Ok, I got a cube, now what? WoW a GalaxyCrusher!!!

Freeform discussion about anything related to modding Transcendence.
Post Reply
User avatar
Metallicow
Miner
Miner
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:00 pm
Location: Planet9

Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:58 am

Anyway, I'm a blenderhead....


What is the best way to start modeling a spaceship???

Never donna Spaceship.

Tips and tricks appreciated! :) :D :evil:
Encourage Modding
Wrye Bash
Image

User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2615
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:58 pm

Try to have a look at here:

http://www.cartographersguild.com/showt ... Blender-3D

making spaceships is like modeling anything else: make a sketch or a doodle on paper of the main shape, then build the raw shape in the 3D software of your choice (blender in this case)

after that you can start adding details, like the cockpit, missiles and so on.

when you have a finished with the model you have to choose: UV mapping or plain texturing of the solid shapes you made. First is more difficult if you are not an artist (I'm not) but give much better results.

But wait, you are already a blenderhead, so I suppose that the best thing is point you to the game resources and artwork you can fiddle with:
http://www.neurohack.com/transcendence/ ... php?t=3200

I also converted all the ships in 3DS with variable results (as in broken meshes on some ships):
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/720869/transcen ... meshes.rar (34.8 MB!!!)

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5393
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:32 pm

:shock:
You finished the 3DS conversions!
:D

*goes and gets them*
(*would have done them himself were he not so lazy >.>*)
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 2x 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops

User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2615
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:10 pm

yeah, but some of the ships are partially broken, I have no idea why Truespace sometimes exports a model and makes a broken 3DS.

For the 40 facing CSC that I uploaded on Xelerus, I re-made the reactors that were broken.

I suppose I really have to try Truespace to render stuff, and , as SiaFu demonstrated, it's probably not so difficult :P

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5393
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:05 pm

... if you have any clue as to how it works... :? :lol:
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 2x 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops

User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2756
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:57 pm

I figure anything is easy after trying unreal development kit.
Image
Image

*** AWAY ON SABBATICAL ***
** USE EMAIL TO CONTACT ME **

Post Reply