MAG launchers

Ask any question about playing and surviving in the Transcendence universe. Newbies welcome!
relanat
Militia Captain
Militia Captain

I've haven't used the MAG launcher much. When I started playing I saw its limited range and slow projectile speed and never used it again having a preference for quick-firing long-range launchers..

Since then I've read some good things about it in the forum. And that it can do a lot of damage to you when an enemy has it installed.

Do forum members use it? When do they have it installed? What do they use it for? How do they stop enemy MAGs from hurting them?
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!
AdmiralZo
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant

That's a very good question. :D

I don't use it very often either; usually going for the NAMI launcher, then later the Rasiermesser or NAMI heavy. Regarding the Makayev launcher, I recall only ever using it once...

When I do use the MAG launcher, I would install it either in the New Beyond, or maybe a few systems after St. Katherine's.

Missiles such as the Siege and High Flux MAG are perfect for bombarding stations and capital ships. I find that the Cluster MAG is useful for targeting fast but weak ships or a group of ships.

You would most likely encounter enemy ships with MAG launchers in Battle Arena Maximus. Since MAGs are generally slow, it is easy to dodge them if you pilot the Sapphire or Wolfen. Otherwise, you can destroy the MAG by firing at it (typically with a fast beam weapon) or hiding behind wrecks. :D
DigaRW
Militia Captain
Militia Captain

However, they are best equipment for early level. If you find it somewhere before Charon System, then you're lucky.
I once used it for defend Korolov in Charon, and it quite effective for Drake rather than NAMI Missile Launcher. By using Cluster Mag, it will destroy group of Viking with a few shot.
Missile launcher is useful for single target, while MAG launcher is best bet against enemy's group.