Flying blind (user activation)

Discuss the community, including forums, xelerus, wiki, chat, and trac.
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5368
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:26 am

Because phpbb3 doesn't let users fill out any profile info, all we have is the name and the email to go by. :|
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:28 am

Compared to what? I assume you're looking at the newest user, Sergeant Jomn? I just saw him sign up too.

Did phpBB2 let you see more info? I registered so long ago, I forgot what I had to do to sign up.... :|

User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2755
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:38 am

Wolfy, keep this in one or two threads. :D c'mon man. :D

If we had akismet, we might be able to detect spammers, however your right without any information extra you can't detect a spammer very well. there is an akismet mod so I assume its possible. But I don't know how.
Image
Image

*** AWAY ON SABBATICAL ***
** USE EMAIL TO CONTACT ME **

User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2755
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:50 am

wee can mod phpbb to allow the fields also we can do higher capticas and email verification and a question word?
Image
Image

*** AWAY ON SABBATICAL ***
** USE EMAIL TO CONTACT ME **

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Thu Feb 03, 2011 4:25 am

Ttech wrote:wee can mod phpbb to allow the fields also we can do higher capticas and email verification and a question word?
I once signed up for DevDB but never did anything. Now THAT was a hard test...I failed three times before I could even get my account through.. :|

Use a few things like: "When was the war of 1819?", or "What is a caninis familiaris?", "In 50 words or less, describe Nuclear Fusion and it's effects on wars" eg. Simple stuff like that. :D

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5368
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Thu Feb 03, 2011 4:36 am

O_O
that was hard?

...

I'll make it easier then.

@ ttech - the only way to add that stuff is through directly modifying phpbb3's code
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Thu Feb 03, 2011 4:40 am

Wolfy wrote:O_O
that was hard?
I got most of it....but there was a stupid one that I failed on. Repeat these numbers in reverse -- but you used words, and the answer needed to be in numbers and you didn't specify that. >.<

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5368
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Thu Feb 03, 2011 4:38 pm

ooooohhhhh... :lol:
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2614
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:05 am

I believe that a simple Captcha box will block most (if not all) bots.

An alternative is a sandbox sub-forum, where newly registered people can post there and only there before activation.
They could post a hello message so that we know they are human beings and activate them.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5368
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:09 am

lol
there already /is/ a captcha box ;)

but yeah, you're right that it might be doable to make a "sandbox" - problem is that we'd have to have someone there rather constantly to zap bots and bot posts.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2755
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:22 am

Wolfy wrote:lol
there already /is/ a captcha box ;)

but yeah, you're right that it might be doable to make a "sandbox" - problem is that we'd have to have someone there rather constantly to zap bots and bot posts.
we could do email activations. :)
Image
Image

*** AWAY ON SABBATICAL ***
** USE EMAIL TO CONTACT ME **

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5368
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:28 am

Unfortunatly, you can't do email and admin activations at the same time... >.>
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Fri Feb 04, 2011 3:31 am

So far, I haven't seen any bot's registering...either you guys are being really efficient, or the number is far less than before. CAPTCHA tends to stop most stuff....unless the bots are getting really smart. >.>

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5368
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Fri Feb 04, 2011 3:51 am

Actually, its just PHPBB's interface; they don't show up until we activate them ;)
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
ThePrivateer
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 943
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Starton Australia

Fri Feb 04, 2011 4:00 am

Wolfy wrote:Actually, its just PHPBB's interface; they don't show up until we activate them ;)
Ahhhh. I see. :o

Post Reply