RC2

New releases and announcements from George and the staff.
User avatar
Wurmish
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 2:26 am
Location: A tesseract

Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:53 pm

Could just be your luck, or maybe Heretic was tweaked in subtle ways.
My first mod, mostly done, still balance testing.
http://xelerus.de/index.php?s=mod&id=789

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:32 pm

Wurmish wrote:Could just be your luck, or maybe Heretic was tweaked in subtle ways.
It might not be entirely luck. I've found that with the AI improvements in RC2, stations get killed much faster. If necessary, I might lengthen the time between attacks even more (or decrease the number of sentinels)

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:36 pm

Wolfy wrote:--update on non-firing freighters--
I finally got an Antares II that had functional weapons (it was on a mission to gate out)... but all the others just didn;t seem to fire
One "improvement" in RC1 and RC2 is that most ships only attack enemies if they've been fired upon first (actually, if the enemy has fired a weapon in a certain period of time).

Next time you do a Korolov mission and the freighter is not firing, wait until the pirates start shooting and see if the freighter fires back.

I might tweak this to make freighters fire on enemies that have targeted them.

[p.s.: The aggressor="true" flag in AISettings overrides the above behavior.]

User avatar
Fossaman
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:56 am
Location: Traveling to the galactic core

Tue Nov 10, 2009 5:39 pm

Wait...so my refugee convoys aren't going to take potshots at ares sentries anymore? Awesome.
X-ray laser! Pew, pew pew!
> = = = = ۞

User avatar
Darth Saber
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 4:53 pm
Location: Korriban

Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:19 pm

Greetings George; now that I have been advised of where to obtain thy two RC versions, I shall with joy enjoin in their testing. George, shall the mods which we have created in the past for version .98d and .99c work within this new framework or no? :twisted:

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:22 pm

Darth Saber wrote:George, shall the mods which we have created in the past for version .98d and .99c work within this new framework or no? :twisted:
It is my intent that mods that work in .99 also work in 1.0--but if they don't, file a bug and let me know.

Viperion
Miner
Miner
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:47 am

Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:38 pm

After another playthrough, I would say that Heretic is even harder in RC2 than RC1 and I can't keep enough stations alive to be able to finish the game using the station missions. I even tried going directly to the Iocrym Outposts and killing them before doing anything else, and still lost too many stations. I think the attack intervals need to be lengthened if you do intend to give the player a chance at completion via station missions.

The Hyper Viper

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Tue Nov 10, 2009 8:14 pm

that is interesting, but i think that if a ship has a weapon, it should fire it in the event that it does not need to change its motion to do so. this way, ships can still act defensively while continuing on their way. i think it would be rather odd not to at least attampt using your omnidirectional weapons if there was an oportunity to use it when there is nothing lost in doing so. to have the ship get sidetracked to the point it deviates from its mission.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:59 am

george moromisato wrote:
One "improvement" in RC1 and RC2 is that most ships only attack enemies if they've been fired upon first (actually, if the enemy has fired a weapon in a certain period of time).

Next time you do a Korolov mission and the freighter is not firing, wait until the pirates start shooting and see if the freighter fires back.

I might tweak this to make freighters fire on enemies that have targeted them.

[p.s.: The aggressor="true" flag in AISettings overrides the above behavior.]
I got it only to work on one more ship, an EI1700... And I've escorted about 10-15 ships... I sorta cheated via godmod and got an antares V I wasn't escorting to shoot the pirates by assigning it as an escort to the ship I was escorting, mostly just to see if it would actually work.

@ fossaman - what does taking potshots at ares sentries going to do? wouldn't the ares sentries have attacked anyways?
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:13 am

Wolfy wrote:I got it only to work on one more ship, an EI1700... And I've escorted about 10-15 ships... I sorta cheated via godmod and got an antares V I wasn't escorting to shoot the pirates by assigning it as an escort to the ship I was escorting, mostly just to see if it would actually work.
If the pirates are firing and the freighter is not firing, then that's a bug, and you should send me the save file. Otherwise, it's working as designed (though we can argue about the design).

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:25 am

george moromisato wrote:
Wolfy wrote:I got it only to work on one more ship, an EI1700... And I've escorted about 10-15 ships... I sorta cheated via godmod and got an antares V I wasn't escorting to shoot the pirates by assigning it as an escort to the ship I was escorting, mostly just to see if it would actually work.
If the pirates are firing and the freighter is not firing, then that's a bug, and you should send me the save file. Otherwise, it's working as designed (though we can argue about the design).
Ok, yeah, the pirates are firing, and the freighter isn't.
I'll start a new game and find a korolov to test this with.

http://wiki.neurohack.com/transcendence/trac/ticket/119 <--- I added the savefile here along with the version of godmod and its dependencies I'm currently using.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

User avatar
Betelgeuse
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1920
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 6:31 am

Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:09 am

random question in damage events do you have access to the shot object that caused that event? (so you can get data from when it was shot and not current data)
Crying is not a proper retort!

schilcote
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:22 pm

Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:34 pm

Did you fix the collimator stacking bug? I was going to make a mod with a special sort of laser and kinetic enhancing device that is less effective but it stacks...
[schilcote] It doesn't have to be good, it just has to not be "wow is that the only thing you could think of" bad

george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2877
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:25 pm

schilcote wrote:Did you fix the collimator stacking bug? I was going to make a mod with a special sort of laser and kinetic enhancing device that is less effective but it stacks...
Yes, it's fixed. If you want your device to stack, then leave the enhancementType= attribute blank. That should cause it to stack with anything.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Wed Nov 11, 2009 6:06 pm

Do CSC's drop armor anymore? since it seems like they don't anymore.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image

Post Reply