Find that bug! Volume 2!

Freeform discussion about anything related to modding Transcendence.
Post Reply
User avatar
Song
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2801
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:27 am

I've been playing around with a Kinetic Rocket-turret for the early game. Balance is irrelevant, because of the main issue: The launcher code...uh....doesn't.......


http://transcendence.pastebin.com/FgdHSsHw

It's working fine as a gun....but the code SHOULD be making it be a launcher. Tried pestering Wolfy on the glorious magical communications system of the future that is IRC*, but he couldn't see the bug immediately.

So here we go.....Spot that bug! :D


Oh, and while all the cool people are on IRC discussing the sandbox concept, I'm on the IRC below that IRC being lonely. Join IRC.















*Oh IRC, oh IRC, how I love you for the marvels of instantaneousish communications! I don't know what I'd do without IRC.**









** IRC. It is wonderous. It is Magic. It has a stoned chatbot (ask Ttech)! You will enjoy it! You will come to IRC! You will join us, once and for all!***













***You can't tell I'm subtly advertising IRC here, can you?
Mischievous local moderator. She/Her pronouns.
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Ttech will be proud
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2620
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

launcher = "true" is an attribute of <Weapon> and not of <ItemType>

all the rest looks ok :)
User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2767
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

I'm very proud! ;) Got a really good laugh out of that one. So we do a bit of advertising for IRC / Chat, its fun to do live conversations. But satire is always great. Its a fun place to be. But we are talking, and not just in the sandbox channel. :P Its just I'm asleep when you sign on.
Image
Image
User avatar
Song
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2801
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:27 am

Ttech<---yeah. I was bored and decided to make a small spoof of the general "Mention IRC in any new idea thread" convention (which I do in fact approve of entirely, because IRC is cool). :P

Right. I've moved the launcher="true" to the <Weapon> area, but it still doesn't work. This is genuinely weird....

EDIT: I believe the problem is carried over with the code from the Smartcannon XML. In particular, the <Weapon> tag on the smartcannon has some stuff I've never seen in ANY other weapon....is it a functional thing, or can it be eliminated as a possible solution?

Here is the <Weapon> code:

Code: Select all

	<Weapon UNID="&itSmartCannon;" itemID="&itSmartCannon;"
				fireRate=			"15"
				powerUse=			"10"
				>
(NOTE: THIS IS NOT IN MY WEAPON. FOR MY WEAPON CODE, SEE THE EARLIER PASTEBIN, AND MOVE THE (launcher="true") TO INSIDE THE <WEAPON> CODE!)


Also, join IRC!
Last edited by Song on Fri Aug 13, 2010 6:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mischievous local moderator. She/Her pronouns.
speedofsquid
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:30 pm
Location: USA

It seems to work for me. You made launcher an attribute of the Weapon tag, right?

Code: Select all

<Weapon
     ...
     launcher="true"
     ...
     >

     [not here]

</Weapon>
User avatar
Song
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2801
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:27 am

It's there, yes. However all the other launchers I've seen have it in the item tag, not the weapon tag. So I'm somewhat skeptical about the effectiveness of that.

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" ?>
<!DOCTYPE TranscendenceExtension
[
<!ENTITY itHimalLauncher                                     "0xDC4E4050">   
]>

<TranscendenceExtension UNID="0xDC4E4050" version="1.0"> 


<ItemType UNID="&itHimalLauncher;"
			name=				"Himal rocket pod"
			level=				"4"
			value=				"1000"
			mass=				"1200"
			frequency=			"veryrare"

			description=		"The Himal Rocket-Pod is a light rocket turret firing tungston-tipped rockets. It is not especially accurate."
			>

		<Image imageID="&rsItems1;" imageX="0" imageY="480" imageWidth="96" imageHeight="96"/>

				<Weapon
		type=				"missile"
		launcher=			"true"
		omnidirectional=		"true"
		firerate=         	"10"
		damage=			"kinetic:2d6+1 WMD1"
		missileSpeed=		"50"
		lifetime=			"45"
		powerUse=			"7"
		sound=			"&snMissileLauncher;"


						vaporTrailLength="2"
						vaporTrailWidth="800"
						vaporTrailWidthInc="-2"
						vaporTrailColor="0xd0, 0xd0, 0xd0"
						>
<Configuration aimTolerance="5">
				<Shot angle="3d10-18"/>

			</Configuration>
					<Effect>
						<Bolt
								length=				"18"
								width=				"3"
								primaryColor=		"0xcd, 0xf3, 0xff"
								secondaryColor=		"0x8f, 0xa9, 0xb2"
								/>
					</Effect>


			<HitEffect
					sound="&snArmorHit1;"
					>
				<Image imageID="&rsExplosionsAG48;"
						imageX="0"
						imageY="0"
						imageWidth="48"
						imageHeight="48"
						imageFrameCount="16"
						imageTicksPerFrame="2"/>
			</HitEffect>
		</Weapon>

		<Invoke>
			(intAutoInstall gSource gItem)
		</Invoke>
	</ItemType>
</TranscendenceExtension>
Mischievous local moderator. She/Her pronouns.
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

oh, duh! I see what went wrong.

Surprised I didn't notice it till just now

It's actually

<ItemType blahblahblah="happyface">
<Weapon poweruse="234324384789327982" launcher="true">
<Missile ammoID"&itetc;" damage, congig, everything that isn't slots, launcher & poweruse...>
I think it was missile. Look at the nami launcher and see what I mean.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
User avatar
Song
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2801
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:27 am

Uh..what?


In any case, I just got it working as a launcher! :D

Now I just need to balance it.
Mischievous local moderator. She/Her pronouns.
Post Reply