1.08 is ready!

New releases and announcements from George and the staff.
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2995
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

http://www.neurohack.com/downloads/Trans108.zip
http://www.neurohack.com/downloads/TransData25.zip

TRANSCENDENCE MULTIVERSE
The big change in 1.08 is the ability to connect to the cloud. You may create a player ID (good for all Kronosaur games) that allows you to upload your high scores to the cloud. In future versions this same ID will be used to download registered extensions (both free and paid). And when Anacreon comes online, you will be able to use the same ID to sign in to that.

A few caveats for this version:

1. Both the server and client are brand new, so there are bound to be lots of bugs. There is a small chance of data loss, which might cause you to lose a high score or (in extreme cases) to corrupt your player ID. There is a very small chance that I will have to reset the database, in which case all high scores and player IDs will be lost. [It's fun being a beta tester, no?]

2. There are currently many different ways to cheat (allowing you to post a high score that you did not earn fairly). Please don't. Over time I will add more and more checks to prevent and detect cheating, but very few are in place now, but for now you are contrained by your own conscience.

3. The current cloud servers are in a low-bandwidth data center (my home office!) so you may experience slow performance. If it seems unusually slow (> 5 seconds to do something) then please report it. Also, if you experience any connectivity problems (unable to connect to the cloud) please report it.

4. Although the game currently uploads both high scores and stats there is currently no way to access stats (and the high score list is not that great either). This will be fixed in future releases, and since the data is being uploaded today, this will work retroactively to any game you post.

5. Right now the high score list works only for the core Domina & Oracus adventure without any extensions. In the future there will be a way for registered adventures to have their own high score list and for them to use registered extensions.

6. In case anyone is interested, here are the official terms of service: http://www.kronosaur.com/legal/TermsofService.html

EXTENSIONS
As always there are plenty of new features for modders. The most interesting is probably Dynamic Types (http://neurohack.com/transcendence/foru ... f=5&t=4843).

Dynamic Types includes two new functions: typGetDynamicUNID and typCreate. It also includes the <TemplateType> element as described in the post above.

The other major feature is local storage using the functions unvSetExtensionData and unvGetExtensionData.

Here is a list of other new features:

1. The UI for showing a list of items now have variable height rows. This means that the description of an item can be longer than before (the UI will expand to accomodate it).

2. The <PlayerSetting> element in a ship class is now inherited from any base classes. This allows you to create a family of player ships without having to copy the player settings.

3. Player ships support the <DeviceSlot> element in the <Devices> section. This allows you to specify that a device installed on a player ship should always get a certain set of properties. For example:

Code: Select all

<ShipClass...
   ...
   <Devices>
      <DeviceSlot criteria="w" omnidirectional="true"/>
      ...
   </Devices>
</ShipClass>
The code above specifies that whenever a device is installed, if the device matches the given criteria (e.g., "w") then it should get the device slot attributes specified (in the example above, it is placed on an omnidirectional device slot). This is very useful for creating ship classes with special powers. For example, imagine a Makayev player ship in which all Makayev weapons are automatically omnidirectional.

As always, Trac has the list of bugfixes:
http://wiki.neurohack.com/transcendence/trac/report/14

Lastly, I suspect that I will need to create a 1.08a in the near future, so please let me know of any critical bugs as soon as possible and I will get them in to 1.08a.

Thanks for all the suggestions and feedback that led to this version. Enjoy!

CREDITS
New to the credits this version:

jimj316 for reporting a bug with Professor Dall's mission.
sdw195
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Still looking for the csc Antarctica
Contact:

yay! can't wait to try it later today

thanks George,

where do we get a player id?
Image
Image
Image
Image
"Dash_Merc - George is a genius, in that he created this game engine that is infinitely extendable"
"<@sheepluva>Good night everybody, may the source be with you." <-- FOSG dev
"You only need THREE tools in life - WD-40 to make things go, Duct Tape to make things stop And C-4 to make things go away"
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2995
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

sdw195 wrote:where do we get a player id?
You can register for a new player ID from within the game itself.
sdw195
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Still looking for the csc Antarctica
Contact:

wow, major update! tho im a bit sad I miss out on T#471 :(
Image
Image
Image
Image
"Dash_Merc - George is a genius, in that he created this game engine that is infinitely extendable"
"<@sheepluva>Good night everybody, may the source be with you." <-- FOSG dev
"You only need THREE tools in life - WD-40 to make things go, Duct Tape to make things stop And C-4 to make things go away"
User avatar
Song
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2778
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:27 am

I'm getting an "Unable to register" error when I try to sign up a new account. The error message is saying "Bad Request". I'm fairly sure I've filled in the form right....

There's also a crash bug when not logged in and trying to return to the menu after clicking the Load button when you don't have a save file.
Mischievous local moderator. She/Her pronouns.
User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2619
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

thank you very much George ! Lots of new toys to play with ! :D

I get an error message when I try to register:

Code: Select all

Unable to Register
transcendence.hierosteel.com: Bad Request
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2995
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Shrike wrote:I'm getting an "Unable to register" error when I try to sign up a new account. The error message is saying "Bad Request". I'm fairly sure I've filled in the form right....

There's also a crash bug when not logged in and trying to return to the menu after clicking the Load button when you don't have a save file.
Very strange. And it looks like you are not the only one having problems... let me investigate.
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

:D cool! Going to check this out.

Sadly I won't have much time to mess around with it today and tomorrow due to classes.

[edit] had no problems registering. No registration confirmation email though?
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 1080ti | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
Vachtra
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 307
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:03 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

So far I like the new border on the screen. Hopefully this will have stuff added to it for a display eventually.
I like the new laser fire and collisions of fire. **Sparkly** :)
Only one problem found so far.

edit: Wolfy, I cant believe you're going to let a little thing like getting good grades get in the way of playing at least for a few minutes, hours, days.... I guess it can suck you in eh.
"Have you guys ever watched the show?" ~ Guy
RPC
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Hmm... I'm confused. Anybody have a starmap to the Core?

W00t 1.08 out!
Thanks George.
Tutorial List on the Wiki and Installing Mods
Get on Discord for mod help and general chat
Image
Image
Der Tod ist der zeitlose Frieden und das leben ist der Krieg
Wir müssen wissen — wir werden wissen!
I don't want any sort of copyright on my Transcendence mods. Feel free to take/modify whatever you want.
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Vachtra wrote:So far I like the new border on the screen. Hopefully this will have stuff added to it for a display eventually.
I like the new laser fire and collisions of fire. **Sparkly** :)
Only one problem found so far.

edit: Wolfy, I cant believe you're going to let a little thing like getting good grades get in the way of playing at least for a few minutes, hours, days.... I guess it can suck you in eh.
I have finals next week. :(
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 1080ti | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
User avatar
alterecco
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1658
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:08 am
Location: Previously enslaved by the Iocrym

Wow George, this is an interesting release. Transcendence is certainly taking an interesting turn, fast! I look forward to try it out.
Get your own Galactic Omni Device
Get it now. It's free!!
Image
st753m
Anarchist
Anarchist
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:15 pm

I'd prefer an option to remove the black border, personally. I like to have other things in the extra space at the edge of the screen whenever I play games, and not being able to is frustrating to me. My monitor can't do higher resolutions, and resizing Transcendence leads to the text becoming distorted and hard to read. :|
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2995
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

st753m wrote:I'd prefer an option to remove the black border, personally. I like to have other things in the extra space at the edge of the screen whenever I play games, and not being able to is frustrating to me. My monitor can't do higher resolutions, and resizing Transcendence leads to the text becoming distorted and hard to read. :|
Try /1024 as an option (in addition to /windowed).
shanejfilomena
Fleet Officer
Fleet Officer
Posts: 1499
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Alaska
Contact:

THANK YOU.
after I realized Anacreon was getting addictive while I waited for 1.08 I ..regressed .. to updating to Alpha 20 and it is funny they are so " advanced " but so far behind ..... I think i play it for the pretty colors ( I just like dying ).

Anyway, I can NOW return to my comfort zone and Domina..once i get in I am going to donate to Domina out of my guilt for being away.


But I was clicking around the AWESOMENESS and got this : no saved file = crash if you click " ok " : did it twice, "cancel" works fine.
Last edited by shanejfilomena on Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Flying Irresponsibly In Eridani......

I don't like to kill pirates in cold blood ..I do it.. but I don't like it..
Post Reply