First of all, I believe my version of Transcendence is 1.9.402. I downloaded it in 2022, but hadn't gotten around to playing it until the last couple weeks.
I'm currently in the Heretic system. I escorted the Svalbard Explorer around the stations around the star, and destroyed the Pteravores. But now the mission isn't progressing further. Instead, the explorer heads to the stargate to the previous system, and leaves. If I leave through the stargate as well and then return, the Svalbard Explorer does the same thing again, apparently stuck in a loop. I tested several times and exited the game a couple times, hoping it would work right, but it has not. Does anyone know what's gone wrong here?
Svalbard Explorer not completing
Something in the Svalbard Explorer mission has glitched by the sound of it. The ship doesn't normally leave the system.
No promises but I'll have a look at it if you attach the 'debug.log' file from the Transcendence folder. Also the relevant '.sav' file from the Games folder.
No promises but I'll have a look at it if you attach the 'debug.log' file from the Transcendence folder. Also the relevant '.sav' file from the Games folder.
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!
I'd started thinking this forum was dead. Glad to see there are some people still around.
I've attached the debug.log file, but when I tried to attach the .sav file, the forum gave me this error:
Invalid file extension: Iconian-7261.sav
I've attached the debug.log file, but when I tried to attach the .sav file, the forum gave me this error:
Invalid file extension: Iconian-7261.sav
- Attachments
-
- Debug.log
- (21.66 KiB) Downloaded 947 times
Try compressing the sav filei nto a zip file. It should attach then although it might be too big.
If it is too big, create a "New record" in the "Transcendence Dev" section of the Ministry, ministry.kronosaur.com.
Explain what happened and attach the sav there.
If it is too big, create a "New record" in the "Transcendence Dev" section of the Ministry, ministry.kronosaur.com.
Explain what happened and attach the sav there.
Stupid code. Do what I want, not what I typed in!
- dxrknvght
- Anarchist
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2024 10:46 am
- Location: that distant cursing you heard was actually me, searching for the antarctica
I have the same problem!
I'm trying to open the .sav file in Notepad++ and fiddling with the encoding but no matter what it looks like gibberish, can someone tell me how to edit these files? thanks
I'm trying to open the .sav file in Notepad++ and fiddling with the encoding but no matter what it looks like gibberish, can someone tell me how to edit these files? thanks

ninety-one degrees and the world spins three-sixty
- Aury
- Fleet Admiral
- Posts: 5469
- Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
- Location: At the VSS Shipyards in the frontier, designing new ships.
Almost all of the save file is raw bytes - it was meant to be a compact format optimized for read/write by a machine, not a human-readable format.
The save was almost certainly repaired by loading it up in a client that has debug mode enabled, and then opening the in-game console (available in debug mode), and running a tlisp command in the console that unstuck the mission.
Unfortunately I don't know what that command would be off-hand, without reverse engineering that specific mission.
The save was almost certainly repaired by loading it up in a client that has debug mode enabled, and then opening the in-game console (available in debug mode), and running a tlisp command in the console that unstuck the mission.
Unfortunately I don't know what that command would be off-hand, without reverse engineering that specific mission.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
<New tutorials, modding resources, and official extension stuff coming to this space soon!>
<New tutorials, modding resources, and official extension stuff coming to this space soon!>
- dxrknvght
- Anarchist
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2024 10:46 am
- Location: that distant cursing you heard was actually me, searching for the antarctica
it's also a world with a @#$! ton of mods and stuff so yeah it's probably bugged : (
I'm pretty sure it went like this:
- Started the quest
- Destroyed a lair and got a couple bugs on me
- Kept on destroying stuff, refueled a couple times (2 or 3)
- Some bugs got to the explorer, I had to refuel it a bunch of times (like 5-6 times, with hadron cells too
)
- finished destroying everything then looked around and couldn't find the explorer
- the guy just decides to go to the stargate, so i followed him
- bro was not there so I went back
- and then he keeps spawning in the sun and beelining for the stargate
- I tried blasting him a couple times too to see if it changed anything (it didn't)
- I also tried repeating the cycle a ton of times to see if it counted as exploring but apparently it doesn't
Is this good for the command? also i wouldn't mind starting over the quest, if there's something like that : )
I'm just kinda mad bc it's my second world in which I did a lot of grinding and all the other quests are locked bc I have to finish this one
I'm pretty sure it went like this:
- Started the quest
- Destroyed a lair and got a couple bugs on me
- Kept on destroying stuff, refueled a couple times (2 or 3)
- Some bugs got to the explorer, I had to refuel it a bunch of times (like 5-6 times, with hadron cells too

- finished destroying everything then looked around and couldn't find the explorer
- the guy just decides to go to the stargate, so i followed him
- bro was not there so I went back
- and then he keeps spawning in the sun and beelining for the stargate
- I tried blasting him a couple times too to see if it changed anything (it didn't)
- I also tried repeating the cycle a ton of times to see if it counted as exploring but apparently it doesn't
Is this good for the command? also i wouldn't mind starting over the quest, if there's something like that : )
I'm just kinda mad bc it's my second world in which I did a lot of grinding and all the other quests are locked bc I have to finish this one
ninety-one degrees and the world spins three-sixty
- Aury
- Fleet Admiral
- Posts: 5469
- Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
- Location: At the VSS Shipyards in the frontier, designing new ships.
Oh, yeah its quite likely a mod is breaking it unfortunately. That also makes guessing the correct command to workaround it harder if a mod is touching any of the mission scripting there
I think you might need something like this
If that doesnt work though, something probably did completely bust the mission system in heretic largely unrecoverably.
I think you might need something like this
Code: Select all
(msnSetData (msnFind "* +unid:&msHereticSvalbard;") 'status 'dockAtControlPoint)
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
<New tutorials, modding resources, and official extension stuff coming to this space soon!>
<New tutorials, modding resources, and official extension stuff coming to this space soon!>
- dxrknvght
- Anarchist
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2024 10:46 am
- Location: that distant cursing you heard was actually me, searching for the antarctica
Thanks man!
what kind of programming language is that
i've never seen the like
anyway I tried it and it tells me "Nil", idk if it's because the explorer despawned through the stargate? but there's no way in hell i'm typing that in before it leaves, I can't paste stuff in the console :'(
It's probably the Network mod I guess, I don't have anything else that modifies that kinda stuff
I also tried the barrelroll thing
Also, there's a bug in my game where every single dead ship is the dead sapphire texture (the wrecks that generate naturally have the correct image)? idk if it's a texture atlas shift or something, again with the Network mod : ( The stations are fine though
what kind of programming language is that

anyway I tried it and it tells me "Nil", idk if it's because the explorer despawned through the stargate? but there's no way in hell i'm typing that in before it leaves, I can't paste stuff in the console :'(
It's probably the Network mod I guess, I don't have anything else that modifies that kinda stuff
I also tried the barrelroll thing

Also, there's a bug in my game where every single dead ship is the dead sapphire texture (the wrecks that generate naturally have the correct image)? idk if it's a texture atlas shift or something, again with the Network mod : ( The stations are fine though
ninety-one degrees and the world spins three-sixty
- Aury
- Fleet Admiral
- Posts: 5469
- Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
- Location: At the VSS Shipyards in the frontier, designing new ships.
its t-lisp, a lisp-based scripting language for transcendence
a script will respond with 'Nil' if the outermost function happens to return Nil. I dont know what the intended return values for msnSetData are off-hand, but its probably normal/expected. If the explorer has permanently despawned and is nolonger showing up, there is not much that can be done at that point I think, at least not trivially
Network is super old iirc, so its possible that broke things.
The barrelroll thing in our signature is just a joke lol
Thats a very weird bug, definitely a mod causing that.
a script will respond with 'Nil' if the outermost function happens to return Nil. I dont know what the intended return values for msnSetData are off-hand, but its probably normal/expected. If the explorer has permanently despawned and is nolonger showing up, there is not much that can be done at that point I think, at least not trivially
Network is super old iirc, so its possible that broke things.
The barrelroll thing in our signature is just a joke lol
Thats a very weird bug, definitely a mod causing that.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
<New tutorials, modding resources, and official extension stuff coming to this space soon!>
<New tutorials, modding resources, and official extension stuff coming to this space soon!>
- dxrknvght
- Anarchist
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2024 10:46 am
- Location: that distant cursing you heard was actually me, searching for the antarctica
ah no, it is showing up every time I enter the system, it just leaves/despawns pretty quick
guess I'll have to train up some speedtyping skills then lol
Network is really nice though it adds so much stuff, haven't found anything like it, but I did swap out the galaxy background it was kinda weird and blurry
alright then I'll try the fast command thing it'll probably fix it i hope
happy new year btw, i like the dragon : D
guess I'll have to train up some speedtyping skills then lol
Network is really nice though it adds so much stuff, haven't found anything like it, but I did swap out the galaxy background it was kinda weird and blurry
alright then I'll try the fast command thing it'll probably fix it i hope
happy new year btw, i like the dragon : D
ninety-one degrees and the world spins three-sixty
- Aury
- Fleet Admiral
- Posts: 5469
- Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
- Location: At the VSS Shipyards in the frontier, designing new ships.
IIRC network mainly adds systems, with some adjustments to the non-random systems?
If you have changed the state of the mission once, it should persist. I guess its still spawning and leaving the gate anyways?
If you have changed the state of the mission once, it should persist. I guess its still spawning and leaving the gate anyways?
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
<New tutorials, modding resources, and official extension stuff coming to this space soon!>
<New tutorials, modding resources, and official extension stuff coming to this space soon!>