[Not Bug]Black Market ID IS Illegal

Bug reports for the different beta versions of transcendence.
Post Reply
shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1496
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska

Here is a buggy for your 1.07a collection...the Black Market ID IS Illegal......

Code: Select all

<!-- Identification Chip, Black Market -->

	<ItemType UNID="&itBlackMarketID;"
			name=				"black market identification chip"
			level=				"2"
			value=				"250"
			mass=				"1"
			frequency=			"veryrare"
			unknownType=		"&itUnknownID;"
			attributes=			"BlackMarketID; ID; Illegal; MinorItem"

			description=		"This identification chip is used by pirates and other outlaws to identify each other in the black market. Only people who have this chip can trade in the black market."

			sortName=			"identification chip, black market"
			>

		<Image imageID="&rsItems1;" imageX="192" imageY="96" imageWidth="96" imageHeight="96"/>
	</ItemType>
Last edited by shanejfilomena on Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..
sdw195
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Still looking for the csc Antarctica
Contact:

the id has always been like that (i looked in 1.05) its Illegal to have but they don't take it since its an ID
Image
Image
Image
Image
"Dash_Merc - George is a genius, in that he created this game engine that is infinitely extendable"
"<@sheepluva>Good night everybody, may the source be with you." <-- FOSG dev
"You only need THREE tools in life - WD-40 to make things go, Duct Tape to make things stop And C-4 to make things go away"
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

They do not scan for ID's at customs; it doesn't actually matter if its illegal or not, from a gameplay/technical persctive.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 1080ti | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
PM
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2560
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:54 am

Until I read the .xml files, I did not know customs did not confiscate the black market ID. Back then, I would jettison it away somewhere before docking. The game should make it clear that identification chips, which have illegal/military tags, are exempt from confiscation (and melting from sealed cargo mishaps). Better yet, make ID equipment or some other sort of passive intrinsic (that is transferable upon ship change).
Download and Play in 1.9 beta 1...
Drake Technologies (Alpha): More hardware for combat in parts 1 and 2!
Star Castle Arcade: Play a classic arcade game adventure, with or without more features (like powerups)!
Playership Drones: Buy or restore exotic ships to command!

Other playable mods from 1.8 and 1.7, waiting to be updated...
Godmode v3 (WIP): Dev/cheat tool compatible with D&O parts 1 or 2.
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Yes, I would prefer the use of an abstracted ID because its possible to lose yours, and its kind of annoying to realize you jetisoned your military id with your ore to make room for some weapons you wanted to sell just to have them confiscated.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 1080ti | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
Vachtra
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 306
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:03 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

He might be referring to the point that his black market id isn't working for the black market. This is due to it not being a proper black market id. Taking it from another ship doesn't work. You have to obtain it through the proper channels.
XML file shows level 2 for a black market id and the one he has is the level 1 version.
"Have you guys ever watched the show?" ~ Guy
shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1496
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska

omg...am I the only one playing the game or you guys joking that your so out of touch with Transcendence?
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..
ShaunWilkinson
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:11 pm
Location: Heretic System
Contact:

I'm pretty sure that any Blackmarket ID works, I almost always get my ID's from destroying those grey blackmarket ships that fly around
I am the One and Only
shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1496
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska

ShaunWilkinson wrote:I'm pretty sure that any Blackmarket ID works, I almost always get my ID's from destroying those grey blackmarket ships that fly around
there is only ONE black market ID, you can get several in a game from the transports and one ( with the risk of arrest ) from the hotel.
the " grey ships " are the T31 Armed Transport & the T55 Armed Transport , usually seen with Zulu escorts.
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..
ShaunWilkinson
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:11 pm
Location: Heretic System
Contact:

yes that is the ship I was thinking of, thank you for that
I am the One and Only
User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2616
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

Vachtra wrote:He might be referring to the point that his black market id isn't working for the black market. This is due to it not being a proper black market id. Taking it from another ship doesn't work. You have to obtain it through the proper channels.
It doesn't work if the ID is not identified ? if this is true than it's a bug.
IDs (military and black market) used to work even if unidentified. Behaviour of unidentified items has recently changed. I wonder if that introduced this bug.
Can someone else confirm this ? then, when confirmed, make a ticket.
shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1496
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska

digdug wrote:
Vachtra wrote:He might be referring to the point that his black market id isn't working for the black market. This is due to it not being a proper black market id. Taking it from another ship doesn't work. You have to obtain it through the proper channels.
It doesn't work if the ID is not identified ? if this is true than it's a bug.
IDs (military and black market) used to work even if unidentified. Behaviour of unidentified items has recently changed. I wonder if that introduced this bug.
Can someone else confirm this ? then, when confirmed, make a ticket.
Re: [Not Bug]Black Market ID IS Illegal :
This was SUPPOSED to be in shipyards, but by the time I realized it was not, I could not delete and move it :

it was a random quirk in the game version, the ID does show "Illegal" in most instances, this was just one of those times it did not: I just happen to catch it in a picture for 1.07a's strange collection of things.

I have got the IDs for military and black market in every game because I know I need them to get what I want, I have never had an actual issue with them not working. and in 1.07a I made an ID for my adventure : and that works too, except I originally had it as "Military" but the commonwealth kept trying to take it away ( because I did not have the regular military ID at the time ), so I had to change the ID to just a standard non military item.
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..
sdw195
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Still looking for the csc Antarctica
Contact:

shanejfilomena wrote:
Re: [Not Bug]Black Market ID IS Illegal :
This was SUPPOSED to be in shipyards, but by the time I realized it was not, I could not delete and move it :
you could have asked for it to be moved.
Image
Image
Image
Image
"Dash_Merc - George is a genius, in that he created this game engine that is infinitely extendable"
"<@sheepluva>Good night everybody, may the source be with you." <-- FOSG dev
"You only need THREE tools in life - WD-40 to make things go, Duct Tape to make things stop And C-4 to make things go away"
User avatar
Star Weaver
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: . . . between the stars and the warm black sky . . .

Well, it may not be a bug, but I still filed it as an enhancment request for QOL issues due to the "I can't know this without reading the XML" factor.

http://wiki.neurohack.com/transcendence/trac/ticket/899

Move to suggestions and ideas instead of closing?
Image
Image
Image
Post Reply