"Ripped apart by a Procyon B"

Bug reports for the different beta versions of transcendence.
Post Reply
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5381
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Wed Nov 12, 2014 9:37 pm

Note the extra 'a'

The death text should be able to have some way of being told that the name is a proper noun when the name is being set in the system generation.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | x5 8350, 4GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 2x 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 1800X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2978
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Wed Nov 12, 2014 11:04 pm

Wolfy wrote:Note the extra 'a'

The death text should be able to have some way of being told that the name is a proper noun when the name is being set in the system generation.
You can do this in a couple of ways:

In the <StationType> definition, make sure you have noArticle="true". [If you have a <Names> element, then: <Names noArticle="true">...]

If you set the name via objSetName, then make sure you pass 0x40 as a flag (see objSetName help).

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5381
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:57 am

I was trying to do it in the system generation XML [via a manually placed XML orbital] where it doesnt seem to be an option
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | x5 8350, 4GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 2x 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 1800X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2978
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:28 am

Wolfy wrote:I was trying to do it in the system generation XML [via a manually placed XML orbital] where it doesnt seem to be an option
You're right...that needs to be added. But here is a workaround:

Code: Select all

<Orbitals ...>
   <Code>
      (block (starObj)
         (setq starObj (sysCreateStation starType (sysOrbitPos aOrbit)))
         (objSetName starObj "Procyon B" 0x40)
         )
    </Code>
</Orbitals>
You can also look at how I create Sirius B (in Sirius.xml of Eternity Port).

Post Reply