Armor Graphics Tutorial

This is a moderated forum that collects tutorials, guides, and references for creating Transcendence extensions and scripts.
AssumedPseudonym
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer

A N   A B S O L U T E   B E G I N N E R ’ S   G U I D E   T O   A R M O R   G R A P H I C S
(by an absolute beginner)

This tutorial is for customizing armor graphics. I have absolutely zero knowledge in any graphics program other than GIMP, so that’s what I’m using. Most of it should translate into other art programs, though, I would expect. This tutorial will assume that you have at least basic working knowledge of the program you’re using, and that you know how to set UNIDs for graphic resources (which, if you’re making your own ship, you should). This is also the first tutorial I’ve ever written — for anything — so bear with me.

First, the main part of the ship’s code you need to look at for this tutorial is the <ArmorDisplay> section, so let’s look at, say, the Sapphire’s:

Code: Select all

<ArmorDisplay>
    <ShipImage imageID="&rsArmorHUDShip_Sapphire;" imageWidth="136" imageHeight="136"/>

<ArmorSection name="forward"
      imageID="&rsZubrinArmor;" 
      imageX="0" imageY="0" imageWidth="52" imageHeight="29"
      destX="42" destY="15" hpX="55" hpY="14"
      nameY="8" nameBreakWidth="200" nameDestX="0" nameDestY="10" />

<ArmorSection name="starboard"
      imageX="52" imageY="0" imageWidth="22" imageHeight="59"
      destX="92" destY="45" hpX="95" hpY="60"
      nameY="30" nameBreakWidth="360" nameDestX="12" nameDestY="0" />

<ArmorSection name="port"
      imageX="142" imageY="0" imageWidth="22" imageHeight="59"
      destX="22" destY="45" hpX="15" hpY="60"
      nameY="52" nameBreakWidth="200" nameDestX="0" nameDestY="8" />

<ArmorSection name="aft"
      imageX="74" imageY="0" imageWidth="68" imageHeight="14"
      destX="34" destY="103" hpX="55" hpY="105"
      nameY="74" nameBreakWidth="360" nameDestX="12" nameDestY="0" />
  </ArmorDisplay>