Coming back to Transcendence.. a few questions!

Ask any question about playing and surviving in the Transcendence universe. Newbies welcome!
Trion
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:44 pm

Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:26 am

Derakon wrote:
Fri Jun 02, 2017 3:55 am
Later in the game you can find linked-fire weapons that can fire at the same time as your main weapon. However, in addition to eating into your energy budget, they tend to be externally-mounted, which means they can easily be damaged (irreparably in most cases) by enemy weapons' fire.

Otherwise, yeah, if you want to fire two weapons at the same time, one of 'em will have to be your launcher. :) Speaking of, launchers are great for WMD; you can readily find WMD10 ammo even in the early game, while primary weapons with WMD don't show up much until later. Howitzers are pretty good WMD primaries, but they're absolutely rubbish for dogfighting. Later on, most thermo weapons have WMD as well.
Oh wait a minute you brought up a great point. So if the way the weapon installation page looks now as of 1.7 you can plant a weapon on TOP of your ship but then you get the extra weapon slots that open up in the top right and top left. Does that mean anything? Is it internally mounted if I pick the weapon spot right in the middle of my ship?

User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:06 am

 It doesn’t make a difference where a weapon is visually shown as being installed, no. The weapons Derakon is referring to are side-mounted weapons. You can have up to two on your ship, and they fire whenever you fire your main weapon. As was pointed out, they’re external weapons (and they’ll have a label on them indicating such), and will be vulnerable to damage from incoming fire if your shields are down (or if your shields bleed some damage through, like the Trenton). If you’re not good at keeping your shields up, it’s a good idea to stick to side-mounted energy weapons that you can repair with Longzhu spheres.
Image

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)

Derakon
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:53 am

Fri Jun 02, 2017 4:03 pm

If the item is externally-mounted, it'll say that among the other flags on the item, where it says stuff like "WMD4", "cloud", "omnidirectional", etc. If I recall correctly, solar panels are an early example of externally-mounted items, and they're subject to the same ease of damaging that externally-mounted weapons are. Patch spiders are another example.

Trion
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:44 pm

Fri Jun 02, 2017 6:59 pm

Ah thanks a lot for the clarification. I can't remember but I am guessing autons might be external stuff too?

Derakon
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:53 am

Fri Jun 02, 2017 9:24 pm

In a way, but not like solar panels and side-mounted weapons are. :) Autons are autonomous ships that fly around with you. Go ahead and use one next time you find one; the worst that'll happen is it turns out to be faulty and you'll have a weak ship armed with a laser shooting at you. Most autons aren't anything special, but some of them can be quite helpful. In my experience they don't last long though.

NMS
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:26 am

Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:43 pm

By the way, side-mounted weapons are only in the paid expansion, Corporate Command.

shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1411
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska

Sat Jun 03, 2017 2:20 am

NMS wrote:
Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:43 pm
By the way, side-mounted weapons are only in the paid expansion, Corporate Command.
Just a note on that..
RPGAuxDevices.xml is packaged with the regular game
( I found it in 1.7 & the latest release of 1.8 ) : UNID holders can create external weapons for their extensions and Adventures.

However, I do not know of any external weapons in the regular game ( yet, but I am sure there are tons of creative ideas running wild out there )
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..

Trion
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:44 pm

Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:10 pm

Derakon wrote:
Fri Jun 02, 2017 3:55 am
Later in the game you can find linked-fire weapons that can fire at the same time as your main weapon. However, in addition to eating into your energy budget, they tend to be externally-mounted, which means they can easily be damaged (irreparably in most cases) by enemy weapons' fire.

Otherwise, yeah, if you want to fire two weapons at the same time, one of 'em will have to be your launcher. :) Speaking of, launchers are great for WMD; you can readily find WMD10 ammo even in the early game, while primary weapons with WMD don't show up much until later. Howitzers are pretty good WMD primaries, but they're absolutely rubbish for dogfighting. Later on, most thermo weapons have WMD as well.
Thanks a lot. Another issue arose today. I managed to find some titanium ore that wasn't mined (I think it was from some charon stronghold or something) and I can't find any place to sell it? I even went back to the mining places and they wouldn't take it.

Also do inventories restock at stations? I accidentally discovered that getting medical supplies and selling them right next to the Enclave makes a little bit of a profit.

Derakon
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:53 am

Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:19 am

Titanium ore isn't worth much, but you should be able to sell it at Commonwealth stations and a few others. Different stations want different things.

Inventories never restock, and the more a station has of a given good, the less it's willing to pay for more of that good, so eventually your little trade route would break down anyway. In what is arguably a bug, however, you can get more money from stations by selling goods in a single huge transaction (e.g. selling 100 He3 cylinders in at once) instead of many small transactions. That's because they don't update how much they're willing to pay for the good until after they've bought it, so e.g. a station that maybe only really wants 5 He3 cylinders at a premium price will still buy 500 at that premium if you have 500 to sell all at once.

Trion
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:44 pm

Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:44 am

Derakon wrote:
Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:19 am
Titanium ore isn't worth much, but you should be able to sell it at Commonwealth stations and a few others. Different stations want different things.

Inventories never restock, and the more a station has of a given good, the less it's willing to pay for more of that good, so eventually your little trade route would break down anyway. In what is arguably a bug, however, you can get more money from stations by selling goods in a single huge transaction (e.g. selling 100 He3 cylinders in at once) instead of many small transactions. That's because they don't update how much they're willing to pay for the good until after they've bought it, so e.g. a station that maybe only really wants 5 He3 cylinders at a premium price will still buy 500 at that premium if you have 500 to sell all at once.
Ah I didn't know that bug before. It is so tempting to try and figure out the commerce route more because I want to buy everything I see in stores but I am still on a first runthrough. I am thinking I could save more money in the long run with tracking missiles and omni weapons because it cuts down on fuel in a way if you don't keep missing.

Also with Korolov shipping if I keep "cancelling" the missions I noticed they eventually stop popping up. Is there a waiting period to get them to offer them to me again in that same system?

shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1411
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska

Sun Jun 04, 2017 7:36 am

Trion wrote:
Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:44 am
Derakon wrote:
Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:19 am
Inventories never restock
* in normal game *

The Commonwealth Traffic , if the ships are carrying anything ( normally looted from wrecks or if they carry anything by design ) to a station that buys what they carry, the ship is supposed to sell the item to the station.

If you are at the dockscreen of a station & that screen suddenly goes Blank -
a ship has sold to the station. It does NOT mean the item is up for resale because like you,
the NPC ships can sell exactly the same things ( like military or damaged stuff ) even if the station will not normally sell those kind of goods.

depending on how active the system is and any good wrecks near stations and traffic lanes,
you can get station items " restocked " pretty well.

Tinkers profit from this Traffic code more then any other station because most of the loot the ships pick up are from wrecks.

=====
now an example of ( Traffic Fun w/ the Player )

you enter a system and head for a manufacturing plant: buy something: go to the Hotel to sell it and the Hotel isn't Interested ( yet you know the Hotel usually buys the item )

What happened ? NPC traffic somehow came up with the station's limit on that item & sold it to the Hotel before you attempted to make a deal.
======
Happens alot to me : but mostly with the Enclave

Not to toot my own horn , but I have set traffic to buy as well as sell, adjusted stations that normally only buy or sell in dockscreens to buy or sell when dealing traffic ( adding either a Buy or Sell to their Trade settings )

this works out great for my personal games, especially at fuel stations - some days I really want a system map :)

but maybe sometime in the future George will review my traffic code and have the ships buy and sell ....don't know.
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..

User avatar
erwgd
Miner
Miner
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 2:17 pm

Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:45 am

Trion wrote:
Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:44 am
Ah I didn't know that bug before. It is so tempting to try and figure out the commerce route more because I want to buy everything I see in stores but I am still on a first runthrough. I am thinking I could save more money in the long run with tracking missiles and omni weapons because it cuts down on fuel in a way if you don't keep missing.

Also with Korolov shipping if I keep "cancelling" the missions I noticed they eventually stop popping up. Is there a waiting period to get them to offer them to me again in that same system?
With Korolov Shipping, if you declined a mission, the freighter who offered the mission won't offer one again. To get a new mission just wait for a ship to arrive at the station, then you can take a mission from them.

Ferdinand
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:35 pm
Location: Dancing in the universe
Contact:

Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:10 pm

Derakon wrote:
Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:19 am
Inventories never restock
This is not entirely true. If you buy the entire supply of a station's ammo or fuel and probably some other items, it will restock that ammo and fuel over time. This is only when you buy available ammo, not when you are selling. If you sell ammo to the station that it previously did not have and buy it back later, the station will not restock that particular type of ammo. However this is not for all stations, mainly colonies and startons do this, some others too.

Trion
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:44 pm

Tue Jun 06, 2017 9:07 am

erwgd wrote:
Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:45 am
Trion wrote:
Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:44 am
Ah I didn't know that bug before. It is so tempting to try and figure out the commerce route more because I want to buy everything I see in stores but I am still on a first runthrough. I am thinking I could save more money in the long run with tracking missiles and omni weapons because it cuts down on fuel in a way if you don't keep missing.

Also with Korolov shipping if I keep "cancelling" the missions I noticed they eventually stop popping up. Is there a waiting period to get them to offer them to me again in that same system?
With Korolov Shipping, if you declined a mission, the freighter who offered the mission won't offer one again. To get a new mission just wait for a ship to arrive at the station, then you can take a mission from them.
Ah nice so there is a visual aid involved as well. Thanks for the follow up sir.

shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1411
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska

Tue Jun 06, 2017 2:17 pm

Trion wrote:
Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:44 am
Also with Korolov shipping if I keep "cancelling" the missions I noticed they eventually stop popping up. Is there a waiting period to get them to offer them to me again in that same system?
The Player has No - none - zero impact on the presence of a station in the game so long as that station is built to be included in the game.

before the game starts,
it creates and loads a list or table of what is going to be in that particular game.
as you go from one system to the next, the game draws from that file and puts the system into motion before you can function in that system.

the only impact the player has on station creation is mission stations that spawn for a particular mission or events in response to to a player's choices in accepting or declining ( in Heretic the Xenophobes are spawned only if you go to the Taikon research station and get the mission).

declining missions does not stop the table of stations that were already selected for the game from arriving in the next system.
Declining missions for escorting ships in Korolov will not stop Korolov from doing what it is built to do - with or without the player.

I do know that Korolov stations can and will stop everything and sit still, but that is due to it's orders , not due to the player's choices.
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..

Post Reply