectived, too?

Image

I was so distracted by all this that I ploughed straight through the base while trying to measure distances instead of paying attention to hostiles...

...

Hmm. Also looks like something isn't working with the base placement algorithm, or you need to double check what is and isn't marked as a planet...

User avatar
RPC
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Hmm... I'm confused. Anybody have a starmap to the Core?

Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:59 pm

o.o I also thought it was 100x100 ls. Nice catch.
Tutorial List on the Wiki and Installing Mods
Get on Discord for mod help and general chat
Image
Image
Der Tod ist der zeitlose Frieden und das leben ist der Krieg
Wir müssen wissen — wir werden wissen!
I don't want any sort of copyright on my Transcendence mods. Feel free to take/modify whatever you want.

kay.py
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:33 am

Fri Sep 20, 2013 4:31 pm

When my usual search pattern* failed, I put a crate in the sun and targeted it for a distance readout. When circling the sun at a fixed distance resulted in a noticeable ellipsoid I got suspicious. Without the wacky base positioning, I would never have thought to be more precise...

* "fly out a box or so further yeah looks about right lets circle around thereish"

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2936
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:11 pm

Yes, you're right. I added a little fake perspective distortion to the map, but I didn't change the grid because it didn't look good.

The real solution is to do a proper perspective (in which the vertical lines of the grid converge towards the top). I'll do that in a future version.

Meanwhile, I did fix the bug with the Charon stronghold placement. Thanks for that report!

User avatar
Atarlost
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2391
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:02 am

Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:05 pm

The map really shouldn't have perspective since that distorts both distances and angles.
Literally is the new Figuratively

User avatar
sun1404
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 527
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:32 am
Location: Heretic. (Finally!)

Sat Sep 21, 2013 4:32 pm

I think a perspective map would be cool, but unpractical. It'd be harder to read, and even harder to calculate any distance informations from.
Yes, look at my avatar, I have a wyvera type ship.

Post Reply