Weird Error [1.0 RC6]

These are old bug reports that have been closed.
User avatar
Corporal Jomn
Miner
Miner
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:07 pm
Location: A place, somewhere

Sun Feb 07, 2010 4:14 am

Occasionally, when I select a new ship from the ship selection screen, when the credits roll, I get the message: "Transcendence has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience." It's not from the program itself, it's from Windows. Please help.

Mod List
Mine
Commenwealth with Custom Ships
Commenwealth Fleet with Custom Ships
Point Juno with Custom Ships
Osaka NPC Ships
Player Ships Extended
Battle Arena Wingman
Aeonic
Stalwart
Starlight
Praetorian
Molotok
Bobby
UG Wingmen v2.3
Prophet
Merchant Emporium
PKoden
NoDockNavBeacons

I believe that's all of them.

EDIT: Here's the debug:
Normal-

Code: Select all

02/07/2010 10:03:25	Start logging session
02/07/2010 10:03:25	Transcendence 1.0 RC5
02/07/2010 10:03:30	Loading extension: Extensions\Commonwealth with Custom Ships
02/07/2010 10:03:30	Loading extension: Extensions\CommonwealthFleet with Custom Ships
02/07/2010 10:03:30	Loading extension: Extensions\MerchantEmporium
02/07/2010 10:03:30	Loading extension: Extensions\Osaka NPC Ships
02/07/2010 10:03:30	Loading extension: Extensions\osaka playership
02/07/2010 10:03:31	Loading extension: Extensions\PlayerShipExtended
02/07/2010 10:03:31	Loading extension: Extensions\PointJuno with Custom Ships
02/07/2010 10:03:31	Loading extension: Extensions\Praetorian
02/07/2010 10:03:32	Loading extension: Extensions\Stalwart
02/07/2010 10:03:32	Loading extension: Extensions\Starlight
02/07/2010 10:03:33	Loading extension: Extensions\UGWingmen base
02/07/2010 10:03:33	Loading extension: Extensions\UGWingmen extras
02/07/2010 10:03:33	Loading extension: Extensions\UGWingmen mule
02/07/2010 10:03:33	Loading extension: Extensions\UGWingmen screens
02/07/2010 10:03:33	Loading extension: Extensions\UGWingmen screens2
02/07/2010 10:03:33	Loading extension: Extensions\UGWingmen wingmen
02/07/2010 10:03:33	Loading extension: Extensions\WingmanBattleArena
02/07/2010 10:03:46	End logging session
The one with the crash-

Code: Select all

02/06/2010 23:02:04	Start logging session
02/06/2010 23:02:04	Transcendence 1.0 RC5
02/06/2010 23:02:08	Loading extension: Extensions\Commonwealth with Custom Ships
02/06/2010 23:02:08	Loading extension: Extensions\CommonwealthFleet with Custom Ships
02/06/2010 23:02:08	Loading extension: Extensions\MerchantEmporium
02/06/2010 23:02:08	Loading extension: Extensions\Osaka NPC Ships
02/06/2010 23:02:08	Loading extension: Extensions\osaka playership
02/06/2010 23:02:08	Loading extension: Extensions\PlayerShipExtended
02/06/2010 23:02:08	Loading extension: Extensions\PointJuno with Custom Ships
02/06/2010 23:02:09	Loading extension: Extensions\Praetorian
02/06/2010 23:02:09	Loading extension: Extensions\Stalwart
02/06/2010 23:02:09	Loading extension: Extensions\Starlight
02/06/2010 23:02:09	Loading extension: Extensions\UGWingmen base
02/06/2010 23:02:09	Loading extension: Extensions\UGWingmen extras
02/06/2010 23:02:09	Loading extension: Extensions\UGWingmen mule
02/06/2010 23:02:09	Loading extension: Extensions\UGWingmen screens
02/06/2010 23:02:09	Loading extension: Extensions\UGWingmen screens2
02/06/2010 23:02:09	Loading extension: Extensions\UGWingmen wingmen
02/06/2010 23:02:09	Loading extension: Extensions\WingmanBattleArena
Last edited by Corporal Jomn on Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't blow your nose into your hand.

User avatar
sdw195
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Still looking for the csc Antarctica
Contact:

Sun Feb 07, 2010 4:59 am

what ship has the error?

User avatar
Corporal Jomn
Miner
Miner
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:07 pm
Location: A place, somewhere

Sun Feb 07, 2010 1:24 pm

I didn't try all of them, but it happened on the vanilla ships and the custom ships.
-If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't blow your nose into your hand.

User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2615
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

Sun Feb 07, 2010 2:43 pm

please post the debug.log also

schilcote
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:22 pm

Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:33 pm

I think it has something to do with that wingmen battle arena mod. Try renaming it to filename.xmlN (which makes Transcendence overlook it) and see if the problem persists.

My theory is that Transcendence looks in that mod and then tries to put one of the ships that are in it on the arena screen, sees something it doesn't like, realizes that George didn't tell it what to do in such a case, and panics. Windows sees it panicking and does its job, protecting all your other processes.
[schilcote] It doesn't have to be good, it just has to not be "wow is that the only thing you could think of" bad

User avatar
Corporal Jomn
Miner
Miner
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:07 pm
Location: A place, somewhere

Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:38 pm

How do I do that?
-If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't blow your nose into your hand.

schilcote
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:22 pm

Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:41 pm

Corporal Jomn wrote:How do I do that?
...
...
...

Right click, rename?

You might have to turn on "display file extensions for known file types". I suggest you do that anyway, so you don't get "Sexah pr0n.jpg.exe" type things. And also so you can tell what you're looking at when you're dissecting various things.
[schilcote] It doesn't have to be good, it just has to not be "wow is that the only thing you could think of" bad

User avatar
Corporal Jomn
Miner
Miner
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:07 pm
Location: A place, somewhere

Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:45 pm

I know that first one. (I tried that didn't work.) How do I do the second one?
-If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't blow your nose into your hand.

User avatar
Bobby
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:39 pm

Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:31 pm

go to windows explorer > tools > options > view > it's in the list.

ps. woudn't changing it to "_filename.xml" work too?

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5393
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:35 pm

I recommend EVERYONE adopts disabling by "_" in front of the directory or file name, as that is also the method TMU uses, and Transcendence is meant to use.

Also, nice avatar bobby, going to release that ship on xelerus?
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 2x 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops

User avatar
Corporal Jomn
Miner
Miner
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:07 pm
Location: A place, somewhere

Sun Feb 07, 2010 6:18 pm

I tried that, still doesn't work. :( Any other suggestions?
-If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't blow your nose into your hand.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5393
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Sun Feb 07, 2010 6:42 pm

rename your extensions directory to "_extensions" and try again
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 2x 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops

User avatar
Corporal Jomn
Miner
Miner
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:07 pm
Location: A place, somewhere

Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:23 pm

I works, now I can't use my mods. :)
-If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't blow your nose into your hand.

User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5393
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:26 pm

Try each mod one at a time, disabling all but one of them at a time to see which is causing it.
(You will need to re-enable you extensions by removing the "_" - that was just to see if you transcendence binary was corrupted or some external problem was causing the crash)

I recommend using the latest version of TMU to do this; it makes things MUCH faster
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 2x 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops

User avatar
Corporal Jomn
Miner
Miner
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:07 pm
Location: A place, somewhere

Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:49 am

I believe I have found the problem. The one causing Transcendence to freak is the Commenwealth with Custom Ships mod. The current version only has the tbCommDefenders, tbCommEliteDefenders, tbCommPrivateCrafts & tbCommTraffic. With modifications of course. Do you think adding the stations would fix it?
-If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't blow your nose into your hand.

Locked