"Hoshikaze 2250 - Stars of Call" Adventure Project

A place to discuss mods in development and concepts for new mods.
Mutos
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant

Hi George, hi all,

Now it's time to talk about my project and see what you think of it... Now that I've tested some modding and confirmed my first impression, that the Transcendence engine is indeed able to handle the task !

I've been writing a Sci-Fi universe named Hoshikaze 2250 since around 1990. Mostly short stories, a 550-pages encyclopedia and a tabletop RPG adaptation. I have assembled a team along the years, mostly of graphists and RPG writers, and we are now an Association since Jan, 2007.

From the beginning, videogames were among my primary inspiration, along with 25 years of classical novels, cartoons, series and movies ! I still remember playing Elite right on first contact with a computer, it was an Apple ][, and later writing to Origin to suggest ideas for WC sequels, back in 1990.

For years I've been yearning to make a game about privateering in the Hoshikaze 2250 universe. Develop it entirely ? I tried, but I'm not a proficient enough coder and I got no fraction of the time needed. Mod an existing game ? Until now, no existing engine was up to the task. Getting a team ? Mostly the team is no coder, but this year I have a project running with an engineering school, but the task is however very hard to be completed in only one year...

Now that I've found Transcendence, I would like to develop an Adventure that would encompass the Hoshikaze 2250 setting. As an Adventure, it would be entirely independant from the Transcendence setting. It would use such Sci-Fi-generic elements that could be common to both universes, for instance various types of stations, weapons, shields and items, but drop Transcendence-specific elements like anything related to Domina or Oracus. It also would use many Hoshikaze-specific elements as stations, ships, sovereings, items and so on.