Wingman armor repair

Ask any question about playing and surviving in the Transcendence universe. Newbies welcome!
Post Reply
User avatar
Fossaman
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:56 am
Location: Traveling to the galactic core

So, I've been fiddling with this, and I can't figure it out. How do I get my wingmen in game to repair their armor? I've got a 93% damaged volkov and have paraded him past a commonwealth fortress, small commonwealth colony, large commonwealth colony, commonwealth drydock, black market shipyard, and korolov station, and he hasn't stopped at any of them. The code for his ship indicates that he should be stopping for repairs, but he doesn't seem to want to.

So, what's the minimum threshold for armor repairing, and is there a maximum threshold as well? I mean, for the player armor can't be repaired after a certain point. Does this hold true for wingmen? Is there any way to repair them anyway?
X-ray laser! Pew, pew pew!
> = = = = ۞
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

I thought there was a command? (thats the idea I got from reading the xml anyways)
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Right now, wingmen will not dock to repair unless they have 10% damage or more (i.e., they report 90% armor status or below).

There is no minimum, armor gets repaired somehow, but tech-level limits still apply. They can't repair armor at a station that can't repair their tech level.
User avatar
Aury
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5421
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

It would be neat if wingmen could figure out how to upgrade themselves... 8)
Perhaps ask the player for some money with which to upgrade?
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'Varalyn 'nonBinary))
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB | 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 8700, 32GB, 6500XT
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 6900XT | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970 | R7 3700X, 32GB, A6000
Gaming Systems: R9 5950X, 32GB, 6700XT
Office Systems: Xeon 5318Y, 256GB, A4000
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
User avatar
Fossaman
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 556
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:56 am
Location: Traveling to the galactic core

A little confused by the terminology here; When you say 10% damage, do you mean ten percent of hitpoints removed, or remaining?

If it's ten percent hit points removed, then Volkov's repair code, at least, is not working properly. He uses Advanced Reactive, so any of those stations I mentioned should have been able to fix him up.
X-ray laser! Pew, pew pew!
> = = = = ۞
Bobby
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:39 pm

I think I know why they won't repair their armor.

The code that checks for a station that can fix it is located in the <onBehavior> event on the shipclass they inherit from.

the <onBehavior> event is set on a recurring timer (60 ticks) when the ship is created.

Recurring events do not continue to work after gating. I tested using a variant of the afterburner, it stopped working when i gated, and did not resume working when i returned as it used to. (this could also be what breaks the Kronosaurus mission as reported elsewhere on the forums)


when I called the dock and repair code directly (hooked it into afterburner variant mentioned above) Jenna did repair her armor, though strangely she drifted the entire time.

overlays however, do continue to work after gating.
Last edited by Bobby on Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Yeah, I think you're right, Bobby--I was planning on fixing that for RC2 but it fell through the cracks... I'll get that for RC3. Thank you!

p.s.: I don't think this is the cause of the Kronosaurus bug because the Kronosaurus never leaves the system on which the timer was created. [I think that bug is due to the player leaving the system, which confuses the Kronosaurus.]
Post Reply