Few questions about the game.

General discussion about anything related to Transcendence.
User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2764
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

Whats the size of the stargates? Are they large enough to fit a CSC and then some inside the rings? Or is transportation done by getting close to the stargate?

Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
Image
Image
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Ttech wrote:Whats the size of the stargates? Are they large enough to fit a CSC and then some inside the rings? Or is transportation done by getting close to the stargate?

Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
There's a pic of a phobos chasing a saphire out of a stargate. The phobos easily fits within the gate's rings, and based off of the scale w/ centurions, they should fit quite nicely in there too.
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 1080ti | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2616
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

I always thought that they were stations sized.
Otherwise how could worldship-class ships pass through them ? :P
george moromisato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2990
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
Contact:

Ttech wrote:Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2764
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

digdug wrote:I always thought that they were stations sized.
Otherwise how could worldship-class ships pass through them ? :P
Well,
There is this style which (From what the replies have been is large enough to house a massive ship and then some, however those spinning rings seem quite nasty. :D
Then there is the Stargate that opens up a portal eg the rings spin then stop and allow a ship through, although I'd personally be leaning to the later as it seems much safer then massive spinning rings.
Image
Image
Bobby
Militia Captain
Militia Captain
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:39 pm

any good autopilot can dodge the predictably spinning rings, only a worldship sized object would have any trouble.

stopping the massive rings seems like a lot of trouble for one little ship, energy isn't in any short supply, but it could take 10 minutes just to stop.

perhaps the gates can accommodate both methods, only stopping for massive ships? That would explain how they never stop spinning in-game.
Sponge
Militia Commander
Militia Commander
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:51 pm

I always assumed they had some purpose in making the gate work. I mean, if they didn't, someone would have removed them by now. It's sort of silly to have massive rings spinning uselessly around a commonly used object.
User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2764
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

Bobby wrote:any good autopilot can dodge the predictably spinning rings, only a worldship sized object would have any trouble.

stopping the massive rings seems like a lot of trouble for one little ship, energy isn't in any short supply, but it could take 10 minutes just to stop.

perhaps the gates can accommodate both methods, only stopping for massive ships? That would explain how they never stop spinning in-game.

Yes, that makes sense, but that means the gates sense incoming ships which considering how advanced it is supposed to be is entirely possible. but I was also talking about those Elysium System gates.
Image
Image
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

george moromisato wrote:
Ttech wrote:Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
:o :o :o :o :o :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

O_o

:D

expanding the quarantine zone? :D
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 1080ti | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2764
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

george moromisato wrote:
Ttech wrote:Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
I didn't even see you reply till just now. :roll:

Thanks a bunch. Helps a lot.

Wolfy wrote:
george moromisato wrote:
Ttech wrote:Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
:o :o :o :o :o :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

O_o

:D

expanding the quarantine zone? :D
Probably not, remember within the Commonwealth there are things from earth.
Image
Image
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Ttech wrote:
george moromisato wrote:
Ttech wrote:Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
I didn't even see you reply till just now. :roll:

Thanks a bunch. Helps a lot.

Wolfy wrote:
george moromisato wrote:
Ttech wrote:Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
:o :o :o :o :o :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

O_o

:D

expanding the quarantine zone? :D
Probably not, remember within the Commonwealth there are things from earth.
oh, I meant as in "adding more systems that are playable" rather than "making the canonical quarantine zone bigger"
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 1080ti | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
User avatar
Ttech
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2764
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Traveling in the TARDIS
Contact:

Wolfy wrote:
Ttech wrote:
george moromisato wrote:
Ttech wrote:Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
I didn't even see you reply till just now. :roll:

Thanks a bunch. Helps a lot.

Wolfy wrote:
george moromisato wrote:
Ttech wrote:Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
:o :o :o :o :o :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

O_o

:D

expanding the quarantine zone? :D
Probably not, remember within the Commonwealth there are things from earth.
oh, I meant as in "adding more systems that are playable" rather than "making the canonical quarantine zone bigger"

Oh, got it now. Yeah it would be intersting to see Sol and the various early systems obviously they had no actual habitable planets though it could be interesting to have a mission to sol as transport or such, anyway.


Side note: If we get this quote box any bigger its going to be several pages long.
Image
Image
User avatar
digdug
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2616
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Decoding hieroglyphics on Tan-Ru-Dorem

george moromisato
Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 12:11 am
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
I cannot believe that i nearly missed this little teaser. :D
Thanks George !
Dalva
Militia Lieutenant
Militia Lieutenant
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 2:36 pm
Location: RXDV Labs orbiting Mars

Ttech wrote:
Wolfy wrote:
Ttech wrote:
george moromisato wrote:
Ttech wrote:Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
I didn't even see you reply till just now. :roll:

Thanks a bunch. Helps a lot.

Wolfy wrote:
george moromisato wrote:
Ttech wrote:Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
:o :o :o :o :o :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

O_o

:D

expanding the quarantine zone? :D
Probably not, remember within the Commonwealth there are things from earth.
oh, I meant as in "adding more systems that are playable" rather than "making the canonical quarantine zone bigger"

Oh, got it now. Yeah it would be intersting to see Sol and the various early systems obviously they had no actual habitable planets though it could be interesting to have a mission to sol as transport or such, anyway.


Side note: If we get this quote box any bigger its going to be several pages long.
why are people is talking about v1.00? is it already released??? :shock:
and i never see Sol System in v0.99c, so how can you guys visit earth? mods? :?:

and yeah, i think this is the biggest quote i ever see lol
Image
User avatar
Wolfy
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Somewhere in the Frontier on a Hycrotan station, working on new ships.

Dalva wrote:
Ttech wrote:
Wolfy wrote:
Ttech wrote:
george moromisato wrote:
Ttech wrote:Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
I didn't even see you reply till just now. :roll:

Thanks a bunch. Helps a lot.

Wolfy wrote:
george moromisato wrote:
Ttech wrote:Which system did the Kuiper Stargate go to?
The Kuiper stargate leads to the Centauri system (which is not included in v1).

There is a chain of gates leading from Sol to St. Katharine's, but it is not included in v1 (it probably will be in future version).
:o :o :o :o :o :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

O_o

:D

expanding the quarantine zone? :D
Probably not, remember within the Commonwealth there are things from earth.
oh, I meant as in "adding more systems that are playable" rather than "making the canonical quarantine zone bigger"

Oh, got it now. Yeah it would be intersting to see Sol and the various early systems obviously they had no actual habitable planets though it could be interesting to have a mission to sol as transport or such, anyway.


Side note: If we get this quote box any bigger its going to be several pages long.
why are people is talking about v1.00? is it already released??? :shock:
and i never see Sol System in v0.99c, so how can you guys visit earth? mods? :?:

and yeah, i think this is the biggest quote i ever see lol
Really? this entire thing is only 1.4 screens in height...
Anyways, no, 1.0 is NOT released, and .99c DOES NOT have sol (you'd need to mod in the whole system)
(shpOrder gPlayership 'barrelRoll)
(plySetGenome gPlayer (list 'hycrotan 'nonBinary))
Image
Homelab Servers: Xeon Silver 4110, 16GB | Via Quadcore C4650, 16GB | Athlon 200GE, 8GB | i7 7800X, 32GB | Threadripper 1950X, 32GB | Atom x5 8350, 4GB | Opteron 8174, 16GB | Xeon E5 2620 v3, 8GB
Workstations & Render machines: Threadripper 3990X, 128GB, 1080ti | Threadripper 2990WX, 32GB, 1080ti | Xeon Platinum 8173M, 48GB, 1070ti | R9 3900X, 16GB, Vega64 | 2x E5 2430L v2, 24GB, 970
Office Systems: 2x Xeon Silver 4116, 96GB, 2x 1080ti | i7 3770, 16GB, some old quadro | i5 3210m, 8GB | some i7 macbook
Misc Systems: R5 3500U, 20GB | R5 2400G, 16GB | i5 7640X, 16GB, Vega56 | E5 2620, 8GB, R5 260 | P4 1.8ghz, 0.75GB, Voodoo 5 5500 | Athlon 64 x2 4400+, 1.5GB, FX 5800 Ultra | Pentium D 3.2ghz, 4GB, 7600gt | Celeron g460, 8GB, 730gt | 2x Athlon FX 74, 8GB, 8800gts 512 | FX 9590, 16GB, R9 295x2 | E350, 8GB | Phenom X4 2.6ghz, 16GB, 8800gt | random core2 duo/atom/i5/i7 laptops
Post Reply