WTS/TG Mining Pack now working in 1.6.4 (HELP REQUIRED)

Freeform discussion about anything related to modding Transcendence.
Obletus_Grix
Anarchist
Anarchist

!!! WARNING, THIS IS NOT PRETTY !!!

Ahoy Folks - I've been tinkering with WTS and TG's Mining Pack to see if i could get it working in post 1.5 versions of Transcendence. Previously I've been stuck running 1.3 just so that I could mine my way through to the galactic core, but I really wanted to experience some of the awesome new stuff in later versions and still have the use of the mining pack.

DISCLAIMER: i'm not an experienced coder, so this solution isn't subtle...

Okay, that aside, what i've done is decompile the latest Transcendence.tdb, cut & pasted (or hacked & daubed) the mod into the core files and included the majority of the mining pack as modules instead of extensions (yes, i warned you it wasn't subtle)

I've only done this because of my limited experience and couldn't get my changes to work as an extension (which i'd prefer) if anyone is willing to help with making these changes into an extension it'd be appreciated - even just telling me roughly how to do it would be awesome. I'm expecting to kick myself.

Anyway, to test this out you will need to create a dupe of your Transcendence install folder or otherwise back up your Transcendence.tdb file. Also, you'll no longer need the WTS/TG mining pack mod, so move that out of your mods folder.

Heres the link: http://www.mediafire.com/download/6lnbk ... ndence.tdb

I've left comments next to all changes made. If you decompile with transdata, open all of the xml files with notepad++ and search in all opened documents for edit++++ you'll find said codebutchery.

I've only tested this briefly and would love some feedback. Thanks and apologies to WTS/TG and George.
Last edited by Obletus_Grix on Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral

before 2006, we were resorting to do this kind of hacks.