Page 1 of 2

Some debug help

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:53 pm
by george moromisato
http://www.neurohack.com/public/forums/DebugCode.xml

Take the file above and put it in your Extensions folder (you'll need to right-click on the link and select "Save As...")

Start a game in debug mode (/debug) switch and bring up the command windows (F9)

Now type in (notice the ' in front of shpOrder):

(help 'shpOrder)

You will get back a list of all Transcendence functions that start with the string "shpOrder"

For now, this works with all built-in Transcendence functions. It does not work with functions defined in script. It currently does not work with the built-in primitives (such as (list) and (count))

----

The only other function in that Extensions file is also fun. Try:

(testShipClass 'phobos)

Enjoy!

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:17 pm
by Yugi
Now that is just awesome! :D
Summoning a Phobos like that is just... awesome. Could be interesting to do so in Heretic.
Can we summon any other ships like that yet?

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:28 pm
by Yugi
You can summon multiple ones, too!

Image

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:51 pm
by george moromisato
Yugimotomanager wrote:Now that is just awesome! :D
Summoning a Phobos like that is just... awesome. Could be interesting to do so in Heretic.
Can we summon any other ships like that yet?
Cool! I'm glad you liked it!

You can actually summon any ship in the game. Just enter the ship-class name instead of 'phobos.

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:13 pm
by hex
Very Cool! :D

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 1:19 am
by The Wicked Flea
I liked trying this:

Code: Select all

(for i 0 9 (testShipClass 'phobos))
:twisted:

I died quickly of course, but the net result was absolutely awesome!

Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:03 am
by Kamikaze
Hmm...

Any way to tie the command to an item? Like using an item or docking? Or firing? Could get a noob in trouble. Godmod weapon, advertised as such, and every time it fires, a Phobos spawns. It would need a slow firing rate or you'd have godmodders PO'd that their comp locked up when about 100 Phobos started filling the screen. Ouch.

Teach them not to godmod. :twisted:

Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 12:44 pm
by schilcote
Is there something similar for stations? I could really use it.

Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 2:30 pm
by F50
its just like scripting I think:

try:

(sysCreateStation &CharonPirateOutpost; gPlayerShip)

Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:25 pm
by Periculi
George did you update the (help )? I was able to get my own functions to show up in the console with this now. Yay!

Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:47 pm
by Betelgeuse
nope it always had that feature 8)

Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 1:34 pm
by Mutos
Hi all,


I'm trying to get things get into the bedug log. I can open the console and I have dbgOutput in my scripts, but nothing shows... Sorry for lack of precision...

Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:06 pm
by digdug
If you want debug lines to show up in the console use dbgOutput.
If you want debug lines to show up the debug.log use dbgLog.

both of the functions accept a string after them so if you want to show up a variable, you have to convert it to a string.
To do that i normally use the function "cat" like this

(dbgLog (cat "My variable returns: " myVariable))


If you want more explanations please post in here:
http://www.neurohack.com/transcendence/ ... php?t=1811
This sticky topic is here to show the help extension made by George and not as a help to debug scripts. :)

Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 3:36 pm
by Mutos
Hi digdug, hi all,


Thanks digdug for the answer ! Sorry for the wrong posting place.

Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:47 pm
by Betelgeuse
dbglog and dbgOutput are a bit different than that digdug

It takes any amount of arguments and outputs them to the log file or console. The arguments can be lists numbers or strings. (I think it was changed in .99 as lists used to not work)