Next Paid Extension Poll

New releases and announcements from George and the staff.

What content would you like to see next?

Poll ended at Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:05 pm

Black Market
2
4%
Sisters of Domina
2
4%
Near stars (This includes Sol & Earth)
19
41%
The beginning of Part II (The galaxy beyond Heretic)
11
24%
Battle Arena Stand-alone adventure
1
2%
Beginning of a totally new adventure (non-Pilgrim)
5
11%
Ares vs. Commonwealth War
6
13%
 
Total votes: 46
Datal
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:54 pm
Location: Hyno Gunship

According to my opinion, the main part of the game should remain free. I mean part II. As a paid extension I like the idea of ​​the black market and so I voted :)
Also I agree with Shrike:
Shrike wrote:I'd love to see a lower-level adventure.....nothing over Level 6 or so in terms of equipment, lots of diverse stations and events and stuff....since the game has a lot of content relatively early on, it'd be great to see an adventure using the more "alive" part of the QZ. I'm probably fairly alone in that though. I'd probably pay for most of these.
~You're not alone :wink:
User avatar
Autohummer
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 10:51 am

I've been wanting to see Earth a long time, and perhaps even align with some of the earth factions (I am a very patriotic Terran. :D)
Has resurfaced!
RPC
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Hmm... I'm confused. Anybody have a starmap to the Core?

I second both Datal and Autohummer. Free Part II and yay Earth! :D
Tutorial List on the Wiki and Installing Mods
Get on Discord for mod help and general chat
Image
Image
Der Tod ist der zeitlose Frieden und das leben ist der Krieg
Wir müssen wissen — wir werden wissen!
I don't want any sort of copyright on my Transcendence mods. Feel free to take/modify whatever you want.
User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2616
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

George said more than one time that he planned hundreds of systems for Part II, this is definitely a massive project with a long development time.

In my opinion Part II could be easily splitted in a free main plot and a number of paid adventures. This will make people happy because part II will be released sooner (as development time would be smaller for a smaller main plot part II), while still generating revenue for George for the contents he will deliver for part II (the paid adventures).
User avatar
sun1404
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 527
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:32 am
Location: Heretic. (Finally!)

Hundreds of systems in a game? We'd most likely need a new save algorithm. Just the Network can get the save file so big the game crash on load (maybe it's the cause, maybe not. The game does crash on load in Network's late game anyhow.) Anyway, I think it's pretty clear the game loads slower with a bigger save file. If we have hundreds of systems, it'll be impossible to use the old saving method. Maybe save the systems in separate files, and make the save file points to them? (Like Dwarf Fortress?) Or maybe we'll need to let the game 'forget' the older systems. Either they're randomized again when we go back, or they become inaccessible after we pass. (Star gate malfunction, destroyed, blocked, changed destination or something.) and erase the data to keep the save small.
Yes, look at my avatar, I have a wyvera type ship.
RPC
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Hmm... I'm confused. Anybody have a starmap to the Core?

sun1404 wrote: Either they're randomized again when we go back
That's actually a really good idea. It would simulate time passing and stuff :D
Tutorial List on the Wiki and Installing Mods
Get on Discord for mod help and general chat
Image
Image
Der Tod ist der zeitlose Frieden und das leben ist der Krieg
Wir müssen wissen — wir werden wissen!
I don't want any sort of copyright on my Transcendence mods. Feel free to take/modify whatever you want.
jakejoachim2013
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 2:39 pm

I also think part II should be free:) if not then i'll see how much it costs.
~Jake Joachim
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5400
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

I thought the large save file crash-on-load error was fixed, and due to running out of memory from the many dynamic types that planet parallax was creating?

Or maybe this is a different issue.
But if its crashing from system count.... once a lot of Expanded Universe content starts coming out, a fix for that will probably be necessary
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 1080ti | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
RPC
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Hmm... I'm confused. Anybody have a starmap to the Core?

@ Wolfy: It doesn't matter how you reach the memory limit. You could use Planet Parallax or Network, etc but I think with very large (24+ hours) and very long (30+ star systems) games the error becomes more common.
Tutorial List on the Wiki and Installing Mods
Get on Discord for mod help and general chat
Image
Image
Der Tod ist der zeitlose Frieden und das leben ist der Krieg
Wir müssen wissen — wir werden wissen!
I don't want any sort of copyright on my Transcendence mods. Feel free to take/modify whatever you want.
Jay2Jay
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:57 am

RPC wrote:@ Wolfy: It doesn't matter how you reach the memory limit. You could use Planet Parallax or Network, etc but I think with very large (24+ hours) and very long (30+ star systems) games the error becomes more common.
Remember how I did a 100 system game that time? I never had a save error, and the Network has never given me problems, no matter how big the game (unless I have as many mods as you did in succession #4) as long as it loads the first time it loads no matter how many times I play.
User avatar
sun1404
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 527
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:32 am
Location: Heretic. (Finally!)

I think it might have some relevance to your computer's total memory. My virtual machine have only 1024 Mb. allocated. If you have a computer with bigger memory, you might be able to load saves with bigger size. I've observed that when I run many processes and my computer's memory is used to much, loading will more often fail, even if the game isn't lagging. And the problem will be gone when I clear my computer's memory, most of the times.
Yes, look at my avatar, I have a wyvera type ship.
Jay2Jay
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:57 am

sun1404 wrote:I think it might have some relevance to your computer's total memory. My virtual machine have only 1024 Mb. allocated. If you have a computer with bigger memory, you might be able to load saves with bigger size. I've observed that when I run many processes and my computer's memory is used to much, loading will more often fail, even if the game isn't lagging. And the problem will be gone when I clear my computer's memory, most of the times.
I have 8gbs of RAM and a 100gb pagefile along with an AMD A8 APU (that has nothing to do with the graphics card in this situation) with Radeon HD graphics. I also force Transcendence to run High Priority and sometimes use Razer Game Booster along with FPS booster (changes the timer frequency of the CPU I think) so I almost never have lag. This may be why I never have trouble.
Vachtra
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 306
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:03 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

I know we've all been waiting for part II to come out but it isn't the core. The core is part I, it's what gets people into the game and makes me, and I would hope everyone, willing and eager to pay for part II as well as other adventures. George has already said that part II would be a major undertaking (hopefully already in the works) and he should not go unrewarded for all his efforts. I am slowly and painstakingly trying to create one myself and, although I'm still learning and probably exponentially slower, can empathize with the time/cost of building an adventure. It isn't just more of the same of part I which is what most of the adventures made on Xerelus really are.

This is why I chose Part II.
"Have you guys ever watched the show?" ~ Guy
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5400
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

RPC & Jay2Jay
I think the difference in what you are reporting may be due to how the game handles system generation differently now?

Previously it would generate systems as you progressed: now everything is generated at the start of the game, hence why if it loads up now it probably wont have a problem (unless you have things where new things are being constantly built)
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 1080ti | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
RPC
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Hmm... I'm confused. Anybody have a starmap to the Core?

@ Wolfy At this point I have no idea so I'll just wait until it happens again and file a bug report + save file.
Tutorial List on the Wiki and Installing Mods
Get on Discord for mod help and general chat
Image
Image
Der Tod ist der zeitlose Frieden und das leben ist der Krieg
Wir müssen wissen — wir werden wissen!
I don't want any sort of copyright on my Transcendence mods. Feel free to take/modify whatever you want.
Post Reply