Help! I apparently somehow accidentally sold my military ID

Ask any question about playing and surviving in the Transcendence universe. Newbies welcome!
Post Reply
sushi_cw
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:36 am

Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:42 am

So it appears that I have somehow managed to sell or lose my military ID chip on accident. Is there any way to get it back? I'm 100% OK with cheating here. :) I just reached Sanctuary and am finding all sorts of cool weapons I should be able to use but can't.

I've tried using the debug console, but haven't been able to get it to work. It appears to work on a new save, but not my existing one, which makes it look like it isn't going to help me much.

Is there any sort of savegame editor I could use to get back my military ID? Any other tricks or options I have? Having already had to redo half the game when I accidentally clicked "delete", I'm extremely un-keen on going through that yet again!

Thanks!

NMS
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 437
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:26 am

Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:37 am

I think George can convert a registered game into an unregistered game, so you can load it in debug mode. You can send him your save file by PM or email [email protected]. Then use (objAddItem gPlayerShip 0x40C7) .

But you may not need to cheat. For one thing, it's difficult, if not impossible, to sell IDs, so you probably jettisoned it in a wreck, destroyed station, or container. If you know you had it recently, you could go back and look for it. Also, it's possible to beat the game without one. If you have a Black Market ID, and haven't made them angry, Black Market shipyards will install military items without military ID. Ringer shipyards (and maybe Taikon Ventures) will too, but you need to pay with rin, a separate currency you can obtain by selling items to Ringer or Teraton stations. You could try exploring ahead, avoiding enemies as much as possible, until you find some of these stations.

shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1467
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska

Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:56 am

sushi_cw wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:42 am
So it appears that I have somehow managed to sell or lose my military ID chip on accident. Is there any way to get it back? I'm 100% OK with cheating here. :) I just reached Sanctuary and am finding all sorts of cool weapons I should be able to use but can't.

I've tried using the debug console, but haven't been able to get it to work. It appears to work on a new save, but not my existing one, which makes it look like it isn't going to help me much.

Is there any sort of savegame editor I could use to get back my military ID? Any other tricks or options I have? Having already had to redo half the game when I accidentally clicked "delete", I'm extremely un-keen on going through that yet again!

Thanks!
NOOOO, no, no.

What you do if these thing occur : it is rare, but it can happen with I.d.'s

What you can do in the game :
A)
What you do is head out to look for the Independent traders ( go back if you got to ) : both friendly & hostile : they are the T- 31 & I forget if the other is a 33 or 35....with Zulu escorts.
take out the transports FIRST - make it your only target until you get the wreck : use light shots, nothing heavy or you won't get a wreck.
Eventually you will get Black Market & Military I.D.s

B)
Outlaw Miners & Outlaw stations can sometimes have them in the loot.

C)
Return to a location like STK ( if there are any missions left ) or Militia fortress : these stations can give you another I.D.
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..

sushi_cw
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:36 am

Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:07 pm

NMS wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:37 am

But you may not need to cheat. For one thing, it's difficult, if not impossible, to sell IDs, so you probably jettisoned it in a wreck, destroyed station, or container.
Thinking back more, I'm pretty sure I accidentally donated my ID to Domina.
NMS wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:37 am
If you have a Black Market ID, and haven't made them angry, Black Market shipyards will install military items without military ID. Ringer shipyards (and maybe Taikon Ventures) will too, but you need to pay with rin, a separate currency you can obtain by selling items to Ringer or Teraton stations. You could try exploring ahead, avoiding enemies as much as possible, until you find some of these stations.
Hmm, that may work, although I assume my purchase options are going to be a lot more limited. :(

But then again, maybe that's a good thing since I have no idea what 90% of this stuff does anyway or why I'd want A over B. :)
shanejfilomena wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:56 am
C)
Return to a location like STK ( if there are any missions left ) or Militia fortress : these stations can give you another I.D.
How would this work? Doesn't only the first mission give out an ID? I'm probably out of missions for the militia fortresses anyway, I got the NPC companion and a bunch of medals.
NMS wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:37 am
I think George can convert a registered game into an unregistered game, so you can load it in debug mode. You can send him your save file by PM or email [email protected]. Then use (objAddItem gPlayerShip 0x40C7) .
If all else fails... :) Good to know the difference between a registered / unregistered game.

shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1467
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska

Tue Jan 02, 2018 7:09 pm

Again: you have the Outlaws & traders ( Salvagers rarely collect I.D.s , too rare to make taking them on worth it just for the chance )

in Transcendence, there is almost Always a mission the player doesn't get : rank, level, star gates too close together, random encounter destroys best mission target so the player gets shuffled off deck.......

O - and I forgot - you can sometimes buy Military I.D. at the Black Market.
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..

Ferdinand
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:35 pm
Location: Dancing in the universe
Contact:

Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:04 pm

And you can also loose your Military ID by destroying friendly ships in sight of military units. The first time you dock afterwards in anything military they will take your ID and kick you out. Or worse, game over by being locked up in jail.

That said, it is very well possible to finish the game without Military and/or Black market ID. I have done it several times. It is difficult and if you do not have much experience it will be a very steep learning curve. Best way is using Domina powers if the going gets tough. Domina can also enhance your equipment a lot (up to +40%) but only if you did not enhance it yourself first. After Domina enhancement, you can enhance further if you like. Plan in advance to dump your military loot somewhere safe in order to not have it confiscated by customs.
Once you get to a Ringer Shipyard, you can install any weapon you like including military. Installed weapons will not be confiscated by customs (but if it is an ammo weapon, they will take all your military ammo).

Contable
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 11:11 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:43 am

Hi, I'm not sure if that's the right thread but I bought some fancy auto targeting cannon, and now I can't ammo for it anywhere. Where to buy ammo, or do you just randomly happen to run into them? Same with missiles.

Also, thanks for explaining the difference between registered/unregistered game:)

Derakon
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:53 am

Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:54 pm

Contable wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:43 am
Hi, I'm not sure if that's the right thread but I bought some fancy auto targeting cannon, and now I can't ammo for it anywhere. Where to buy ammo, or do you just randomly happen to run into them? Same with missiles.

Also, thanks for explaining the difference between registered/unregistered game:)
Most stations should have ammo for commonly-used weapons. You can either buy it from the buy/sell screen, or go to the dockscreen, select the weapon, and hit 'A' to buy ammo. However, it's possible you've installed a weapon that uses higher-level ammo than the area you're in, or an "alien" weapon like the chimeric plasma launcher; in the latter case most stations won't sell the ammo at all. What's the weapon exactly?

relanat
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 533
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:56 am

Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:13 am

You can buy ammo at a lot of the stations in the game. Starton Eridani and other commonwealth metropolis have a good range. Weapon dealers also stock ammo as do military stations. More powerful ammo gradually becomes available as you progress through the game.

And you can sometimes find ammo in shipwrecks and containers. If you destroy a ship that uses the ammo you are looking for then there is a chance that some ammo will have survived to be looted.

I suspect you are having trouble finding the ammo because of the tabs in the station screens.

Dock at a station, we'll use Starton Eridani as an example.
Select "Commodities Exchange".
Select "Buy Items".

At the top of the list of items, below the station name, you will see the words "General - Devices & Armor - Ammo - All"
General will be highlighted by default.

These are called 'tabs' and subdivide the list of items for sale in the station.

If you click on any of these tabs the list will change.
"Devices & Armor" will list only weapons, armor, shields, reactors and drives, as well as a number of enhancement devices if the station has any to sell.
"Ammo" is self explanatory and if you click on this tab a list of all the ammo available from that station will appear.
"General" is anything that isn't devices, armor or ammo.
"All" lists everything in the station.
If any of the tabs are dim then no items of that category are available.

You can also use the Left-Arrow and Right-Arrow keys to change between tabs.

The default tab can be set by Ctrl-clicking the desired tab.
So to set the default to "All", hold down the Ctrl-Key and click on "All".
The "All" tab will move to the beginning of the list and show all items for sale in that station.
After you have done this every station you enter will show the "All" list as the default setting. This will also apply for any further games you start.

You can set any of the tabs to appear as the default tab and they can be reset as often as you like.

Hope that helps.

Post Reply