Stupidest early game death.

Ask any question about playing and surviving in the Transcendence universe. Newbies welcome!
Post Reply
User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2764
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

Yes and at the time I thought I was doing badlly. :D
Image
Image
User avatar
Androgeos
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 11:11 am
Location: Salvager Nomad
Contact:

On my very first play, I got killed by a Centurion gunship when it opened fire on a Centauri Raider just as I flew between both. Bad timing. :lol:
[10:42] <Katami> TTECH: IT SEYS "ONCE YOU ENTAR A EYSTEM HAHAHAHAAHH~~~!~~~!<3<3<3
[10:42] <Katami> ~ROLLL 1D100 L0LL0LL0LL0LHAHHAHHAH!~!!~~:-):-):-)
Racoon.sf
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:33 am
Location: Sol System

I installed a Class III Deflector with the starting engine of the Sapphire and wondered about my fuel running low. I desperately tried to mine ore for the money to refuel butr an out of fuel docked to the Rigel Dry Dock.

Some maths help sometimes.

Edit: Now I rmeember correctly: I DID have money but I bought a new reactor in panic not thinking about the fact that it doesn't come with fuel. That left not much money of course.
Last edited by Racoon.sf on Sat Sep 04, 2010 8:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
IceMephit
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:46 pm
Location: Maine

I don't know if this counts, but.....my last game I started w/ the freighter. I bought the only ROM available at the commonwealth station hoping it was a system map; it was a defective weapon ROM that damaged my only weapon, and with only 84 credits, I couldn't buy a new one.
Counted it as a lost cause and started a new game.
Just my luck.
For Sale: One slightly used EI500 freighter. Hull damaged, primary weapon defective, shields inoperable. Must be towed to Dry-dock. Make an offer!!
Racoon.sf
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:33 am
Location: Sol System

It is possible to earn money without having a weapon. Some simple trading between the first few stations or systems can earn you enough money to buy a new weapon. If enemies attack you should run, however. Fast.

PS: I already tried to play the game without any weapon to see if it is possible. I wasn't that succewsfull by now since the freighter can't run from Horned Class Battlepods and the Wolfven has to few space to trade but I will try again.

Edit: With 84 credits it would be quite a pain, though, to trade and maybe even impossible without solar panel/armor.
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5400
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

I died once because I was running low on fuel, saw a colony, being slighly closer than a mining station, so I headed that way on my last bit of fuel. When I got there, turned out to have been a centauri occupation I had liberated. I didn't have TX2 loaded*. I ran out of fuel and died.

*In TX2, once liberated, these stations now provide armor repair, refueling, and commodity exchange, like a normal colony.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 1080ti | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
cannon
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 9:34 am

Here's one I still remember (among countless others)

A couple of systems past Eridani I finally saw an X-ray laser in a CW station. I was a short a few creds, so I decided to do some mining; in a small asteroid field in the middle of which was a BM station.

It was the first time I saw just how quickly a Manticore could swat an early game ship.
snafu
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 9:03 pm
Location: London, UK

My first game in 1.03

OK, I was running out of fuel in my freighter. I had a solar panel, so I headed for the nearest star as I had no funds (well, about 30Cr).. (this is all pre-Rigel, BTW). Once seated on the star I disabled the shield (took too hefty a whack of current power) & waited to recharge.

This takes a while to recharge as I'd fitted V10 armour 'cause it was the best I could find at the time & it saves money in repair costs, right? I could always flog it off later.. Anyway, in the meantime I start to experiment with the autons I'd picked up from some wrecks. Hey! A nice EMP-firing auton! Great! I don't want to get it blown up by Arnie, so I manoeuvre it onto the star, tell it to stay put, then go & sit on top of it to continue my recharge.

So I'm sitting & waiting on autopilot & along come these mosquit^H^H^H^H^H^H^HWind Slavers. They fly around the star shooting at me & making a lot of noise (on autopilot, remember) & I don't pay much attention to them.. for 10 RT minutes!

I then notice that my ship's rotating in its EMP-induced blue net. Oh b....

The auton is firing in defence of me. Trouble is as I'm parked on top it's hitting me & nothing else. I'm caught with my shields down, so I've no defence. I can't tell it to do anything (ie STOP FIRING YOU ROBOT!), I can't move 'cause I'm in EMP, the attackers are firing particle beams so I'm going to get no kinetic push, I'm wearing V10 so it keeps healing itself from the shots that do get through & of course my solar panel keeps recharging so I'm not going to run out of fuel

I left it for about 3/4hr before I got fed up & suicided..
Dom 8-)
Matz05
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 2:38 am

Q -> F, auton leaves, auton gets killed/EMPs slavers and not you, you recover, you massacre slavers, done.

Hindsight is 20/20
snafu
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 9:03 pm
Location: London, UK

Matz05 wrote:Q -> F, auton leaves, auton gets killed/EMPs slavers and not you, you recover, you massacre slavers, done.
No 'F' in the unmodded menu I've got, unless I'm missing something..
Dom 8-)
User avatar
Atarlost
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2391
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:02 am

I think you want B for break and attack. Or, a for attack target if you've got a targeting rom.
Amilir
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:56 pm
Location: With the stRong.

Or an even easier option: I -> A
Matz05
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 2:38 am

I thought it was (W)aiting? Don't you need to make it (F)orm up before giving it other orders? And won't a formed up auton sit NEXT to you instead of ON you?

Try the (C) menu.
snafu
Commonwealth Pilot
Commonwealth Pilot
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 9:03 pm
Location: London, UK

Matz05 wrote:I thought it was (W)aiting? Don't you need to make it (F)orm up before giving it other orders? And won't a formed up auton sit NEXT to you instead of ON you?

Try the (C) menu.
Ah, ISWYM. Nope, no communications while in EMP
Dom 8-)
Matz05
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 2:38 am

Oops.
Post Reply