Adding a Self Dividing Ship

Freeform discussion about anything related to modding Transcendence.
Dragonz
Anarchist
Anarchist

I remember watching videos of Star Trek, and becoming fascinated when they go into Saucer Separation. I want to build a ship with this capability, but not being able to get this function until you reach a certain point (like a wingman). However, I have no experience in creating ships, nor do I know where to start. :?

Could you help me with this? I'm sure I can get the wingman part down, with all of the commands, just not the separating part. I don't want it to look like you're releasing an auton from your cargo, and I don't want the ship to remain the same size. When it separates, it would be nice if you see it happen (on the hud, and ship view). I can try to figure out how to make the hud change, but to make the ship alter is going to be tough.

I have lots of ideas on where to go with this (I have been having dreams about this. Nerdy huh? :) ) and I have weapon ideas, cargo implementations, a storyline, and many more.

I just need help getting it started and I'm sure I will be able to take it from there.

Thanks guys!

Edit #1 Would this be even possible? I know that there is a mod (I can't remember the author, I think it is PM)that makes the Iocrym change to a better improved version after the first dies.
Last edited by Dragonz on Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
sun1404
Militia Captain
Militia Captain

Maybe you can use overlays to add a sort of short animation for the separation, and spawn two new ships (smaller than the old one) when the animation end?
Yes, look at my avatar, I have a wyvera type ship.
Dragonz
Anarchist
Anarchist