Zero point energy

Talk about anything not related to Transcendence.
Harbringer
Miner
Miner

There was a really nice idea in Stargate: Atlantis.
The ancients were using Zero-point modules for power-hungry devices - however they couldn't draw out energy from their dimension, obivously, so they created a new "layer"(????????) of subspace and started drawing energy out of it with the ZPM till it reached the state of Complete Entropy.
At least, that's what they said in it, as far as i can decipher, since i'm not a techie...

Here's a better explanation & more info on it:
Zero-point energy
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zero_point_energy
ZPM (Zee-Pee-Emm/Zed-P-M)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zero_Point ... int_Module
Yay. I have an internet connection again.
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral

Split topic, the other was from 2006.

Zero Point Energy is indeed interesting, personally I first thought about it from Stargate Atlantis, but the power it would release would likely power much more then one lost city. :)
Harbringer
Miner
Miner

Well, powering an indestructible shield probably needs a LOT of energy.
Powering drives that can lift an Ancient city-ship propably needs a LOT of energy.
Then, there's the hyperspace drive that likely needs a LOT of power to cross several millions of lightyears in a mere few hours...
Then, here's wikipedia's info on the Drone Weapon...