1.7a1a Issues that can be fixed in XML

Discussions on patches, enhancements, and other engine changes.
relanat
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 941
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:56 am

There seems to be a mix of ship and station attributes that use either commonMilitary or commonwealthMilitary.

I'm not sure if one replaced the other at some stage or if they're different.

StdTypes.xml has a list of station attributes that shows commonMilitary not commonwealthMilitary.

Similar thing with commonFleet and commonwealthFleet.

I don't know enough to know if this is a problem. Just letting everyone know.
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!
User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1190
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

Image

Mod prefixes: 0xA010 (registered) and 0xDCC8 (miscellaneous)

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)
gunship256
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 11:41 pm
Location: repairing armor

Weapon and shield enhancers should pull up dockscreens allowing the player to choose which weapon should be enhanced:

https://ministry.kronosaur.com/record.hexm?id=55029
relanat
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 941
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:56 am

In RPGArmorDockScreens.xml.

In the DockScreen UNID="&dsRPGManageMiscDevices;". Line 378

In the <ListOptions section a whole heap of tlisp is purple/blue not black (using NPP+ with normal highlighting).

Same with DockScreen UNID="&dsRPGManageWeapons;" further down. Line 787

Once again I don't know enough to know if it's a problem just pointing it out.
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!
NMS
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 569
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:26 am

That's because it's an attribute of an element (inside an element tag), rather than an element (between opening and closing tags). It might be bad style, but it's not wrong.
User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1190
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

 That does remind me, though:

Code: Select all

			<StargateTable>
				<Group chance="50">
					<Stargate from="A3:Outbound" to="A3A:Inbound"/>
					<Stargate from="A3A:Outbound" to="PJ:Inbound"/>
				</Group>
				<Stargate chance="50" from="A3:Outbound" to="PJ:Inbound"/>
			</StargateTable>
 Change to:

Code: Select all

			<StargateTable>
				<Group chance="50">
					<Stargate from="A3:Outbound" to="A3A:Inbound"/>
					<Stargate from="A3A:Outbound" to="PJ:Inbound"/>
				</Group>
				<Stargate chance="50" from="A3A:Outbound" to="PJ:Inbound"/>
			</StargateTable>
 That will fix the topology so that vanilla/EP crossovers will be able to finish the Luminous arc instead of having a three system chain disconnected and inaccessible from the main gateline.
Image

Mod prefixes: 0xA010 (registered) and 0xDCC8 (miscellaneous)

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)
NMS
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 569
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:26 am

I don't see any difference.

Also, I don't think it makes sense plot- or timeline-wise to be able to do Luminous and Heretic in the same game, but if you wanted to, couldn't the adventure/extension include the necessary links?
User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1190
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

 The stargate outside the <Group> section is A3 in the original code, A3A in the adjusted code.
Image

Mod prefixes: 0xA010 (registered) and 0xDCC8 (miscellaneous)

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)
User avatar
TheLoneWolf
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 802
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 5:03 pm
Location: Aboard the CSS Radiant

Uses of Water Ice. Like in COOLDOWNS. Say you have fired an Ares turret. Now you may consume water ice to make it fire again. If you don't have Water Ice, then wait for cooldown.

Or thrusters have a superspeed mode that requires Water ice to cooldown. Or else, damage to hull.

And somebody fix/remove XMH armour.
User avatar
Song
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2801
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:27 am

TheLoneWolf wrote:Uses of Water Ice. Like in COOLDOWNS. Say you have fired an Ares turret. Now you may consume water ice to make it fire again. If you don't have Water Ice, then wait for cooldown.

Or thrusters have a superspeed mode that requires Water ice to cooldown. Or else, damage to hull.

And somebody fix/remove XMH armour.
This is really for bugfixes, rather than for new stuff.
Mischievous local moderator. She/Her pronouns.
gunship256
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 11:41 pm
Location: repairing armor

gunship256 wrote:Weapon and shield enhancers should pull up dockscreens allowing the player to choose which weapon should be enhanced:

https://ministry.kronosaur.com/record.hexm?id=55029
Here's a mod with the proposed changes as well as a few other modifications:

https://forums.kronosaur.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=7698
gunship256
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 11:41 pm
Location: repairing armor

Domina Restore: bug and armor repair inconsistency

If the player invokes Restore while the ship's shield is disabled, the shield isn't properly charged. EDIT: In this situation, Domina should repair armor instead.

Stations and repair kits can repair armor segments at 0 hp (1.7 alpha), but Restore can't. Restore should be able to repair armor regardless of its damage level.

It would also be nice if the player could choose from a dockscreen whether to let Domina restore armor or shields. Currently, Domina only repairs armor if a shield isn't installed. Since armor is tougher than shields, the current Domina functionality biases the player toward playing without a shield installed.

Here's the ministry ticket:

https://ministry.kronosaur.com/record.hexm?id=55596

Here's a mod with the proposed changes:

https://forums.kronosaur.com/viewtopic. ... 09&p=69573
Last edited by gunship256 on Sat May 07, 2016 3:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1190
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

gunship256 wrote:Weapon and shield enhancers should pull up dockscreens allowing the player to choose which weapon should be enhanced:
gunship256 wrote:It would also be nice if the player could choose from a dockscreen whether to let Domina restore armor or shields.
 Those would be content changes (albeit minor ones), not fixes. On the other hand, just having Domina not try to recharge a disabled shield could be argued to be a fix — I can’t see how that would be considered to be desired behavior. Domina does need be able to repair armor below 25%, though, if stations can do it now.
Image

Mod prefixes: 0xA010 (registered) and 0xDCC8 (miscellaneous)

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)
gunship256
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 11:41 pm
Location: repairing armor

AssumedPseudonym wrote:On the other hand, just having Domina not try to recharge a disabled shield could be argued to be a fix — I can’t see how that would be considered to be desired behavior.
Restore currently doesn't recharge disabled shields. I'm suggesting as a fix that Restore first enable the shield automatically without the player's needing to use the 'B' key, then recharge it. Sorry - I think my wording was unclear. I'll fix it on the Ministry post.

The mod that I linked to does automatically enable shields before recharging them.
User avatar
AssumedPseudonym
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1190
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:18 am
Location: On the other side of the screen.

 Domina shouldn’t try to recharge a disabled shield, I mean. If your shield is disabled, She should just go straight to patching up your armor, instead. (If the shield is disabled, odds are that either it was done deliberately, it was drawing too much power for the reactor, or you have meteorsteel armor — none of which are situations where it would make sense to enable and recharge it since you would either just want to disable it again or it would get automatically disabled again on its own.) I could have been clearer on that, myself.
Image

Mod prefixes: 0xA010 (registered) and 0xDCC8 (miscellaneous)

My mods on Xelerus: Click here!

Of all the things I’ve lost in life, I miss my mind the least. (I’m having a lot more fun without it!)
Post Reply