Page 1 of 1

Warn: Ran out of tries in FillLocations / No locations found

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:10 pm
by pixelfck
I regularly see the following two error pop up in my debug.log:

Code: Select all

10/10/2013 13:44:29	Warning: Ran out of tries in FillLocations
10/10/2013 13:44:29	Create system stack:
	 1: SystemType nodeID=B6 unid=6
	 2: FillLocations locationCriteria= stationCriteria=!primary; !debris; +envFire; -envAvoidsFire
and

Code: Select all

10/10/2013 12:53:49	Warning: No locations found.
10/10/2013 12:53:49	Create system stack:
	 1: SystemType nodeID=M13 unid=2
	 2: FillLocations locationCriteria=
The node ID varies, but the listed unids are consistent.

Pixelfck

Re: Warn: Ran out of tries in FillLocations / No locations f

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:14 pm
by george moromisato
Possibly a mod.

I don't think the core has any nodes with ID "B6" or "M13".

This happens when a system is being randomly created and the system fails to find a good place for a station. It depends on the system type, so if this is a bug or not.

Re: Warn: Ran out of tries in FillLocations / No locations f

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:19 pm
by pixelfck
It is triggered by a mod. I just never saw those messages before.

Re: Warn: Ran out of tries in FillLocations / No locations f

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:10 pm
by george moromisato
pixelfck wrote:It is triggered by a mod. I just never saw those messages before.
I added those messages in the 1.2 betas to help me debug some problems with system creation.

[In case you're curious: The basic idea of system creation is to first create all the planets, asteroids, nebula, etc. Each is placed randomly (based on their orbits, etc.) We then pick some random locations around planets and asteroids (etc) for stations to go in. Each location is tagged with attributes--e.g., a location near a gas giant has the "gasGiant" attribute.

A second pass randomly chooses stations and places them appropriately. E.g., some stations prefer to be near planets; others want to be in asteroid fields.

The errors can happen if the code is trying to place a station and we don't find an available location for it. Sometimes that means there is a bug with the design of the system.]

Re: Warn: Ran out of tries in FillLocations / No locations f

Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:40 am
by pixelfck
thanks for the extra info. It always helps me if I have a rough picture of such processes in my mind.